9 replies to this topic

Sergeant Pluck

Sergeant Pluck

• Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HTC Touch Diamond on T Mobile
Hi all

I am having real difficulties with this phone's internet access. I am fairly new to this so please make any advice fairly simple :D

I am able to initiate an HSDPA connection. However, I am often unable to move from this to actually display web pages - sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't. I often get a message: "Cannot connect with your current settings...". At other times it is fine.

More specifically I seem to have lost the ability to access my Gmail via the email service.

Is there some kind of problem at the T-mobile end???

Advice appreciated on how to describe / work through / resolve this.

Generally I must say I am a little disappointed with this phone. I often cannot get things to work that other people seem to have no problem with - e.g the Gsen utility posted here will not work on my phone.

The main reason I am disappointed is battery life - so poor that it really limits the phone's usefulness. I went for this phone as I needed something with WM for Outlook sync between work and home. I really wish I didn't need that as it would open up a range of much better phones.

Monolithix

Monolithix

Hardcore

• MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,783 posts
I find that my Diamond is *really* poor for signal quality, i've only had it a few days though so i'll see how it goes. I've found that when it does lose signal though it can need a full soft reset to recapture it, the same goes for the problem you describe, which i've also encountered.

GSen i have downloaded but am as yet to have tried out. Battery life is on par, 24 hours on HSDPA, 36-48 on GPRS. I struggle to believe anyone who claims better than that! On the other hand HTC have managed to achieve this with a battery 450mAhrs less capacity than the equally performing Kaiser!

I still exist

Sergeant Pluck

Sergeant Pluck

• Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts