Jump to content


Photo

Can't update omnia with windows 7, why?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
mh21ttn

mh21ttn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia; HTC HD2
I need help, because i don't understant why the wmdc work, sync my phone, but when i tried to open (with the phone conected) update software says : "please install wmdc first".

I selected the all software and driver samsung to run with windows vista and run with administrator.

I have windows 7 (7100), with 64bit.

I need to cnow 1 reason.

Thank's and sorry my bad english.

Edited by mh21ttn, 13 May 2009 - 07:52 AM.

  • 0

#2
bws2007

bws2007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Pensacola FL
  • Interests:Computers and Cars
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia I910

I need help, because i don't understant why the wmdc work, sync my phone, but when i tried to open (with the phone conected) update software says : "please install wmdc first".

I selected the all software and driver samsung to run with windows vista and run with administrator.

I have windows 7 (7100), with 64bit.

I need to cnow 1 reason.

Thank's and sorry my bad english.


That would be Windows Mobile Device Center here is the link http://www.microsoft...r-download.mspx

  • 0

#3
mh21ttn

mh21ttn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia; HTC HD2
Is not the wmdc problem. I have the latest update to this. I think is software update that run only with 32bit. Or is not compatible with windows 7.

Only way to flash is Grand Prix. Is working fine with w7.

Thank's anyway.

  • 0

#4
Cryingman

Cryingman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Sorry wrong answer.

Edited by Cryingman, 10 September 2009 - 05:44 PM.

  • 0

#5
meabigbaldguy

meabigbaldguy

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 420 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Omnia II
Someone correct me if I'm wrong because this is a blind statement, but doesn't WIN 7 have a preinstalled virtual XP machine? If so, then wouldn't this mean that by installing AS 4.5 in the XP VM, one can flash a ROM in an otherwise simpler manner?

Edited by meabigbaldguy, 10 September 2009 - 07:25 PM.

  • 0

#6
jonboyuk

jonboyuk

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South West, UK
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia i900
Let me correct you bald guy :) Win 7 does have a XP VM, but it's not pre installed, and it doesn't support auto reconnection of USB devices, making the update procedure painful.

I flash within the Win 7 x64 environment....
1. Download the ROM of your choice
2. Download i900_EXEcutor.exe
3. Use it to extract the contents of your chosen ROM
4. Download Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4
5. Run it and deselect "Start downloading immediately
6. Select the GRANDPRIX LV image profile at the top
7. Click Loader/PDA/CSC one at a time, pointing them at the files your extracted (note that the CSC isn't always present)
8. Turn phone off/plug into PC/turn on and press DETECT in Grandprix
9. When it comes up as found, press START DOWNLOADING
10. Phone will reboot, and when the omnia logo comes up again, press START DOWNLOADING one more time
11. Bingo!!!!

Hope that helps someone :)

Jon

  • 0

#7
Maxwell Newton

Maxwell Newton

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia - HTC HD2

Let me correct you bald guy :) Win 7 does have a XP VM, but it's not pre installed, and it doesn't support auto reconnection of USB devices, making the update procedure painful.

I flash within the Win 7 x64 environment....
1. Download the ROM of your choice
2. Download i900_EXEcutor.exe
3. Use it to extract the contents of your chosen ROM
4. Download Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4
5. Run it and deselect "Start downloading immediately
6. Select the GRANDPRIX LV image profile at the top
7. Click Loader/PDA/CSC one at a time, pointing them at the files your extracted (note that the CSC isn't always present)
8. Turn phone off/plug into PC/turn on and press DETECT in Grandprix
9. When it comes up as found, press START DOWNLOADING
10. Phone will reboot, and when the omnia logo comes up again, press START DOWNLOADING one more time
11. Bingo!!!!

Hope that helps someone :)

Jon


Wow - Comprehensive giude! Thank you, i will be using this very soon :) Take care!

  • 0

#8
shokka9

shokka9

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,499 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The moon
  • Interests:Everything
  • Devices:iPhone 5, HTC One
  • Twitter:@shokka9
Or install vmWare.....

