Jump to content


Photo

How To: Upgrade Asian Graphite to WM6

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1
nanodemon

nanodemon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Devices:O2 XPhone II, O2 XDA Graphite
Hi All! Long time reader, first time poster - because I figured a lot of people would probably be interested in how to do this.
First up, let me start with a disclaimer : DONT ATTEMPT THIS IF YOU CAN'T AFFORD TO BRICK YOUR PHONE.
Rom upgrades are always risky, and doing stuff like this can result in broken phones. If your not comfortable with hacking stuff and trying risky stuff on your expensive mobile, just leave it alone.
If you do brick your phone, don't come crying to me. I'll laugh at you, possibly point and laugh, depends how i'm feeling at the time. - you do this at your own risk, as did I.

Now, before we start hacking at stuff, download these free tools, yes just do it now, you'll need them soon. :)
- The official UK O2 Rom Upgrade - it's been posted around a bit here's another link.
- Active Sync 4.5
- ResHacker - We'll be using this one to modify the UK Rom Upgrade so it works on an asian graphite.
- Mobile Registry Editor - We'll need this to modify the Graphites registry, so we can pass the region region checks.
- This also the Microsoft's .Net framework installed to run. If you don't want to use this tool, use your favourite smartphone registry editor.

Right here we go, i'll give 2 methods of upgrading, the first is the easiest, and uses the upgarde tool to do the upgrade, the 2nd is using a microSD card and loading the new rom via the phone's bootloader.
Note: after doing this you'll have WM6 installed, but as its a UK rom you'll have all the UK O2 grps settings and crap installed. Write down your settings now so that you can remember them after the install and fix them up. Also, I reccommend using a backup tool like Jeyo's smartphone backup tool to backup your contacts/numbers/sms's and what not.

Make sure your phone is full charged before doing this! YES FULLY CHARGED, not 50% not even 75%: FULL.

Method 1 - Modifying the Upgrader
  • Unzip the UK O2 Rom package, open ResHacker, and Open the Graphite_Upgrade_utility_V3.4.0.exe in Reshacker.
  • Now we need to modify the part of the package which is responsible for telling you that the phone you plugged in is not an XDA Graphite. And its actually correct, as the device name for Asian graphites is something like "O2 Graphite" not "XDA Graphite" which is what the installer is expecting. SO - Expand the node in the tree on the left that says "String Table" and then expand the node "3". Click the "1033" node, and you'll get some text displayed on the right. Look for a like that says: 34, "Xda Graphite" and chang it to your device's name so it looks like this: "34, "O2 Graphite".
  • Click File -> Save As and save the updated package as something like UpdatedInstaller.exe.
  • If you try run the exe now, if will get further but it will still tell you that your phones default language is buggered. So to get around this we must change you phones registry settings to UK settings. So run the mobile registry editor, and browse to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINEnls. You'll see a few keys here, and the 2 we are interested are DefaultLCID and SystemLCID. Double click both these and change the values to 2057 which is the localisation ID for UK, and close the reg editor.
  • NOW run the UpdatedInstaller.exe, and it should take quite some time, but when its done, you should have WM6 running. If you like doing things the hard way or it doesn't work for you, continue on to Method 2.
Method 2 - BootLoading
  • You'll need a microSD card for this method, i used a 2gb sandisk card.
  • Follow steps 1 to 4 from method 1 - you still need to modify the reg settings and update the exe.
  • Open the modified exe in reshacker (not the original the one we modified).
  • highlight the BIN folder, right click and select "Save [BIN] resources", pick a file name like BinaryOutput or something, it doesn't matter.
  • Close reshacker, and go to the directory you extracted all the files to, there'll be quite a few but we only are interested in 2, the 2 big ones. Delete all of them except the 67,483kB and the one and the 1027kb one.
  • Rename the big file (65mb or so) to Jupiter.abi and the smaller (1mb or so) file to Jupiter_SPBL.abi. These must be named exactly as shown including capitalisation.
  • Copy these 2 files to your microSD card, either using a card reader or through active sync. Make sure they are the only things on that card. No other files/directories or anything just those 2 files in the root. This may not matter, but i'm not willing to take the chance.
  • Put the card into your phone, and switch it on in bootloader mode: Hold the power On Button and the Joystick down at the same time.
  • The phone will load up and you'll see the red bar count up followed by the green bar like a LOT of times, but eventually WM6 will be installed and the phone will start it up.
Phew, well that took a while to type in, but I hope it helps people out with the upgrade. I searched around a lot for info and couldn't find any.
If you now have a brick, sorry, but this is the exact method I followed, and it worked for me.

