Jump to content


Photo

06/Jan - Installing the patched recovery image on your device

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
156 replies to this topic

#81
deadphill

deadphill

    Come on you Horns!

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 592 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wheathampstead
  • Interests:Football, Gadgets in general, Open to Android, iOS and even Windows Phone these days!
  • Devices:iPhone 4s32GB + Nexus 7 (2013)
  • Twitter:@deadphill

HowTo install from a generic Rom (I did this on a Mac)


- Now go to your Progams and open the installed „flashrec“
- Type into the textbox "/sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img"
- Press „Flash it“

- After this succeeds, turn off your Phone
- Turn on your Phone and press right away the „Home“ button and hold it, till you are in the „Andorid system recovery“ Mode.

-


My problem with this is when I try to do this I just get failed. Nothing else just that. I have the latest flashrec installed.

Even when I click backup I cant do this. I get backup failed.

Oh and as a tip, to enter the details you have to click on the hidden button which can be found by pressing the blank area to the right of the backup box. You might not be able to flash but you will be able to get a bit further in the process!

Cheers

Phill

  • 0

Windows Mobile Silver Specialist 2011. Because I cant find the fricking gold version to do anywhere!!!


#82
Karaviro

Karaviro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@Karaviro

My problem with this is when I try to do this I just get failed. Nothing else just that. I have the latest flashrec installed.

Even when I click backup I cant do this. I get backup failed.

Oh and as a tip, to enter the details you have to click on the hidden button which can be found by pressing the blank area to the right of the backup box. You might not be able to flash but you will be able to get a bit further in the process!

Cheers

Phill



You're right, now, out of my MoDaCo 3.1 the flashing with "Recovery Flasher" doesn't work eighter.

Did you try the method from theunlockr.com?
It worked for me, now also out of MoDaCo 3.1

here:
=> If you get message "Flash FAILED: Could not run command" try this:
- Download from market "Better Terminal Emulator" and install it
- Start the app "Better Terminal ..."
- Touch the screen, keyboard should pop up, write
su
press enter
- wait a sec. then a message could appear, hit "allow allways"
- write
flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img
press enter
- if a new # appears on a new line, it succeeded

Which Rom are you using
i am a total Noob, im just googeling
would be nice if someone who understand this stuff, give a comment?!

Edited by Karaviro, 05 February 2010 - 09:15 PM.

  • 0

#83
bowdowntozoltan

bowdowntozoltan

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Devices:Nokia 7380
so this is the guide to rooting right? Theres so many guides out there and most of them say rooting in the title, but this sounds exactly like it.

  • 0

#84
Karaviro

Karaviro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@Karaviro

so this is the guide to rooting right? Theres so many guides out there and most of them say rooting in the title, but this sounds exactly like it.


Bowdowntozoltan i am a total noob, and i asked my self why there isn't any step by step manual for someone that comes new
cause

The MoDaCo Rom Thread leads you to this Thread, and the HowTo from this thread doesn't work anymore
The information how you get your hero flashed, is spread over all the posts and really disturbing for a newcomer

and now we don't get any answers if there is something wrong and what could be done better - and deadphill doesn't give feedback if it succeeded now

With this HowTo i wrote, i got my HTC Hero flashed with MoDaCo, and my Smartphone wasn't "rooted".

Edited by Karaviro, 13 February 2010 - 07:07 PM.

  • 0

#85
sinnadyr

sinnadyr

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

so this is the guide to rooting right? Theres so many guides out there and most of them say rooting in the title, but this sounds exactly like it.

Well, there are many ways to root your phone, so no specific answers is correct.

I used flashrec myself the first time, it worked then but not anymore.
What you need to do is follow the fastboot guide when the flashrec-method dont work.

download the fastboot-tool, then boot ur hero while holding the back-button and there were some commands (written on ur comp) like

fastboot flash_recovery <recovery_image.img>

e.g "fastboot flash_recovery /sdcard/Amon_RA_recoveryv.1.5.3.img"
or something. Read around a little.

But only doing this doesnt root your phone, you'd have to have a rooted ROM, like MCR. The best way to check if your ROM is rooted is to connect the phone with a USB-cable, download the ADB (Android Debug Bridge) tool, run ADB as described on most download pages.
Be sure to apply the debug mode under application or something on ur HERO's settings.

like
"adb devices" <- list devices connected.
"adb shell" <- Enters the shell on ur phone
"su" <- if just "#" appears, it's rooted, if not, it will replay that you dont have permission to SU (super user).

all MCR comes with a "superuser permissions"-app, if you got that, ur phone is rooted !

EDIT: I am in a bit of a hurry, so sorry for unspecific guides. Some of the commands might be wrong, but they look similiar to what I have written

Edited by sinnadyr, 19 February 2010 - 01:36 PM.

