Jump to content


Photo

Paul's complete guide to installing OSX Leopard on your MSI Wind / Advent 4211

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
796 replies to this topic

#781
fliedrice

fliedrice

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:tosihiba
hi paul i need help opening files. i have kext files on my mac 10.4.8 but i cant open them because i have no sound or i cant get onto the internet so could you plaese help me.

thanks

  • 0

#782
darobman

darobman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Please help if you can; I searched this thread and the world and see others have had my problem but the solution is puzzling.

I just purchased my MSI Wind U100 with 160GB HDD , 2GB RAM, and bought the DELL 1490. Almost everything went according to Paul's excellent write up and video. However the resolution of 1024x600 is just not available.

I have tried;
Reinstalling Kexts
Repairing Permissions
Starting over from scratch
Installing SwitcherResx <-- Now this works but why pay 20 dollars for something if I don't need it.

Your thoughts please.

Aloha,
rob

  • 0

#783
thecopydude

thecopydude

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
This is a first post and, first of all, congratulations to Paul for blazing the trail here.

Here are a few comments some of you might find useful.

1. There are now a few more notebooks on the market you might like to consider, other than the Wind or Advent. I bought a Toshiba N280, also with the Atom processor, because it had a better keyboard.

2. Will Paul's instructions work with another netbook? It depends upon the hardware. It is worth discovering what motherboard, cpu, network card etc you have in a machine you want to hack before you buy it. You can do this at:

http://wiki.osx86pro....php/HCL_10.5.2

This useful page tells you which components have been tested and which require patches.

3. There's now a choice of installing Leopard using either Kalyway - Paul's method - or IATKOS V7. Again, success depends from machine to machine. The advantage of IATKOS is that it can install a later version of Leopard. But some components are more Kalyway friendly, so reference the wiki link above.

To make a choice, first visit the IATKOS forum:

http://uphuck.ggrn.d...b812b6bca3bc00b

And here you will find the installation tutorial:

http://www.freewebs....giatkosv10i.htm

4. If you are going to choose Paul's method, you should also take the time to visit the Insanely Mac Forum where the Kalyway 10.5.2 release is discussed. There a lots of links to patches and fixes for resolution, ethernet, whatever.

http://www.insanelym...p...98461&st=40

Along with Paul's instructions, and the subsequent forum replies, I think you should now be able to troubleshoot anything using these resources and install Leopard on a wide range of machines.

5. General Tips

Downloading either Kalyway or IATKOs is a tedious process but it is the most important. A corrupted tranfer will mean a bad installation. Do a checksum after download and burn at the slowest speed possible with high quality media.

Some of the problems mentioned here - and on insanely Mac - are Apple bugs with the earlier releases of Leopard. When I first upgraded a G4 iBook to Leopard - with a genuine retail Mac OS - I experienced Kernel Panic (the grey screen) and the looping back to the start of the Welcome Menu. I also had problems after using the Combo Updaters from Software Update. Nothing to do but erase and start over with single phase updates. So don't give up . . . it does work. Once you are past 10.5.4 these problems appear to go away.

  • 0

#784
thecopydude

thecopydude

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
This is a first post and, first of all, congratulations to Paul for blazing the trail here.

Here are a few comments some of you might find useful.

1. There are now a few more notebooks on the market you might like to consider, other than the Wind or Advent. I bought a Toshiba N280, also with the Atom processor, because it had a better keyboard.

2. Will Paul's instructions work with another netbook? It depends upon the hardware. It is worth discovering what motherboard, cpu, network card etc you have in a machine you want to hack before you buy it. You can do this at:

http://wiki.osx86pro....php/HCL_10.5.2

This useful page tells you which components have been tested and which require patches.

3. There's now a choice of installing Leopard using either Kalyway - Paul's method - or IATKOS V7. Again, success depends from machine to machine. The advantage of IATKOS is that it can install a later version of Leopard. But some components are more Kalyway friendly, so reference the wiki link above.

To make a choice, first visit the IATKOS forum:

http://uphuck.ggrn.d...b812b6bca3bc00b

And here you will find the installation tutorial:

http://www.freewebs....giatkosv10i.htm

4. If you are going to choose Paul's method, you should also take the time to visit the Insanely Mac Forum where the Kalyway 10.5.2 release is discussed. There a lots of links to patches and fixes for resolution, ethernet, whatever.

http://www.insanelym...p...98461&st=40

Along with Paul's instructions, and the subsequent forum replies, I think you should now be able to troubleshoot anything using these resources and install Leopard on a wide range of machines.

5. General Tips

Downloading either Kalyway or IATKOs is a tedious process but it is the most important. A corrupted tranfer will mean a bad installation. Do a checksum after download and burn at the slowest speed possible with high quality media.

Some of the problems mentioned here - and on insanely Mac - are Apple bugs with the earlier releases of Leopard. When I first upgraded a G4 iBook to Leopard - with a genuine retail Mac OS - I experienced Kernel Panic (the grey screen) and the looping back to the start of the Welcome Menu. I also had problems after using the Combo Updaters from Software Update. Nothing to do but erase and start over with single phase updates. So don't give up . . . it does work. Once you are past 10.5.4 these problems appear to go away.

  • 0

#785
LockeXXV

LockeXXV

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:MSI Wind Netbook (u100)
Hello Paul, thanks for the great article. I just got my MSI Wind u100 and had it converted to Apple in only a bit over an hour. I'm loving it! I do have one minor problem, though.

The battery just doesn't seem to be recognized. I've tried reinstalling kexts and all, repairing permissions, etc.., but alas. Whether I'm plugged in or not, it doesn't show me anything but a battery with an X on it, and whenever I run updates it warns me that I'm on no direct power source (even when I am).