Good luck!

(Edited Method 2 - I had the file names the wrong way round)

Edited by nanodemon, 09 February 2008 - 10:57 PM.

  • 0

#2
ronny

ronny

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Location:Omnia II, HTC Touch Dual and O2 Graphite User PHILIPPINES
  • Devices:Omnia II, Touch Dual, Graphite

Hi All! Long time reader, first time poster - because I figured a lot of people would probably be interested in how to do this.
First up, let me start with a disclaimer : DONT ATTEMPT THIS IF YOU CAN'T AFFORD TO BRICK YOUR PHONE.
Rom upgrades are always risky, and doing stuff like this can result in broken phones. If your not comfortable with hacking stuff and trying risky stuff on your expensive mobile, just leave it alone.
If you do brick your phone, don't come crying to me. I'll laugh at you, possibly point and laugh, depends how i'm feeling at the time. - you do this at your own risk, as did I.

Now, before we start hacking at stuff, download these free tools, yes just do it now, you'll need them soon. :D
- The official UK O2 Rom Upgrade - it's been posted around a bit here's another link.
- Active Sync 4.5
- ResHacker - We'll be using this one to modify the UK Rom Upgrade so it works on an asian graphite.
- Mobile Registry Editor - We'll need this to modify the Graphites registry, so we can pass the region region checks.
- This also the Microsoft's .Net framework installed to run. If you don't want to use this tool, use your favourite smartphone registry editor.

Right here we go, i'll give 2 methods of upgrading, the first is the easiest, and uses the upgarde tool to do the upgrade, the 2nd is using a microSD card and loading the new rom via the phone's bootloader.
Note: after doing this you'll have WM6 installed, but as its a UK rom you'll have all the UK O2 grps settings and crap installed. Write down your settings now so that you can remember them after the install and fix them up. Also, I reccommend using a backup tool like Jeyo's smartphone backup tool to backup your contacts/numbers/sms's and what not.

Make sure your phone is full charged before doing this! YES FULLY CHARGED, not 50% not even 75%: FULL.