Then install XP 32 bit to vmWare virtual machine....

Good to go.

Thats how the pro's do it!!

:)

  • 0

HTC One | Unlocked Bootloader | CWM | Root | S-OFF


#9
HeWhoWas

HeWhoWas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i900

Let me correct you bald guy :) Win 7 does have a XP VM, but it's not pre installed, and it doesn't support auto reconnection of USB devices, making the update procedure painful.

I flash within the Win 7 x64 environment....
1. Download the ROM of your choice
2. Download i900_EXEcutor.exe
3. Use it to extract the contents of your chosen ROM
4. Download Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4
5. Run it and deselect "Start downloading immediately
6. Select the GRANDPRIX LV image profile at the top
7. Click Loader/PDA/CSC one at a time, pointing them at the files your extracted (note that the CSC isn't always present)
8. Turn phone off/plug into PC/turn on and press DETECT in Grandprix
9. When it comes up as found, press START DOWNLOADING
10. Phone will reboot, and when the omnia logo comes up again, press START DOWNLOADING one more time
11. Bingo!!!!

Hope that helps someone :(

Jon


I....You........

Marry me?

lol

  • 0

#10
xzabre

xzabre

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:i900 omnia
What is "Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4" and where can I find it?

Think I found it here.

Edited by xzabre, 06 November 2009 - 01:05 PM.

  • 0

#11
corys00

corys00

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

What is "Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4" and where can I find it?

Think I found it here.


Thanks guys. Able to flash my omnia without jumping through all those hoops!

  • 0

#12
micrographics

micrographics

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts

Let me correct you bald guy :) Win 7 does have a XP VM, but it's not pre installed, and it doesn't support auto reconnection of USB devices, making the update procedure painful.

I flash within the Win 7 x64 environment....
1. Download the ROM of your choice
2. Download i900_EXEcutor.exe
3. Use it to extract the contents of your chosen ROM
4. Download Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4
5. Run it and deselect "Start downloading immediately
6. Select the GRANDPRIX LV image profile at the top
7. Click Loader/PDA/CSC one at a time, pointing them at the files your extracted (note that the CSC isn't always present)
8. Turn phone off/plug into PC/turn on and press DETECT in Grandprix
9. When it comes up as found, press START DOWNLOADING
10. Phone will reboot, and when the omnia logo comes up again, press START DOWNLOADING one more time
11. Bingo!!!!

Hope that helps someone :D

Jon



Hi

I did the steps mentioned by you but when I click DETECT as per step 8, it displays waiting for device but it fails to find my omnia.

Just to make sure that it is failing to detect, I switched off mobile, connected to PC using USB and then switched on but still it is showing nothing and start downloading is disabled.

Edited by micrographics, 08 November 2009 - 04:47 PM.

  • 0

#13
nmayer79

nmayer79

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Location:nky
  • Devices:Incredible

Hi

I did the steps mentioned by you but when I click DETECT as per step 8, it displays waiting for device but it fails to find my omnia.

Just to make sure that it is failing to detect, I switched off mobile, connected to PC using USB and then switched on but still it is showing nothing and start downloading is disabled.

i also have win 7 64 bit and it wont load drivers for activesync to work, only connection i get is as a usb mass storage device????

  • 0
Don't be too proud of this technological terror you've constructed

#14
lanecabg

lanecabg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:nokia 7710
IS NOT WORKING AT ALLLLL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I`ve restarted the shitty Omnia about 100 times and the result was .....NOTHING , only waste of time and energy!
I`don`t understand every time i do step by step and ........NOT Working!

I am with Win 7 64bit

  • 0

#15
nig3d

nig3d

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 69 posts
  • Devices:i900
As already suggested, if you have a copy of window XP, download and install:

wmware player http://www.vmware.com/products/player/ or
virtual box http://www.virtualbo.../wiki/Downloads

install them, then it's quite straightforward and safe to create a clean virtual machine where you are going to install windows XP.
You can think that it's probably too much to do just to flash the omnia, but beside that I'm not sure if it will work during an emulation, you can give a try, also because it could be handy to have a XP machine always available (much better than to use the compatible mode of vista or 7)

  • 0

#16
Catani

Catani

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Location:Rimini
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia, iPhone, T707
  • Twitter:@Catani84

i also have win 7 64 bit and it wont load drivers for activesync to work, only connection i get is as a usb mass storage device????


