Jump to content


Photo

T-Mobile HSPDA

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1
WearTheFoxHat

WearTheFoxHat

    I've gone all droid!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Right Here, Right Now!
  • Devices:Galaxy Note II, Moto XOOM 3G
  • Twitter:@TomJJarvis
Hi Folks,

I got my T-Mobile MDA Vario III (TyTN II) in December. I signed up to the Web N Walk Plus plan.

Does this mean that I will automatically be signed up for HSDPA? I noticed on this forum (admittedly back in 2006) that some users were having to ask for HSPDA to be enabled.

Cheers

  • 0
Orange regrets to inform you that their network will be going down in 1 hours time for all users apart from yourself. This is because nothing would go down on you, not even a network!

#2
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,635 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
W'n'W Plus has HSDPA - Enjoy!

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#3
deadphill

deadphill

    Come on you Horns!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wheathampstead
  • Interests:Football, Gadgets in general, Open to Android, iOS and even Windows Phone these days!
  • Devices:iPhone 4s32GB + Nexus 7 (2013)
  • Twitter:@deadphill

W'n'W Plus has HSDPA - Enjoy!



I phoned up a while ago to ask them to enable HSDPA and was told that they do this automatically now for normal web and walk customers.

I get and use the H when using 3g so can only assume that this is true. Im sure someone will say differently now but im happy with my ignorant bliss!!

Phill

  • 0

Windows Mobile Silver Specialist 2011. Because I cant find the fricking gold version to do anywhere!!!


#4
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,635 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
@deadphill - when dd you sign up for W'n'W standard? Before October 17th?
Unless they've changed again those regestering for W'n'W Standard after 17/10/07 can't get HSDPA

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#5
J273

J273

    Addict

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 925 posts
  • Location:UK - Burton on trent
  • Interests:Phones / computers / Cars
  • Devices:WHITE IPHONE 3GS
  • Twitter:@J273
Is this available on Payg aswell?

  • 0
Flickr
Iphone / Asus p750 / Samsung I780

#6
jayz1220

jayz1220

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:TyTn II, SPV M3100

Is this available on Payg aswell?


I don't think it is as the Tmobile PAYG sim I use in my data card never connects at any rate above 3G (384k i think) in my TyTn II.

I have seen many Tmobile Mobile broadband sims around which claim they do, but the £1 per day/£2.50 5 days tariff does not apply.

ebay link

Hope this helps!

  • 0

#7
WearTheFoxHat

WearTheFoxHat

    I've gone all droid!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,213 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Right Here, Right Now!
  • Devices:Galaxy Note II, Moto XOOM 3G
  • Twitter:@TomJJarvis
Amusingly I called T-Mobile to check HSDPA was enabled as the speedtest I did didn't show an appropriate speed indicating HSDPA. The guy I spoke to at T-Mobile said "Sorry it's only available on wnw Plus or Max". After I pointed out that I had wnw Plus he was most helpful and informed me that I did have it enabled.

I get the "H" flickering on sometimes, but rarely have it permanently illuminated. Therefore I assume being in rural Shropshire that I am not getting a strong enough 3G signal. Someone correct me on this if I am wrong.

  • 0
Orange regrets to inform you that their network will be going down in 1 hours time for all users apart from yourself. This is because nothing would go down on you, not even a network!

#8
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,635 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
I'm not sure if it depends on the ROM but mine shows 3G EXCEPT when actually transferring data then it changes to H but as soon as it has stopped transferring it reverts back to 3G.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#9
Shadowfixeruk

Shadowfixeruk

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 154 posts
  • Location:Warwick, UK
  • Devices:HD2 - Yeah Baby!
  • Twitter:@jfduncan

@deadphill - when dd you sign up for W'n'W standard? Before October 17th?
Unless they've changed again those regestering for W'n'W Standard after 17/10/07 can't get HSDPA



Just spoke to T-Mobile; it seems that i can't get HSDPA enabled on my priceplan - which is Flext 35 & WnW.... Seems that they are "unable" to add HSDPA to these plans... I started my contract around the end of October 07... what a PITA!

SF

  • 0
Got a MobilePhone and a GPS? Make Money Click Here!

#10
jayz1220

jayz1220

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:TyTn II, SPV M3100

Just spoke to T-Mobile; it seems that i can't get HSDPA enabled on my priceplan - which is Flext 35 & WnW.... Seems that they are "unable" to add HSDPA to these plans... I started my contract around the end of October 07... what a PITA!

SF


I sent Tmobile customer services an email the other day about HSDPA and WnW. Here was there reply:

=====================================================================
Thanks for your email jayz1220, telling me that you're thinking of moving to T-Mobile and asking me if you would get HSDPA access with the £7.50 web 'n' walk bundle and also asking me if you would get Wifi access.

I'm happy to hear that you're thinking of joining T-Mobile. I understand your concern about HSDPA and Wifi access. I'm glad that you've sent me an email about this.

I'm pleased to tell you that you will receive HSDPA access with £7.50 web 'n' walk bundle. And you'll definitely get Wifi access.

You can sign up at the T-Mobile website for a pay monthly account that provides unlimited access to T-Mobile Hotspots in the UK.

You can use Mobile broadband speeds in any area which has 3G coverage T-Mobile currently support HSDPA speeds of up to 1.8 Mbps.

Access to HSDPA speeds is currently free on T-Mobile, however, you'll be charged based on the amount of data transferred (subject to Price plan and allowance). You must also have an HSDPA compatible phone to use the service.
I've checked 3G coverage in your area and I'm glad to tell you that the coverage is very good.

The T-Mobile HotSpot service is a public Wireless LAN (or WLAN) service that allows you to access the internet from public locations.

To use this service, you need a WiFI (802.11b) compatible laptop/PDA and a Hotspot voucher or subscription. Vouchers are purchased by Credit Card at the time of logging into the web at the Hotspot location, or can be purchased by SMS if you've a T-Mobile phone.

For more information on web 'n' walk, please click here.

Thanks again for your email jayz1220. I'm sure you'll find this information useful.

For any further queries, please feel free to reply to this email. I'll be happy to help you.

Kind regards


Sxxxxxxxa Mxxxn [PM me if you want the name]
Customer Services Email Team
T-Mobile
=================================================

So what do you guys think? Is that tmobile stating that there should be HSDPA access on new £7.50 WnW subscribers?

Regards
Jay

Edited by jayz1220, 17 January 2008 - 12:54 AM.

  • 0

#11
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,635 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
That's what they said Jay! You have it in writing so go for it - either it's a mistake or they've changed policy again! Either way, they have to give it to you now.

Good luck.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#12
agent.m

agent.m

    Vario fanatic!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • Location:Leeds
  • Interests:hip hop, mobiles, dj/producing,gaming
  • Devices:MDA Compact V aka Diamond 2

That's what they said Jay! You have it in writing so go for it - either it's a mistake or they've changed policy again! Either way, they have to give it to you now.

Good luck.


i've just had it added to my mad vario 2

although i aint seen the Big H on my screen yet :)

  • 0

#13
jayz1220

jayz1220

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Norwich
  • Devices:TyTn II, SPV M3100

i've just had it added to my mad vario 2

although i aint seen the Big H on my screen yet :)


Hey,

If you call them and they say you should have WnW Plus, PM me with your email address and i'll send over the message I received from them. Might be of some use!

Applies to anyone that wants it.

Regards,

Edited by jayz1220, 19 January 2008 - 09:20 PM.

  • 0

#14
Chiz

Chiz

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Essex
  • Interests:Smartphones, PPC, Music, Squash
  • Devices:MDA Vario III
I bought a Vario III on Flext 35 plus WnW and I get the H symbol.

I dont notice it much but do often see it showing in my office in London - City.

  • 0

#15
FrankyG

FrankyG

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 607 posts
Hi,

I've just spoken to T-mobile retentions dept to negotiate a better deal for myself. My contract has already expired. I'm currently on Flext 25 WnW, HSDPA enabled. I had already bought a sim free HTC TyTN II, so don't want or need a new phone.

After about 45 mins on the phone, I had agreed to Flext 20 , 6 months FREE internet access with 10,000 mins Eve and Wknd Calls. After 6 months I have to add a WnW package. Now, before the new tariff was applied, I asked the CSR to check that HSDPA would be enabled on the new contract. She couldn't find it on her list, so spoke to technical. She came back with the news;

HSDPA is not available on Flext 20. Minimum tariff is Flext 25, and HSDPA is added automatically. Bummer.

So I bumped it up to Flext 25 to get HSDPA. To be honest, it feel like I'm paying an EXTRA fiver to get decent internet speeds. I've got 7 days cooling off..in which time I'm going to be seriously looking at the 3 network.

Has anyone succeeded in getting HSDPA on Flext 20?

FrankyG

  • 0
FrankyG

#16
Alison Astraware

Alison Astraware

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Location:Staffordshire, UK

Hi,

I've just spoken to T-mobile retentions dept to negotiate a better deal for myself. My contract has already expired. I'm currently on Flext 25 WnW, HSDPA enabled. I had already bought a sim free HTC TyTN II, so don't want or need a new phone.

After about 45 mins on the phone, I had agreed to Flext 20 , 6 months FREE internet access with 10,000 mins Eve and Wknd Calls. After 6 months I have to add a WnW package. Now, before the new tariff was applied, I asked the CSR to check that HSDPA would be enabled on the new contract. She couldn't find it on her list, so spoke to technical. She came back with the news;

HSDPA is not available on Flext 20. Minimum tariff is Flext 25, and HSDPA is added automatically. Bummer.

So I bumped it up to Flext 25 to get HSDPA. To be honest, it feel like I'm paying an EXTRA fiver to get decent internet speeds. I've got 7 days cooling off..in which time I'm going to be seriously looking at the 3 network.

Has anyone succeeded in getting HSDPA on Flext 20?