Method 1 - Modifying the Upgrader

  • Unzip the UK O2 Rom package, open ResHacker, and Open the Graphite_Upgrade_utility_V3.4.0.exe in Reshacker.
  • Now we need to modify the part of the package which is responsible for telling you that the phone you plugged in is not an XDA Graphite. And its actually correct, as the device name for Asian graphites is something like "O2 Graphite" not "XDA Graphite" which is what the installer is expecting. SO - Expand the node in the tree on the left that says "String Table" and then expand the node "3". Click the "1033" node, and you'll get some text displayed on the right. Look for a like that says: 34, "Xda Graphite" and chang it to your device's name so it looks like this: "34, "O2 Graphite".
  • Click File -> Save As and save the updated package as something like UpdatedInstaller.exe.
  • If you try run the exe now, if will get further but it will still tell you that your phones default language is buggered. So to get around this we must change you phones registry settings to UK settings. So run the mobile registry editor, and browse to: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINEnls. You'll see a few keys here, and the 2 we are interested are DefaultLCID and SystemLCID. Double click both these and change the values to 2057 which is the localisation ID for UK, and close the reg editor.
  • NOW run the UpdatedInstaller.exe, and it should take quite some time, but when its done, you should have WM6 running. If you like doing things the hard way or it doesn't work for you, continue on to Method 2.
Method 2 - BootLoading
  • You'll need a microSD card for this method, i used a 2gb sandisk card.
  • Follow steps 1 to 4 from method 1 - you still need to modify the reg settings and update the exe.
  • Open the modified exe in reshacker (not the original the one we modified).
  • highlight the BIN folder, right click and select "Save [BIN] resources", pick a file name like BinaryOutput or something, it doesn't matter.
  • Close reshacker, and go to the directory you extracted all the files to, there'll be quite a few but we only are interested in 2, the 2 big ones. Delete all of them except the 67,483kB and the one and the 1027kb one.
  • Rename the big on to Jupiter_SPBL.abi and the 1k one to Jupiter.abi . These must be named exactly as shown including capitalisation.
  • Copy these 2 files to your microSD card, either using a card reader or through active sync. Make sure they are the only things on that card. No other files/directories or anything just those 2 files in the root. This may not matter, but i'm not willing to take the chance.
  • Put the card into your phone, and switch it on in bootloader mode: Hold the power On Button and the Joystick down at the same time.
  • The phone will load up and you'll see the red bar count up followed by the green bar like a LOT of times, but eventually WM6 will be installed and the phone will start it up.
Phew, well that took a while to type in, but I hope it helps people out with the upgrade. I searched around a lot for info and couldn't find any.
If you now have a brick, sorry, but this is the exact method I followed, and it worked for me.

Good luck!

Tested the Procedure and it works perfectly without problems (I used the Method 1). Thanks a lot Bro for the procedure. :)

Edited by ronny, 09 February 2008 - 11:49 AM.

  • 0

#3
nanodemon

nanodemon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Devices:O2 XPhone II, O2 XDA Graphite

Tested the Procedure and it works perfectly without problems (I used the Method 1). Thanks a lot Bro for the procedure. :)

No worries dude, glad it helped you out! :D

  • 0

#4
M11

M11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:O2 XDA_Graphite

No worries dude, glad it helped you out! :D

Hi nanodemon!

I used the first Method,it worked perfekt! :D

There is my little blog with pictures to your komplet method.

http://pdaplus.hu/content/view/2021/1/

thank the advance!

cheers from Hungary! :)

  • 0

#5
nanodemon

nanodemon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Devices:O2 XPhone II, O2 XDA Graphite
Awesome pics! glad it worked for you as well!

  • 0

#6
alimx

alimx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
how long is quite sometime? I run the RUU, and waited for about 1 hr now, and the RUU is still running, with progress bar is at the end of finish. But the RUU won't quit or telling me if the upgrade went successfully. Should I just wait?

btw : You forgot there's a Button of "COMPILE SCRIPT" when you finished change the "Xda Graphite" into "O2 Graphite", then you SAVE the file. It will put ORIGINAL copy on the same folder.

Great Tutorial, waited a long time for this.. :)
many thanks..

  • 0

#7
ronny

ronny

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Location:Omnia II, HTC Touch Dual and O2 Graphite User PHILIPPINES
  • Devices:Omnia II, Touch Dual, Graphite

how long is quite sometime? I run the RUU, and waited for about 1 hr now, and the RUU is still running, with progress bar is at the end of finish. But the RUU won't quit or telling me if the upgrade went successfully. Should I just wait?

btw : You forgot there's a Button of "COMPILE SCRIPT" when you finished change the "Xda Graphite" into "O2 Graphite", then you SAVE the file. It will put ORIGINAL copy on the same folder.

Great Tutorial, waited a long time for this.. :)
many thanks..


It took 15-20min. for me to complete the update.