LOL...have you even bothered to look into the Omnia's usb connection to see if you have activesync activated? From what you're telling us it seems that you have mass storage device selected instead of activesync.....Therefore it is impossible for WMDC to work. Cheers :)

Edited by Catani, 28 January 2010 - 01:32 PM.

  • 0

#17
nmayer79

nmayer79

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Location:nky
  • Devices:Incredible

LOL...have you even bothered to look into the Omnia's usb connection to see if you have activesync activated? From what you're telling us it seems that you have mass storage device selected instead of activesync.....Therefore it is impossible for WMDC to work. Cheers B)

it is set to activesync :) windows mobile adapter is where the install keeps running into error.

  • 0
Don't be too proud of this technological terror you've constructed

#18
lunayla

lunayla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:omnia

Let me correct you bald guy :) Win 7 does have a XP VM, but it's not pre installed, and it doesn't support auto reconnection of USB devices, making the update procedure painful.

I flash within the Win 7 x64 environment....
1. Download the ROM of your choice
2. Download i900_EXEcutor.exe
3. Use it to extract the contents of your chosen ROM
4. Download Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4
5. Run it and deselect "Start downloading immediately
6. Select the GRANDPRIX LV image profile at the top
7. Click Loader/PDA/CSC one at a time, pointing them at the files your extracted (note that the CSC isn't always present)
8. Turn phone off/plug into PC/turn on and press DETECT in Grandprix
9. When it comes up as found, press START DOWNLOADING
10. Phone will reboot, and when the omnia logo comes up again, press START DOWNLOADING one more time
11. Bingo!!!!

Hope that helps someone B)

Jon


Nice tutor Jon, I've tried this, and... (as you said) BINGO, I can flash my Omnia using Windows 7.
Thanks Jon :D

  • 0

#19
Phirebird

Phirebird

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:i900

IS NOT WORKING AT ALLLLL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I`ve restarted the shitty Omnia about 100 times and the result was .....NOTHING , only waste of time and energy!
I`don`t understand every time i do step by step and ........NOT Working!

I am with Win 7 64bit

Run USDL as admin.

  • 0

#20
menghuizhi

menghuizhi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Devices:HTC One X
  • Twitter:@ladyhaly

Let me correct you bald guy :lol: Win 7 does have a XP VM, but it's not pre installed, and it doesn't support auto reconnection of USB devices, making the update procedure painful.

I flash within the Win 7 x64 environment....
1. Download the ROM of your choice
2. Download i900_EXEcutor.exe
3. Use it to extract the contents of your chosen ROM
4. Download Grand Prix VISTA 1.6.4
5. Run it and deselect "Start downloading immediately
6. Select the GRANDPRIX LV image profile at the top
7. Click Loader/PDA/CSC one at a time, pointing them at the files your extracted (note that the CSC isn't always present)
8. Turn phone off/plug into PC/turn on and press DETECT in Grandprix
9. When it comes up as found, press START DOWNLOADING
10. Phone will reboot, and when the omnia logo comes up again, press START DOWNLOADING one more time
11. Bingo!!!!

Hope that helps someone :)

Jon


Well said. I did the same thing. I just didn't want to bother downloading so many things for so long and installing them on my new laptop. I've been avoiding anything that occupies more than 1 GB that I didn't need on this new baby of mine. Did the same procedure you mentioned and voila! I have to admit that I remember going on another thread that explained the procedure with more detail--- something noob-friendly, which is good because I've been trying to understand how flashing works and people giving off so many links that just goes off back and forth have left me confused. And that's something since I don't really object to reading as I'm a bookworm but the whole thing with people saying something without explaining and if asked just go forth giving links to more people saying stuff you can't understand--- it does get annoying.

So yeah. Thumbs up.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users