Jump to content


Photo

Custom taskbar icons

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
David Strange

David Strange

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:London, UK.
  • Interests:Wine and food.
  • Devices:Xperia X1, Toshiba TG01
  • Twitter:@elitistreview
Hi there,

OK, I'm tempted. Really, really tempted. That 1GHz processor and a 4.1" WVGA OLED screen could easily pull me away from my beloved Xperia X1. But first, a question. Has anyone tried to install custom taskbar icons such as this set on their TG01. Let us be honest, the standard taskbar icons are terribly poor.

Oh I'm tempted.

David.

  • 0

#2
SinSilla

SinSilla

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:LG Optimus 3D
For sure, i´ve got the black metal taskbar running. Looking gorgeous ^^

Posted Image

  • 0

#3
The Real Mc Coy

The Real Mc Coy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01
How do you get this interface on your TG01 ?????

  • 0

#4
SinSilla

SinSilla

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:LG Optimus 3D
Hey Mc Coy, it´s the SPB Mobile Shell. Try it out and you´ll love it!

  • 0

#5
The Real Mc Coy

The Real Mc Coy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01
I know quite well SPB Mobile Shell as I use WinMobile PDA Phones for a few years ;)

I will also try Home2 and some other shells to choose the best as the Toshiba or the Orange shells are just... rubbish !

BTW : I tried the colored version of the taskbar you mentionned but I had to uninstall because it's slowed the TG01 too much !!!

That's strange... there is no problem on a Diamond which runs on a 528MHz PCU...

Edited by The Real Mc Coy, 19 July 2009 - 10:57 AM.

  • 0

#6
SinSilla

SinSilla

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:LG Optimus 3D
And i have never noticed any slowdowns on my TG01 with the Taskbar installed, really strange. I´m going to uninstall and see if i notice any difference.

Edited by SinSilla, 19 July 2009 - 12:38 PM.

  • 0

#7
bbmalver

bbmalver

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Devices:D-Streak(00) v2.1, HD2, TG01
  • Twitter:@N/A
Anyone know of a way of replacing the app icons with better choices, as frankly some of them just spoil the whole look of the device screen (most of the SPB3 ones are fine).
A lot of them are just way too low rez (i.e Netfront Browser, Ubook, TCPMP, to name a few). Something to be said for the apple way (NOT a fanboy though :) ), as the squares keep them all of a size!

  • 0

#8
xdalover

xdalover

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01 / XDA Flame

Anyone know of a way of replacing the app icons with better choices, as frankly some of them just spoil the whole look of the device screen (most of the SPB3 ones are fine).
A lot of them are just way too low rez (i.e Netfront Browser, Ubook, TCPMP, to name a few). Something to be said for the apple way (NOT a fanboy though :) ), as the squares keep them all of a size!


I'm sure that there is a way to make (photoshop for instance) your own icons. Let me search a bit...

  • 0

#9
bbmalver

bbmalver

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Devices:D-Streak(00) v2.1, HD2, TG01
  • Twitter:@N/A

I'm sure that there is a way to make (photoshop for instance) your own icons. Let me search a bit...



Thanks! Already checking on my own, but am wading thru a whole load on the XDA site!

  • 0

#10
leeston2379

leeston2379

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Devices:TG01

Thanks! Already checking on my own, but am wading thru a whole load on the XDA site!


Get resource hacker and wince cab manager, use cab manager to extract .dll files from a tsowen cab. Now use resource hacker to extract the images you want to change, change them then use resource hacker to put them back in the .dll then cab manager to put them back in the cab.
I've had a quick mess around, it seems easy enough but a little long winded as things like battery icons have 50-100 seperate images.

Trial version of cab manager here


EDIT: sorry thought you were talking about taskbar images. Though res hacker can be used for program icon mods to i think

Attached Files


Edited by leeston2379, 05 August 2009 - 08:47 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users