  • 0

#8
ronny

ronny

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Location:Omnia II, HTC Touch Dual and O2 Graphite User PHILIPPINES
  • Devices:Omnia II, Touch Dual, Graphite

how long is quite sometime? I run the RUU, and waited for about 1 hr now, and the RUU is still running, with progress bar is at the end of finish. But the RUU won't quit or telling me if the upgrade went successfully. Should I just wait?

btw : You forgot there's a Button of "COMPILE SCRIPT" when you finished change the "Xda Graphite" into "O2 Graphite", then you SAVE the file. It will put ORIGINAL copy on the same folder.

Great Tutorial, waited a long time for this.. :)
many thanks..


do you have a copy of the asian O2 autoconfig and O2 menu?

  • 0

#9
sourtzis

sourtzis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
very nice job thank you

  • 0

#10
de vetnek

de vetnek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Location:Hoogeveen, NL
interesting to know whether it will also work on other phones.
I'm offering my StrTrk for experiment. :)

I already tried with the settings you instructed but didn't worked out. got the error "phone is not XDA"

  • 0

#11
alimx

alimx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

do you have a copy of the asian O2 autoconfig and O2 menu?

I am sorry for the delayed reply.
I don't have, it is on my graphite though, but don't know how to extract from Extended rom.
I didn't manage to Upgrade, both of the Method 1 and 2 didn't work for me, it only upgrades the radio on my graphite.
Fortunately it didn't bricked my graphite, so I can still use it on WM5.
Great to hear all of you succeed with the upgrade, I will try again or just wait the Asian version if it ever come out.
cheers,

  • 0

#12
M11

M11

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:O2 XDA_Graphite

do you have a copy of the asian O2 autoconfig and O2 menu?

my uploads, komplet WM5 extrom ;-)
http://rapidshare.co...dvdhal.rar.html

  • 0

#13
ronny

ronny

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Location:Omnia II, HTC Touch Dual and O2 Graphite User PHILIPPINES
  • Devices:Omnia II, Touch Dual, Graphite

my uploads, komplet WM5 extrom ;-)
http://rapidshare.co...dvdhal.rar.html

Hi M11, thank you very much for the O2 files. but i need one more help from you, i tried to install them and the installation went ok but when i try to run the program it says "Can't find 'autoconfig' (or one of it's components). Make sure the path and filename are correct and that all the required libraries are available. Btw, where will i put all the other files like the "network folder and others. thanks again, hope you can help me again

  • 0

#14
longj49

longj49

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
thanks for the procedure - trying it now with fingers crossed, so far so good.

Edited by longj49, 18 February 2008 - 09:55 AM.

  • 0

#15
longj49

longj49

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
woohoo! updating went successfully without any hitch. thanks, nanodemon!

  • 0

#16
satyab

satyab

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:i-mate SP5
Is it going to work on iMate SP5??

  • 0

#17
jtaysw

jtaysw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:o2 Graphite
Thanks M11 for the extended ROM.

Those asian graphite owners who are still unsuccessful in upgrading to WM6 with these steps can check out the steps I used at http://www.modaco.co...ar-you/page/80/

  • 0

#18
ronny

ronny

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 502 posts
  • Location:Omnia II, HTC Touch Dual and O2 Graphite User PHILIPPINES
  • Devices:Omnia II, Touch Dual, Graphite

Thanks M11 for the extended ROM.

Those asian graphite owners who are still unsuccessful in upgrading to WM6 with these steps can check out the steps I used at http://www.modaco.co...ar-you/page/80/


Were you able to install the autoconfig and o2 menu successfully? thanks.

  • 0

#19
jtaysw

jtaysw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:o2 Graphite

Were you able to install the autoconfig and o2 menu successfully? thanks.


Sorry, just tried it. I'm unable to get it to work either. Back to manual input <_<

  • 0

#20
aris

aris

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Location:Pasig City, Metro Manila
I have an Asian O2 Graphite and successfully upgraded to WM6 using the UK version....Is there a way to downgrade to WM5 and get the original asian version??? WM6 does not have the O2 AutoConfig and O2 Menu which is important for me...PLEASE H E L P!!!

Thanks!

Aris

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users