Jump to content


Photo

Live Mesh Beta now available for Pocket PC

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
deadphill

deadphill

    Come on you Horns!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wheathampstead
  • Interests:Football, Gadgets in general, Open to Android, iOS and even Windows Phone these days!
  • Devices:iPhone 4s32GB + Nexus 7 (2013)
  • Twitter:@deadphill
Posted Image

Hi Guys

While chatting away online the other day with certain characters it was brought to my attention that Live Mesh has made it to Windows Mobile.

In order to get this you need to be either in the UK or US, (apparently, please let us know if you don't) and log into your mesh, click on add device and in the box below choose add mobile device.

Now I don't know if its just my phone, signal or whatever, but I had a few troubles to get it to connect and then finally to sync. However I do seem to have issues where I am at work, so maybe Ill try it when I get some time at home.

Anyway head over to Mesh.com and have a play. Remember 5GB of free online storage cant be bad! And dont forget to let us know what you think.

Have fun!

Cheers

Phill

Warning! Do not use without a decent data allowance or WiFi. It could cost you loads!

  • 0

Windows Mobile Silver Specialist 2011. Because I cant find the fricking gold version to do anywhere!!!


#2
bacus

bacus

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester
  • Devices:Orange SF
Hi Phil,

I posted this in the 'Submit News' section last Friday. It never made it out of there though. Perhaps that section is no longer monitored?

Anyway, pretty good isn't it!

Had a few problems myself, which were down to my profile not having a country assigned (new users check this if you are having trouble). Also bare in mind that you can't sync files greater than 10MB to the device at present. I'm just using it for pictures at the moment. Works well.

Cheers

Lee

  • 0

#3
WearTheFoxHat

WearTheFoxHat

    I've gone all droid!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,215 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Right Here, Right Now!
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Moto XOOM 3G
  • Twitter:@TomJJarvis
Strange, I still get "Coming Soon"

  • 0
Orange regrets to inform you that their network will be going down in 1 hours time for all users apart from yourself. This is because nothing would go down on you, not even a network!

#4
birogeri

birogeri

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:HP iPAQ 514
I'm not in the US or in the UK :lol:

  • 0

#5
James

James

    AKA 'jlowap' MoDaCo Old Skool

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,545 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Devon, UK
  • Interests:3D Mech Design, Music, DJing and drinking ;)
  • Devices:Desire HD & iPhon
I dont see it either :/

'Coming soon for mobile'

  • 0
James Lovell

#6
smitty007

smitty007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:Cingular 2125
No dice yet either on this side of pond

  • 0
Cingular 2125 - WM6
All the trimmings

BlackJack II - WM6
Ready to be Hacked!!

#7
dr_nick

dr_nick

    keep on tweaking!

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lee on solent
  • Interests:electronics, home cinema, kite surfing, sailing, diving, travelling, photography, cookery, wine, reading, medicine
  • Devices:Orange HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@dr_nick
i still only have "coming soon on mobile" when i check it - and have been eagerly awaiting this so checking every day!!

:lol:

  • 0

#8
deadphill

deadphill

    Come on you Horns!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wheathampstead
  • Interests:Football, Gadgets in general, Open to Android, iOS and even Windows Phone these days!
  • Devices:iPhone 4s32GB + Nexus 7 (2013)
  • Twitter:@deadphill
Ah

Will have to check the T&C's to post it here but if you look out there the file you want is called live mesh.cab.

Have a look for that, it might help you on your way.

Cheers

Phill

  • 0

Windows Mobile Silver Specialist 2011. Because I cant find the fricking gold version to do anywhere!!!


#9
rav1patel

rav1patel

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:london
  • Devices:HTC Desire - MCR r3.1
  • Twitter:@ravmania
its on a limited beat for UK and US users only. i got it a week ago.

its brilliant. no need to connect to the computer anymore. just drag stuff (cabs, pics, whatever) into a folder and it magically appears on my phone. also set the pics to sync so as soon as i take a pic it appears on my desktop!

love it.

  • 0

Posted Image

#10
Mysterious Stranger

Mysterious Stranger

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 776 posts
  • Devices:Acer dual sim thingy..

Ah

Will have to check the T&C's to post it here but if you look out there the file you want is called live mesh.cab.

Have a look for that, it might help you on your way.

Cheers

Phill


The link is http://m.mesh.com/in...m6/LiveMesh.cab

Haven't been able to get it to work but haven't tried for a while.

M.S

  • 0

#11
Driekus

Driekus

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 119 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam
  • Devices:HTC Touch NL
Not much use yet installing that cab file. When signing in on my mobile I get the message it's for a limited number of users available at this time... And I'm not one of them.

Edited by Driekus, 07 November 2008 - 07:43 PM.

  • 0
SPV C500 > MDA Compact > I'm now HTC Touch'ed!

#12
David Strange

David Strange

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:London, UK.
  • Interests:Wine and food.
  • Devices:Xperia X1, Toshiba TG01
  • Twitter:@elitistreview
Instructions for installing on Windows Mobile are here.