Thoughts?

  • 0

#786
kaje71

kaje71

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Medion Akoya e1215
Hi Paul,

I've been struggeling with my Medion E1215 netbook for a while. I have a dual boot Windows 7 and OS X. I have installed a used Dell dw 1490 in my Medion. In Windows 7 i have a perfect wifi connection but in OSX it won't work. OSX is not recognizing my Dell dw 1490. Ethernet is working fine. Do you know the answer for my problem?

Thank you in advance.

Greetings
Kees
Netherlands

  • 0

#787
Blackhole1

Blackhole1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi,

I just got a Dell 1490 miniPCI wireless card (BCM94311MCA GBP2 rev P2) and replaced the builtin RT2700. Unfortunately, OSX (msiwindosx.iso, updated to 10.5.7) does not recognize the card. I did not reinstall OS X.

Can anyone help and tell me how to "activate" it? (It is switched on). In the forums it said, that it should run natively. When checking in "About this Mac", it says that no PCI-card is installed :D

Update: lspci does not list the card either. Does this mean that the card is broken or can it be something else?

Thanks!
Blackhole

Edited by Blackhole1, 03 November 2009 - 07:18 PM.

  • 0

#788
kaje71

kaje71

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Medion Akoya e1215
Hi Blackhole,

I have the same problem. I hope Paul can help us! How did you updated to OSX 10.5.7? I run now OSX (msiwindosx) 10.5.2.

Thanks in advance!

Kees





Hi,

I just got a Dell 1490 miniPCI wireless card (BCM94311MCA GBP2 rev P2) and replaced the builtin RT2700. Unfortunately, OSX (msiwindosx.iso, updated to 10.5.7) does not recognize the card. I did not reinstall OS X.

Can anyone help and tell me how to "activate" it? (It is switched on). In the forums it said, that it should run natively. When checking in "About this Mac", it says that no PCI-card is installed :D

Update: lspci does not list the card either. Does this mean that the card is broken or can it be something else?

Thanks!
Blackhole


  • 0

#789
Blackhole1

Blackhole1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

How did you updated to OSX 10.5.7? I run now OSX (msiwindosx) 10.5.2.


Hi Kees,

at first I used an external USB keyboard and mouse and updated via Software Update.
What works even better is to download Cybergregs driver pack (google it), then run the Software Update without immediately rebooting, running the installation of the driver pack, then reboot.

This worked till 10.5.7 flawlessly. I haven't dared updating to 10.5.8 because some people reported complications, especially sleep not working (which seems to be solved, I read somewhere).

Good luck.
Hope someone here knows an answer to the lspci-problem. I replaced the Dell card with the RT2700 again :D Better to have crappy wireless than no wireless.

Blackhole

Edited by Blackhole1, 03 November 2009 - 08:54 PM.

  • 0

#790
Mr.David

Mr.David

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello I'm a newbie. From Mongolia, Asia.
I've already installed Mac OSX on my MSI Wind notebook.
But I've problem. I touchpad is not working. Therefore I'm working with my mouse. How can I install touchpad driver without reinstalling OSX?
Is there any way to install it?

PS: Thanks understanding my bad English.

  • 0

#791
sport2772

sport2772

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Acer Aspire One D250-1759
Awesome post ;) It didn't work for me on my Acer Aspire One D250-1759. But i did get it to work using iAtoks. I had to use 5-6 different guides to get it. Every thing works except the inter mic and Time Machine. heres the specs for my netbook. For those of you wanting to do this on a similar netbook google is your best friend and good luck.

Edited by sport2772, 13 April 2010 - 04:32 PM.

  • 0

#792
PipoPT

PipoPT

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello.

I have a Asus V1S.

Is there any way I can install Mac OsX on my laptop?

Thanks in advance, keep up the good work.

  • 0

#793
scott1202

scott1202

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

500GB HDD should work, any Sata 2.5" should be fine!

P

My wife would love this, right now she’s going to have twins in July and she is pretty big, it would be nice if she could lay on the bed and watch some dvd’s in our bedroom, great prize. Thank you! http://www.gpscardvd.com

  • 0

#794
Lunkan

Lunkan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:MBP
Thx for a really great guide, BUT, of course there's a but :angry:

I am getting stuck with my U100 in the dialog "Do you already own a Mac?" (18:51 into the edu film). When clicking continue I get sent (after a while) back to "Welcome".

Don't really know why. Have even tried to register exactly like you. I.e UK and Brittish, but no luck ;)

Please advise!

Edit: Sorry, RTFM is a thing I don't do good :D I thought it had something to do with my network and of course!!! Didn't select the regular card even though it was clearly pointed out! My bad.

Edited by Lunkan, 17 July 2010 - 04:16 AM.

  • 0

#795
Bells

Bells

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Wind U100
  • Twitter:@Bells
Hi Paul

Considering loading OSX on my Wind U100.

1) Wondering how does the OSX affect battery run times (is it similar or less)?

2) Also, have you or anyone made this dual boot with windows (unfortunately I still need it for a few things (ie, connecting to the work network).

Thanks
Steve

  • 0

#796
Broad1010

Broad1010

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool UK
  • Interests:Computers, Music, Photography, PC Games
  • Devices:HTC Desire, Asus Transformer,
Hi Paul

I have a Advent 4213 with 2Gb ram , 160Gb HDD and BIOS 1.02 i have also Kalyway 10.5.2 DVD with the update.

I cannot find the updated BIOS 1.05.
Please can you advise.

Yours

Neil

  • 0




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users