Jump to content


Photo

TG01 intermittently shuts down .

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1
katopunk

katopunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
Hi all,

I'm having this problem, I'm not sure whether it's the programs that I installed or it's the phone itself. At times, the phone will turn off by itself. There isn't no green light blinking. I have to reset the phone.

Now that I've hard reset my phone, I am trying to diagnose one by one which is the program that caused this problem.

Regards.

Edited by katopunk, 06 August 2009 - 08:02 PM.

  • 0

#2
automoveis

automoveis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II/TG01
Hi,

I have a same problem. :)

  • 0

#3
xdalover

xdalover

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01 / XDA Flame

Hi all,

I'm having this problem, I'm not sure whether it's the programs that I installed or it's the phone itself. At times, the phone will turn off by itself. There isn't no green light blinking. I have to reset the phone.

Now that I've hard reset my phone, I am trying to diagnose one by one which is the program that caused this problem.

Regards.


As usual: Full Backup (Sprite Backup highly recommended) , Hard reset, and test with a fresh device....If all is OK (as usual as well) yo have an APP having problems..... Reinstall all your programs step by step ...and good luck!!

Edited by xdalover, 06 August 2009 - 08:06 PM.

  • 0

#4
clmnw

clmnw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD2, Toshiba TG01
I am having random shutdowns (sometimes reboots, sometimes stays shut down) as well... since I have lots of apps installed already, can't figure out the cause, but can as well be the TG01/Snapdragon/Wm6.1.

  • 0

#5
xdalover

xdalover

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01 / XDA Flame

I am having random shutdowns (sometimes reboots, sometimes stays shut down) as well... since I have lots of apps installed already, can't figure out the cause, but can as well be the TG01/Snapdragon/Wm6.1.


I have had your same problem: TG01 staying shut down: The only solution: Reinstall all my apps after a hard reset, testing after each new app installed that all was OK.... and now it works PERFECT (the second think that I've done is to forbid myself the use of power tools as SKTOOLS or similar. They are very powerful but at the same time very dangereusers..TG01 don't need to be "Optimized" at all!

Good Luck

  • 0

#6
Lyrus

Lyrus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01
Hi all,

First post in this forum to say that I have the same problem. Till yesterday. Thinking what I installed few hours ago here is a list of them. May be a comparison with your istallations could be a big help finding the guilty software:

MortScript
NET CF 3.5
HiCalc v2.7
SRS WOW HD

The last one comes from this post: http://www.modaco.co...o...t&p=1050068

Would be nice to get the solution (or at least an idea) before the hard reset.
If none of this applications match yours I'll give more names from the days before.


Regards.

  • 0

#7
Lyrus

Lyrus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01
Sorry, the link doesn't work. Cant understand why.

It's post #20 in this page:

http://www.modaco.co...wow-hd-on-tg01/

  • 0

#8
SinSilla

SinSilla

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:LG Optimus 3D
There are quite a lot of people who had those problems after installing the SRS Wow HD Application, but the latest build for the TG01 was supposed to not cause these problems anymore.
But I still had those problems, and after my latest hard reset without reinstalling the app i´m not having those anymore. After a month with almost no problems at all (spontaneous shutdowns)my problems began after installing the manila interface and the srs wow application. So most probably it is one of those which causes the problem.

  • 0

#9
xdalover

xdalover

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01 / XDA Flame

There are quite a lot of people who had those problems after installing the SRS Wow HD Application, but the latest build for the TG01 was supposed to not cause these problems anymore.
But I still had those problems, and after my latest hard reset without reinstalling the app i´m not having those anymore......


WARNING! WARNING! Confirmed: SRS WOW HD 121 produces the problem that the device doesn't wake up when start button is pressed (that is like the SB or Sleeping Beauty defect known in same devices as XDA Flame...)

The good news are that uninstalling the SRS WOW, the TG01 works again!! Be carefull.

Can someone fix it? SRS WOW HD is a must for music lovers...

  • 0

#10
justj

justj

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Devices:toshiba tg01
  • Twitter:@no
mine used to shut down a lot and not able to restart (have to take the battery out and put it back on for the power button to work). I think it is more likely software problems. I find that if I have AEP Button installed my phone runs into trouble a lot-shutting downn slowing down etc.. The other software I have problem using are GoNews Touch, PocketMusic, SPB Shell 3.
After unistalling all those software my tg01 is alomst normal now (well, 97% most likely). I find that if I press power button for more than 0.5 second (not long enough to power down the phone yet) my phone will go deep into sleepmode and won't wake up again, have to using the battery trick to get it working again. Other than that, all seems fine.

P.S. I have WOW HD 1.5.1 install , and it cause me no problem at all.

list of software installed:
GPS Utilities
GPS Tuner 5.4
GPSGate 2.6
Lexigoo
Lingvosoft Frehch Phrase / Cantonese Phrase Book 2007
Pocket Brush
SKTools
SPB Backup
SPB News
TomTom Navigator
MS Voice Command
Wunderadio
Opera
YouTube
SRS WOW 3d 1.5.1
NFS Undercover
Tetris Pop
Tiger Woods 09

  • 0

#11
i900french-addict

i900french-addict

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i900
I also had SRS WOW HD installed and was experiencing this shutdown problem

I made a hard reset and did not install this one ;-)

  • 0

#12
bbmalver

bbmalver

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Devices:D-Streak(00) v2.1, HD2, TG01
  • Twitter:@N/A
Dont have SRS WoW installed, so no play 'dead' issues. However i have noticed that normal operation of the power tab: sleep button can be affected by certain apps. In my case, i can normally press the power button briefly (.5 secs) to switch on or off, however with S2U2 installed, you can press the p-tab to switch off, but to switch on it usually takes a hold of 2secs (or two quick taps which sometimes doesn't work).
So what i usually do is to press the p-tab for the usual 0.5 secs tap then press the camera tab for the same. Presto switch on as normal!