It is a great system. Auto-syncing my pictures folder is just so handy.

David.

  • 0

#13
bacus

bacus

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester
  • Devices:Orange SF
For those seeing the 'coming soon' you MUST follow the instructions and the correct links. See this site for details:-

http://blogs.msdn.com/livemesh/

As a prerequisit make sure your country is set to UK or US in your LiveID prior to following the link. You'll then see your device ring, but it wont say 'coming soon' on the mobile client.

Hope this helps.

  • 0

#14
Kevlarski

Kevlarski

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle upon Tyne

For those seeing the 'coming soon' you MUST follow the instructions and the correct links. See this site for details:-

http://blogs.msdn.com/livemesh/

As a prerequisit make sure your country is set to UK or US in your LiveID prior to following the link. You'll then see your device ring, but it wont say 'coming soon' on the mobile client.

Hope this helps.


I have checked my location is set to United Kingdom and has been for some years now, my PC is setup for it and I have downloaded and installed the cab but when I run Live Mesh and sign in it says:
"Live Mesh is not available Live Mesh for Windows Mobile Client is only available to a limited number of users. You are currently not allowed to add your mobile phone to Live Mesh." :lol:

Attached Files


  • 0
Virgin HD2 (1.66.405.2 WWE, Radio: 2.06.51.07)
Orange Touch Diamond (Official OrangeUK ROM: 1.93.405.1 WWE, Radio: 1.00.25.05)
Orange SPV M500, Orange SPV C500

#15
bacus

bacus

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester
  • Devices:Orange SF

I have checked my location is set to United Kingdom and has been for some years now, my PC is setup for it and I have downloaded and installed the cab but when I run Live Mesh and sign in it says:
"Live Mesh is not available Live Mesh for Windows Mobile Client is only available to a limited number of users. You are currently not allowed to add your mobile phone to Live Mesh." B)

This is odd. Did you follow the link from the blog post, or just login straight to your mesh? If you follow the link you should see the mesh ring, but it looks different where it references the mobile client. See below:-

Attached File  mesh1.JPG   48.68KB   62 downloads

The link carries a sort of invite that 'unlocks' the option in the red circle. If you just install the cab without following the link, it won't work. When you click that link you should see the following:-

Attached File  mesh2.JPG   49.16KB   54 downloads

I followed Option 2 on this page and had the phone still connected over the cable when I first signed in. Once it had synced, I disconnected the cable and it still worked but using the 3g.
Your problem maybe something else, but this is the procedure I followed. Hope it helps.

Lee

  • 0

#16
dr_nick

dr_nick

    keep on tweaking!

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 289 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lee on solent
  • Interests:electronics, home cinema, kite surfing, sailing, diving, travelling, photography, cookery, wine, reading, medicine
  • Devices:Orange HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@dr_nick
"Sorry, the Live Mesh Tech Preview is currently out of invitations. Please check back soon.


(Code: c14d73c7-1731, 08/11/2008 14:16) "

this is the message i get... is there a workaround to this or do those of us not lucky enough to have caught the beta wave have to wait more?

dr_nick

  • 0

#17
deadphill

deadphill

    Come on you Horns!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wheathampstead
  • Interests:Football, Gadgets in general, Open to Android, iOS and even Windows Phone these days!
  • Devices:iPhone 4s32GB + Nexus 7 (2013)
  • Twitter:@deadphill
Looks like its going to be closed for beta testing for a while. My guess is that it will be a few weeks and then it will be released to the wider public.

Cheers

Phill

  • 0

Windows Mobile Silver Specialist 2011. Because I cant find the fricking gold version to do anywhere!!!


#18
Scottola

Scottola

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Devices:v1615

Looks like its going to be closed for beta testing for a while. My guess is that it will be a few weeks and then it will be released to the wider public.

Cheers

Phill


when I install the cab, it says 'Live mesh was uanble to find a suitable version of sql CE on this device. Unable to install Live mesh'

Where to I get the correct version of SQL CE from and should I have it already?

  • 0

#19
deadphill

deadphill

    Come on you Horns!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wheathampstead
  • Interests:Football, Gadgets in general, Open to Android, iOS and even Windows Phone these days!
  • Devices:iPhone 4s32GB + Nexus 7 (2013)
  • Twitter:@deadphill
Maybe this is related to the version of CF you have on your device.

Have you tried installing v 3.0 of the software?

Cheers

Phill

  • 0

Windows Mobile Silver Specialist 2011. Because I cant find the fricking gold version to do anywhere!!!


#20
bacus

bacus

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 100 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Leicester
  • Devices:Orange SF
There's an update today on the Live Mesh blog about the mobile client.

(UPDATE: Live Mesh for Mobile in the UK is currently full. We know many of you are excited about trying Live Mesh with your mobile devices, so we'll be adding more spots very soon - stay tuned!)

So bad news for the UK but good news for the US users who still want to give it a go.

Lee

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users