Jump to content


Photo

Does anyone actually have the X1a?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1
Hurgle Durgle

Hurgle Durgle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Some retailers say it's temporarily out of stock, which leads me to believe they had some and sold out, and some say it's available for preorder, which would indicate it's just been pushed back to 1/22 (which Best Buy and Mobile City Online seem to concur on).

Anyone know what's up? I bought a Fuze out of impatience, but I think I'm going to return it and wait.

  • 0

#2
vagelis

vagelis

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pasadena, CA
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus GSM - Infuse 4G

Some retailers say it's temporarily out of stock, which leads me to believe they had some and sold out, and some say it's available for preorder, which would indicate it's just been pushed back to 1/22 (which Best Buy and Mobile City Online seem to concur on).

Anyone know what's up? I bought a Fuze out of impatience, but I think I'm going to return it and wait.


Do have one; via sonystyle store
you know if yours is a X1a if the box has UMTS EU1/US2/US5 in the product sticker

  • 0

#3
squilla

squilla

    Learning all the time!

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Ameo

Do have one; via sonystyle store
you know if yours is a X1a if the box has UMTS EU1/US2/US5 in the product sticker



Whats the difference between the X1a and the X1i ?

If I go to menu - settings - system - Device Information - Identity it says X1i

  • 0
XDA Exec, Ameo, Experia X1

#4
Hurgle Durgle

Hurgle Durgle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Whats the difference between the X1a and the X1i ?

If I go to menu - settings - system - Device Information - Identity it says X1i


The X1a doesn't have the front mounted camera, and records video at 24fps. But, more importantly, it supports 3G at both 850 and 1900MHz in the US, rather than just at 1900.

I ended up grabbing an X1i from Newegg, though, and have been consistently getting 3G connections on AT&T, so I can't complain.

  • 0

#5
Leddy

Leddy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson XPERIA X1

The X1a doesn't have the front mounted camera, and records video at 24fps. But, more importantly, it supports 3G at both 850 and 1900MHz in the US, rather than just at 1900.

I ended up grabbing an X1i from Newegg, though, and have been consistently getting 3G connections on AT&T, so I can't complain.

The X1a does have the front mounted camera, and your 3G support list is incomplete; the X1i supports UMTS 900MHz (and not 850) and the X1a supports 850MHz (and not 900MHz)

  • 0

#6
Binqui

Binqui

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle WA, USA
  • Devices:Xperia X1 & iMac
I got my X1a at the SonyStyle store too. Took about 6 weeks to arrive due to backlog. Ordered 11/4 arrived 12/15. I think online retailers will have difficulty getting stock until Sony fills its own backlog of orders.

Overall I love the phone so you most likely will be pleased too.

Make sure your case has no cracks when you get it. mine does and it has been a complaint from may new users - a quailty control issue that apparently has yet to be resolved.

-Binqui

  • 0

#7
dawen

dawen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
i notice my x1i i got here, when i go to setting on the network band, under Select your GSM/UMTS band. i have the option to choose Auto, GSM(900+1800)+UMTS(2100+900), GSM(1900+850)+UMTS(1900+850), UMTS(2100+800), does that mean i could use that in all 3G band? right now i dnt have a 3G sim card to try out if it support 3G for rogers.

Edited by dawen, 27 December 2008 - 06:51 PM.

  • 0

#8
Hurgle Durgle

Hurgle Durgle

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

i notice my x1i i got here, when i go to setting on the network band, under Select your GSM/UMTS band. i have the option to choose Auto, GSM(900+1800)+UMTS(2100+900), GSM(1900+850)+UMTS(1900+850), UMTS(2100+800), does that mean i could use that in all 3G band? right now i dnt have a 3G sim card to try out if it support 3G for rogers.


While you can do UMTS over 1900 and 850MHz bands, HSDPA (a subset of UMTS, not the whole kaboodle) on the X1i will only work on 1900 and 2100MHz bands. I've lucked out and hit a lot of 1900MHz towers here with AT&T, but it's different around the US.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users