  • 0

#13
SinSilla

SinSilla

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:LG Optimus 3D

mine used to shut down a lot and not able to restart (have to take the battery out and put it back on for the power button to work). I think it is more likely software problems. I find that if I have AEP Button installed my phone runs into trouble a lot-shutting downn slowing down etc.. The other software I have problem using are GoNews Touch, PocketMusic, SPB Shell 3.
After unistalling all those software my tg01 is alomst normal now (well, 97% most likely). I find that if I press power button for more than 0.5 second (not long enough to power down the phone yet) my phone will go deep into sleepmode and won't wake up again, have to using the battery trick to get it working again. Other than that, all seems fine.

P.S. I have WOW HD 1.5.1 install , and it cause me no problem at all.

list of software installed:
GPS Utilities
GPS Tuner 5.4
GPSGate 2.6
Lexigoo
Lingvosoft Frehch Phrase / Cantonese Phrase Book 2007
Pocket Brush
SKTools
SPB Backup
SPB News
TomTom Navigator
MS Voice Command
Wunderadio
Opera
YouTube
SRS WOW 3d 1.5.1
NFS Undercover
Tetris Pop
Tiger Woods 09


Hm?  :)


Even the developer/composer of the newest cab has problems with his device not waking up from sleep mode after the installation of SRS WOW HD.

What is wrong with SPB MS3 on your TG01 for example? Mine is running perfect without a single error message/bug/restart whatsoever.

 

  • 0

#14
The Real Mc Coy

The Real Mc Coy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 158 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01
Leto, a user on a French TG01 dedicated forum, is working on this issue...

So far a V3 version is available and *seems* to work ok (I'm gonna test now).

  • 0

#15
justj

justj

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Devices:toshiba tg01
  • Twitter:@no

Hm? :)


Even the developer/composer of the newest cab has problems with his device not waking up from sleep mode after the installation of SRS WOW HD.

What is wrong with SPB MS3 on your TG01 for example? Mine is running perfect without a single error message/bug/restart whatsoever.


SPB Mobile Shell 3 doesn't really cause me any problem on it's on, When I had problem with it, it was when I also have AEP Button installed. So, can't really blame SPB MS3.
When I had problem with it, it shuts Mobile Shell UI off and I got a blank today page.
As for SRS WOW HD not working on other devices, probablly it's different version that you guys are using??

Edit : SHOCKING DISCOVERY-- Net framwork 3.5 cause my device to shut down. I have just install it and upon restart my phone turn itself off within 1 min. I test it several times and without fail my phone either turned itself off or was unable to wake up. After uninstall the NF3.5 everything is fine again.
one more app to add to the tg01 unfriendly list - MS Bing

Edited by justj, 08 August 2009 - 11:30 AM.

  • 0

#16
bbmalver

bbmalver

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Devices:D-Streak(00) v2.1, HD2, TG01
  • Twitter:@N/A

Edit : SHOCKING DISCOVERY-- Net framwork 3.5 cause my device to shut down. I have just install it and upon restart my phone turn itself off within 1 min. I test it several times and without fail my phone either turned itself off or was unable to wake up. After uninstall the NF3.5 everything is fine again.
one more app to add to the tg01 unfriendly list - MS Bing



I've got NF3.5, but don't have any issues!

  • 0

#17
xdalover

xdalover

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
  • Devices:Toshiba TG01 / XDA Flame

I've got NF3.5, but don't have any issues!


I also have NF3.5 installed, without problems (directly downloaded from Microsoft)

  • 0

#18
SinSilla

SinSilla

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:LG Optimus 3D
Same here, no problems at all.

Did you install it on your stock TG01 or do you still have the SRS Wow App installed??

  • 0

#19
leeston2379

leeston2379

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 85 posts
  • Devices:TG01
I had a serious gwes.exe related crash after installing srs wow (V1 TG01 i think) uninstalled and problems are gone. Device just plan refused to boot properly, after many soft resets i had enough functionality to unistall. Though i do have manilla to.

Edited by leeston2379, 09 August 2009 - 08:31 AM.

  • 0

#20
justj

justj

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Devices:toshiba tg01
  • Twitter:@no

Same here, no problems at all.

Did you install it on your stock TG01 or do you still have the SRS Wow App installed??



Of course I am still keeping the SRS WOW, there is no way I can live without that bady.
Why MSNF3.5 causing me the problem? I have no idea, maybe it's because it conflict with my other apps. I have since installed more apps into my device and uninstall all the games and so far so good.
I also find something strange that I can only install apps into ROM, when I try to install into SD card the installation always fail.
apps added
MS Bing (really handy program for finding places, I had problem with this app when I also had Netframwork3.5 installed, but now it works fine)
MS Voice Command (again very handy)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users