Jump to content


Photo

Debian Lenny now running on Hero!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#41
danmalone72

danmalone72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

ah man, and i forgot my hero at home today :) sucks big time.


Haha unlucky buddy! When you get it get to work weve got a frekin desktop enviroment lets try get flash 10 working?!

  • 0

#42
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

Haha unlucky buddy! When you get it get to work weve got a frekin desktop enviroment lets try get flash 10 working?!

sure we can try, but flash and linux on a low powered device, via vnc... i don't know, but i don't see that happen tbh...

  • 0

#43
danmalone72

danmalone72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

sure we can try, but flash and linux on a low powered device, via vnc... i don't know, but i don't see that happen tbh...

I can see it running i can see it just being disgustingly unusable :) but hey if we do all the groundwork maybe someone smart will make it work i read a thread on xda about a guy who has debian as his main operating system on his phone like it boots to it !! but hes a foreigner and its horrible to try read :D

  • 0

#44
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

I can see it running i can see it just being disgustingly unusable :) but hey if we do all the groundwork maybe someone smart will make it work i read a thread on xda about a guy who has debian as his main operating system on his phone like it boots to it !! but hes a foreigner and its horrible to try read :D

do you happen to have a link?

  • 0

#45
danmalone72

danmalone72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

do you happen to have a link?


http://forum.xda-dev...d...4419&page=7
I think its fuktheregister i didnt really re read it haha just give it a look , just realized i installed debian wrong and im trying to fix it ! grrr its failing on the first line it says it cant find ./fsrw ?? did you have the problem... like even when it says that i can still run debian and lxde but i think the underlying file systems are empty due to the faulty instalation!

  • 0

#46
danmalone72

danmalone72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
grrr its failing on the first line it says it cant find ./fsrw ?? did you have the problem... like even when it says that i can still run debian and lxde but i think the underlying file systems are empty due to the faulty instalation!

Anyone help please??

  • 0

#47
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade
try to do the process from the beginning. if it is missing fsrw you either forgot to change the directory or did not copy all the files from the archive to the debian directory on your sdcard, i think.

you download the file from post #4 in this thread. extract it to your pc. replace the contents of installer.sh with the quoted text in post #4 (use notepad++ or something that is able to handle linux style linebreaks if you are on windows). replace the bootdeb file with the one from post #14. then copy all that to the root of your sdcard, in folder called debian. then open connectbot on your phone, start local shell, enter following commands:

su -
cd /sdcard/debian
sh installer.sh
bootdeb

then you are in debian environment, congratulations :) . because it is your first start you need to execute

/scripts/onetime.sh

after that type exit, and do that everytime you want to "shut down" debian.
from now on, if you want to start it, open local shell in connectbot and type:

su -
bootdeb

you can automate that in connectbot by passing these commands in the post-login automation, long click the host entry.

Edited by kendon, 11 November 2009 - 11:27 PM.

  • 0

#48
danmalone72

danmalone72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
no luck after sh installer.sh i get no such file cannot open ./fsrw WHYYYY!?
follow ur instructions to the letter..

  • 0

#49
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

no luck after sh installer.sh i get no such file cannot open ./fsrw WHYYYY!?
follow ur instructions to the letter..

can you give us the output of "adb shell ls -al /sdcard/debian/", just usb-cable plugged in and nothing else done before?

Edited by kendon, 12 November 2009 - 11:34 AM.

  • 0

#50
danmalone72

danmalone72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
C:\Documents and Settings\Dan>adb shell ls -al /sdcard/debian/
drwxrwxrwx 2 1000 1000 4096 Nov 12 00:43 ←[1;34m.←[0m
drwxrwxrwx 18 1000 1000 4096 Jan 1 1970 ←[1;34m..←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 2692 Nov 10 19:56 ←[1;32mbootdeb←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 750000000 Jan 8 2009 ←[1;32mdebian.img←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 102 Jan 9 2009 ←[1;32mfsrw←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 866 Mar 13 2009 ←[1;32mmountonly←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 420 Jan 9 2009 ←[1;32munionfs←[0m

