Jump to content


Photo

How to mount a new Touch panel on OMNIA

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
787 replies to this topic

#761
andrew.mazlim

andrew.mazlim

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Great Britain
  • Interests:Footie, rock music, books, films.
  • Devices:T-Mobile USA HTC HD2 Leo
Many told me, the difference is very impressive... but after a while, the digitizer is responding as it used to be - before, with the old one.
Is it true?

  • 0
Posted Image

T-Mobile USA .HTC HD2 Leo
________________________________________________________________________________

Firmware: NRGZ28's "ENERGY-Dinik" Build: 29020
Radio:..........2.15.50.14

My "OMNIA i900 GOODS/TWEAKS/TOOLS/APPs" thread:
http://www.modaco.co...ilitiesvisuals/
My "OMNIA i900 M2D/S2U2 Ultimate England Theme" thread:
http://www.modaco.co...artup-m2d-s2u2/

#762
maf107ezk0

maf107ezk0

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Devices:Samsung SGH-I900 Omnia
Well, after 2 months it's still the same - much better :P

  • 0

#763
andrew.mazlim

andrew.mazlim

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,588 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Great Britain
  • Interests:Footie, rock music, books, films.
  • Devices:T-Mobile USA HTC HD2 Leo

Well, after 2 months it's still the same - much better :P


Nice! And how easily you can personally install the new digitizer???? Do we need a service specialist?

  • 0
Posted Image

T-Mobile USA .HTC HD2 Leo
________________________________________________________________________________

Firmware: NRGZ28's "ENERGY-Dinik" Build: 29020
Radio:..........2.15.50.14

My "OMNIA i900 GOODS/TWEAKS/TOOLS/APPs" thread:
http://www.modaco.co...ilitiesvisuals/
My "OMNIA i900 M2D/S2U2 Ultimate England Theme" thread:
http://www.modaco.co...artup-m2d-s2u2/

#764
maf107ezk0

maf107ezk0

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Devices:Samsung SGH-I900 Omnia
It's not that hard... You just have to be patient. HERE is a link to my post a page back where there is a link to a disassemble guide. You should be extremely careful with the two hinge-type cables, especially the digitzer one as it is very small and easy to break.

Edited by maf107ezk0, 12 September 2010 - 01:03 PM.

  • 0

#765
RickySiMo

RickySiMo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

It's not that hard... You just have to be patient. HERE is a link to my post a page back where there is a link to a disassemble guide. You should be extremely careful with the two hinge-type cables, especially the digitzer one as it is very small and easy to break.


Just changed my digitizer 2day. It's awesome the result! I've bought an original one from siansmobile on ebay. ~Shipped on the 8th, arrived on the 17th. Easy to replace and ORIGINAL!!! Now, I have a total new phone! Guys, do it! Don't be afraid, be carefull!

Ricky

  • 0

#766
munie90

munie90

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Hey i need help someone, i just got my new digitizer (link above) And it wont fit. its just a little bit too long. Does anyone have that problem.


I got the omnia i900. and bought OEM i908/i900. HELP PLEASE!

Edited by munie90, 18 September 2010 - 12:02 PM.

  • 0

#767
munie90

munie90

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Hey c'mon people! any one!!!!! I want to know which type of phone omnia i900 i got and whick digitizer i should buY!

  • 0

#768
leroyjacobs

leroyjacobs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:I900 super ultra
I have replaced the LCD screen (due to stupidity :lol: , i broke it) and later installed a new digitizer but since i mounted the digitizer i have, over time built up some dirt, dust between the lcd and digitizer can i just ask did anybody who replaced digitizer have this problem or did you seal the two with tape or just use the sticky on the new digitizer.

  • 0

#769
ohmi_gaad

ohmi_gaad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Omnia

Hey i need help someone, i just got my new digitizer (link above) And it wont fit. its just a little bit too long. Does anyone have that problem.
I got the omnia i900. and bought OEM i908/i900. HELP PLEASE!



Where did you get the digitizer? I have an I900 and bought a housing and digitizer from Hong Kong which is supposed to be for the I900 or I908. The housing is slightly shorter and the digitizer is also shorter by about 1 mm. Maybe there is a difference between the screens and you and I have the wrong ones..

  • 0

#770
ohmi_gaad

ohmi_gaad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Omnia

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...:MEWNX:IT\
Bought this one, getting it the 16th. Hope i bought the right one!


Munie90.. Yuh get dis yet? I have an omnia that needs a screen too but not sureif they are compat..

  • 0

#771
ohmi_gaad

ohmi_gaad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Omnia

Well My omnia touch screen & new omni-red Housing arrived today and after an hour of careful disassembly I managed to fit my new touchscreen no problems then 5 minutes to reassemble the new housing and I have what looks like a brand new red samsung omnia.

Thanks for the tutorials and advice in this thread it was an excellent resource now I have my beautiful RED omnia with improved touchscreen, nearly 20 months old and it looks like its just out the box.

Thanks again!

P.S. You don't have to remove the mouse-pad and two keys on the front.

I will post a pic later.



Gee-dup, I just received my housing and digitizer. Had a look at the housing and compared the new with the original. There are some slight differences. I have an I900 and bought the housing and screen from Hong Kong on ebay. I am concerned about moving everything only to find they are not compatible. Did you find the same? Were the housings about 1 mm different? There is also a couple of metal strips in the original housing at the bottom which are missing from the replacement housing. They seem to bridge a couple of contacts in the phone. I don't know is this is serious or I can ignore them.. I saw somewhere they may be antenna connections?? Your advice is welcomed...

Edited by ohmi_gaad, 25 September 2010 - 01:04 AM.

  • 0

#772
ohmi_gaad

ohmi_gaad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Omnia

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...:MEWNX:IT\
Bought this one, getting it the 16th. Hope i bought the right one!


Munie90... I got some bad news for you.. Just did the research since I also bought one of those.. If you are in Jamaica, you have an I900L and not an I900 or I908. The touch screen is too short for our case... About 1 mm too short.

I bought the housing and screen.. Anybody want a screen and white housing to buy?? or SWAP for an I900L touch screen?

Edited by ohmi_gaad, 25 September 2010 - 02:42 AM.

  • 0

#773
ohmi_gaad

ohmi_gaad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Omnia

Hey c'mon people! any one!!!!! I want to know which type of phone omnia i900 i got and whick digitizer i should buY!



You have the I900L.. Open the back and take out the battery and use a magnifying glass to check.. I made the same error... I have the housing as well as the touch screen... Sorry Yardie...

IF by chance you have a I900 and bought the I900L touch screen... I'll SWAP you my screen for yours... Will even throw in the case I have.. Let me know what you have...

If my screen will fit yours, you can buy it..

Edited by ohmi_gaad, 25 September 2010 - 01:10 PM.

  • 0

#774
ohmi_gaad

ohmi_gaad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Omnia

touchscreen i900 or i908 is same i900L?

in ebay only 1 shop touch for i900l and million for i900 and i908



Nunito, not sure if you made the same mistake I made.. There is a difference.. Check beneath the battery for your model number and order the right one..

  • 0

#775
ohmi_gaad

ohmi_gaad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Omnia
This one is for the techies out there. Can I put the inside of an I900L into an I900/I908 housing and touch screen? Of course its got to work after..

Thanks in advnace for your input here...

  • 0

#776
munie90

munie90

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Munie90... I got some bad news for you.. Just did the research since I also bought one of those.. If you are in Jamaica, you have an I900L and not an I900 or I908. The touch screen is too short for our case... About 1 mm too short.

I bought the housing and screen.. Anybody want a screen and white housing to buy?? or SWAP for an I900L touch screen?



Im dont live in Jamaica i live in st lucia and ordered my omnia i900. Its says omnia i900 not omnia i900L. do you live in jamaica? I want ur screen it should work on mine so...whats the vybe???

  • 0

#777
extaza

extaza

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:i900 Omnia
I mounted new touchscreen panel and complete housing,everything works great,TS is awesome,but my signal sucks,especially when i hold it with my hand,like the iphone problem...so...ANYBODy have some ideas???

  • 0

#778
monteiro-ribas

monteiro-ribas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

I mounted new touchscreen panel and complete housing,everything works great,TS is awesome,but my signal sucks,especially when i hold it with my hand,like the iphone problem...so...ANYBODy have some ideas???



the new housing you bought doesn't come with the antenas (gold antenas) to connect to the motherboard... you need to remove them from the original housing and put them into the new housing

Edited by monteiro-ribas, 14 October 2010 - 08:49 PM.

  • 0

#779
kzkan

kzkan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:İstanbul
  • Devices:OMNİA İ900

Well, after 2 months it's still the same - much better :)


I don't think so

  • 0

#780
romaolp

romaolp

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:SGH-I900
  • Twitter:@-
Hi everyone! :)

I need some help with my old touch screen!

someone can give me the link to buy the new touch screen more sensitive? 've found several on ebay, but don´t know what to buy.

(sorry for my bad english)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users