FrankyG


When I renewed last year there was no Flext20+Web & Walk Plus bundle, but the guy who did my renewal made Flext20 my tarriff and then added W&W Plus as an add-on. That was the only way their system would do it. There is still some debate (above) as to whether you need W&W Plus to get HSDPA or whether it's just available to all W&W customers. I wanted W&W Plus anyway because I use my phone as a modem for my Macbook.

Hope this helps!

  • 0
Chief Communications Officer, Astraware

#17
rireed

rireed

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Location:North London
  • Interests:F3J (model thermal soaring)

When I renewed last year there was no Flext20+Web & Walk Plus bundle, but the guy who did my renewal made Flext20 my tarriff and then added W&W Plus as an add-on. That was the only way their system would do it. There is still some debate (above) as to whether you need W&W Plus to get HSDPA or whether it's just available to all W&W customers. I wanted W&W Plus anyway because I use my phone as a modem for my Macbook.

Hope this helps!


To add to the confusion, I just got a third-party T-Mobile bundle with HSDPA and that turned into a nightmare, just today resolved. See this thread:

http://www.modaco.co...t-really-exist/

In short, HSDPA is a separate feature on their systems. The way the tech agents see it, it is available to be added on some plans and not on others. My bundle was from eXpansys when I bought my ASUS P750 (see the link to the bundle description in the thread above ), called "Smartphone Connect from/by T-Mobile". They have sold it for a number of PDA phones since November. Not sure of the future of this plan. I now often can't navigate to this bundle description page for ASUS P750.

The T-Mobile techs see this bundle as "PDA Email Plan 12" (12 months). HSDPA was available, but no one knew how to turn it on! The people who set up my account didn't 'enable' it. A tech 'enabled' it on Thursday, but it didn't work. Just this morning, the third tech 'activated' the 'enabled' HSDPA feature and 'pushed it through'. Then it worked. It's a free feature, if it's available on your account to be enabled and activated and pushed through.

In the whole sad process since Thursday, one of the techs discovered that if he added Web'n' Walk Plus, HSDPA worked, I didn't want to pay an extra £12.50 pm, so he took it off again. It appears that some of the packages they sell automatically do the three-stage process on HSDPA. Web 'n' Walk Plus is for using the phone as a modem from your laptop at up to 7.2 Mbps, a real broadband feature. You even get a free 'stick USB modem' if you buy the standalone version (no phone calls, just 7.2M broadband, £15 pm, 24 mo). Again, as an add-on feature to calling, this is £12.50 pm.

If you have a Flext + Web 'n' Walk plan, you ought to have 1.8 Mbps. They may not have made the feature automatic for that plan (I'm new to T-Mo, so I don't know). If it doesn't work, don't talk to CS. Ask to speak to tech support about a technical detail. I nearly got into a fight with CS about "You can't get HSDPA without Web 'n' Walk!". Ask the tech if the HSDPA feature is available on your account. Make sure you get him/her to 'enable' and 'activate' it manually if it's there..

I don't think a third of the tech staff know about feature details that aren't automatically configured with some of the plans. This is one of them.

Richard

--------------------

quick edit -- Vodafone may be catching up here. It's very simple: you get a calling plan and pay £7.50 pm for the Mobile Internet Pack. Normally upt to 1.8 M, now 7.2 M in some post codes. The speeds are on the coverage page and nowhere else. Don't know how good coverage actually is. Went to T-Mo because they are known for data coverage.

Edited by rireed, 12 April 2008 - 04:50 PM.

  • 0
"They who have put out the people's eyes reproach them of their blindness." -- John Milton

#18
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,635 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil

quick edit -- Vodafone may be catching up here. It's very simple: you get a calling plan and pay £7.50 pm for the Mobile Internet Pack. Normally upt to 1.8 M, now 7.2 M in some post codes. The speeds are on the coverage page and nowhere else. Don't know how good coverage actually is. Went to T-Mo because they are known for data coverage.

Vodafone is limited to 120Mb / month - as i regularly use 4-500 Mb per month it really isn't an option.

T-Mob are still by far the best or data and their plans are quite simple.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.

#19
humph12345

humph12345

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts
You won't get 7.2M on T-mobile, I am working on the network at the moment and the network isn't enabled at that rate, even if it was, I only know of a handfull of sites in London, that would be able to give anywhere near 7.2M.

As for Vodafone, they have done almost nothing on their network since launching 3G Broadband and they are rapidly dropping behind T-mobile.

From my inside knowledge, this is how I would rate the networks.

T-Mobile

Vodafone

Orange

Three

O2

The last 3 have done very little in their networks and are only just looking at starting to upgrade, far too late in my opinion.

  • 0

#20
Confucious

Confucious

    Peanut Brain

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,635 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Surrey, England
  • Devices:iPhone 5
  • Twitter:@Confuciousmobil
That's interesting Humph - You obviously know your technical stuff very well and have been very helpful. With regards to your ratings - do you have a vested interest? By that I am not in any way suggesting you stand to gain, but do you work for any of the networks? You obviously know the industry and know what you are talking about.

  • 0
He who asks a question looks foolish for 5 minutes. He who doesn't ask a question remains foolish forever.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users