  • 0

#51
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

C:\Documents and Settings\Dan>adb shell ls -al /sdcard/debian/
drwxrwxrwx 2 1000 1000 4096 Nov 12 00:43 ←[1;34m.←[0m
drwxrwxrwx 18 1000 1000 4096 Jan 1 1970 ←[1;34m..←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 2692 Nov 10 19:56 ←[1;32mbootdeb←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 750000000 Jan 8 2009 ←[1;32mdebian.img←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 102 Jan 9 2009 ←[1;32mfsrw←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 866 Mar 13 2009 ←[1;32mmountonly←[0m
-rwxrwxrwx 1 1000 1000 420 Jan 9 2009 ←[1;32munionfs←[0m

the fsrw file is there and has the right size. i actually just booted into windows to confirm the weird output... :)
but i don't see the installer.sh? this should produce a different error, strange... anyway, if you want to try it again i wrote together the necessary steps and put the files into an archive, see attachment. use gedit for windows if the .txt is all in one line.

edit: i modded the installer.sh to work without the fsrw file, didn't see the point using it when you are root anyway? try it again please.

Attached Files


  • 0

#52
danmalone72

danmalone72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Woo! worked without a flaw thank you very much!!
The lxde thing if you use the image from http://forum.xda-dev...;highlight=lxde lxde is pre-installed i did however encounter an error using that links image upon bootdeb i recieve:

Android directories are mounted under /android/

Type exit to end session
Make sure you do a proper exit for a clean kill of Debian!

rm: cannot remove directory `tmp': Device or resource busy
mkdir: cannot create directory `tmp': File exists

New 'X' desktop is localhost:1

Starting applications specified in /root/.vnc/xstartup
Log file is /root/.vnc/localhost:1.log

localhost:/#

Im not sure about the tmp thing what do you thinks going on there?
Thanks again for the walkthrough was real nice!

  • 0

#53
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

Woo! worked without a flaw thank you very much!!
The lxde thing if you use the image from http://forum.xda-dev...;highlight=lxde lxde is pre-installed i did however encounter an error using that links image upon bootdeb i recieve:

instead of

export USER=rootcd /rm -r -f tmpmkdir tmpcd /vncserver -geometry 480x320
put this into your .bashrc:

export USER=rootrm -rf /tmp/* 2&> /dev/nullvncserver -geometry 480x320
then it won't bother you anymore.

  • 0

#54
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade
lol this sick, i am actually running a full blown ubuntu on my hero... actually it is unusable, but it starts... took me three hours to install, gonna try ubuntu-mid now :) maybe xfce later...

Attached Files


  • 0

#55
sik_gerar

sik_gerar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Location:Madrid, Spain
  • Devices:Hero, i5700
  • Twitter:@sikgerar
@kendon: how did you get a 800x600 screen size? weird isn't it?

  • 0

#56
kwiksand

kwiksand

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

@kendon: how did you get a 800x600 screen size? weird isn't it?


hhaah, nicely played!

  • 0

#57
kendon

kendon

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 923 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, ZTE Blade

@kendon: how did you get a 800x600 screen size? weird isn't it?

no, actually it is pretty easy. started the vncserver with -geometry 800x600 and opened the vncviewer on my laptop. have you ever tried to use gnome with 320x480?

  • 0

#58
encrypt

encrypt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire

lol this sick, i am actually running a full blown ubuntu on my hero... actually it is unusable, but it starts... took me three hours to install, gonna try ubuntu-mid now :) maybe xfce later...


Nice work guys. Thanks all for the info.

kendon, any success running ubuntu-mid? It looks awesome!!!

  • 0

#59
ndep

ndep

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
could someone please upload the debian image to another file sharing site, such as megaupload, rapidshare? It seems to take forever to get a free download slot at FileFactory... :)

  • 0

#60
ndep

ndep

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

could someone please upload the debian image to another file sharing site, such as megaupload, rapidshare? It seems to take forever to get a free download slot at FileFactory... :)

no hassle, my bad...I didn't realize an account is needed to download from FileFactory, and so many annoying ads... rapidshare is really much cleaner

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users