  • 0

#86
sinnadyr

sinnadyr

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Thanks!
But what is this: ./install-recovery-gsm-linux.sh and what does it actually do?

  • 0

#87
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

Thanks!
But what is this: ./install-recovery-gsm-linux.sh and what does it actually do?

pretty much what it says, it installs the recovery image from a linux computer...

  • 0

#88
sinnadyr

sinnadyr

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

pretty much what it says, it installs the recovery image from a linux computer...

what recovery image?

  • 0

#89
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

what recovery image?

dude, have you looked at the title of the thread?

@all: i think all you need to do is "adb push recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.3.1.img /data/recovery.img" and restart your phone, as the service which flashes it at every boot is not disabled in all init.rc's i have seen so far. or am i wrong here? gonna test it later...

  • 0

#90
Dr. dre

Dr. dre

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Nexus 7

@all: i think all you need to do is "adb push recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.3.1.img /data/recovery.img"


OR

All you guys can also use

'adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.3.1.img'

This works for me everytime

  • 0

#91
giorgit

giorgit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
adb-windows shell reboot bootloader
first command is OK.
in second i got this one... why?
c:\sdk\tools\hero>fastboot-windows boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img
downloading 'boot.img'... FAILED (remote: not allow)


(Phone HTC Hero T-mobile. Build Number 2.73.110.26 CL#69351)

  • 0

#92
Dr. dre

Dr. dre

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Nexus 7
adb push recovery-RA-Hero-v1.5.3.1.img /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.3.1.img

adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.3.1.img

Just use these 2 commands and you have the custom recovery image.

  • 0

#93
giorgit

giorgit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

adb push recovery-RA-Hero-v1.5.3.1.img /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.3.1.img

adb shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.3.1.img

Just use these 2 commands and you have the custom recovery image.

c:\sdk\tools\hero>adb-windows shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-her
o-v1.5.3.1.img
error writing recovery: Permission denied

Edited by giorgit, 01 March 2010 - 09:46 AM.

  • 0

#94
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

c:\sdk\tools\hero>adb-windows shell flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery-RA-her
o-v1.5.3.1.img
error writing recovery: Permission denied

you need to create a goldcard and downgrade your phone first.

  • 0

#95
giorgit

giorgit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

you need to create a goldcard and downgrade your phone first.

Downgrade to which version? as i know 2.73.110.26 is a rootable... and i have installed it on my Hero.
Also what does goldcard mean? how can i do it?
(i have poroblems to flash recovery imige even with "flashrec" app. )

Edited by giorgit, 01 March 2010 - 04:28 PM.

  • 0

#96
descenpet

descenpet

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One
you need to downgrade it to 2.73.405.5, flashrec only works on that version.
you will need to create a goldcard to downgrade. guide here http://theunlockr.co...-can-be-rooted/

  • 0

#97
Karaviro

Karaviro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@Karaviro

Downgrade to which version? as i know 2.73.110.26 is a rootable... and i have installed it on my Hero.
Also what does goldcard mean? how can i do it?
(i have poroblems to flash recovery imige even with "flashrec" app. )


Before you do the goldcard method, did you try to do it my way, like described in Post #80 in this Thread?

I updated regular form HTC Generic 1.7XXXX with the official update from htc.com to the ROM-Version:2.73.405.5
then the Fastboot Method described at the top of this thread didn't work anymore

but the Way described in Post Post #80 did work!

  • 0

#98
Dr. dre

Dr. dre

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Nexus 7

Before you do the goldcard method, did you try to do it my way, like described in Post #80 in this Thread?

I updated regular form HTC Generic 1.7XXXX with the official update from htc.com to the ROM-Version:2.73.405.5
then the Fastboot Method described at the top of this thread didn't work anymore

but the Way described in Post Post #80 did work!


This way it works but only if you have Superuser permission on your phone, and this person doesn't has superuser permission on his phone as it the T-mobile Stock ROM. The only way is the Goldcard Method.

  • 0

#99
Karaviro

Karaviro

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@Karaviro

This way it works but only if you have Superuser permission on your phone, and this person doesn't has superuser permission on his phone as it the T-mobile Stock ROM. The only way is the Goldcard Method.


thanks, didn't know that
now some things are clearer for me

so t-mobile "hero" users can't do the upgrade to "2.73.405.5" from htc.com?

have a nice day

Edited by Karaviro, 02 March 2010 - 12:40 PM.

  • 0

#100
Dr. dre

Dr. dre

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:HTC Sensation XE, Nexus 7
[quote name='Karaviro' date='Mar 2 2010, 18:04' post='1205247']
so t-mobile "hero" users can't do the upgrade to "2.73.405.5" from htc.com?
[quote]

No they can only install the T-Mobile RUU update.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users