Jump to content


Photo

13/10 1.2 - the MoDaCo Custom ROM is here (rooted with custom Kernel with swap/netfilter + more!)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
69 replies to this topic

#41
livingcode

livingcode

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i7500 Galaxy
Hey!

I really want to see II5 update on this ROM!

When will it be available?

ty for Your good work!

  • 0

#42
kam187

kam187

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts

Hey!

I really want to see II5 update on this ROM!

When will it be available?

ty for Your good work!


I5 seems to have alot of bugs which are really winding me up. I might just downgrade to H7/H8

  • 0
Walkabout - ICS and HoneyComb Compatible! Try it Free
http://android.modac...__hl__walkabout

#43
mrbrdo

mrbrdo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Galaxy i7500
  • Twitter:@mrbrdo
I hope you continue dev. and optimization on this great mod!

  • 0

#44
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Masei, if you cat /proc/filesystems, is unionfs listed there? If not, i'll compile a new kernel with it in.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#45
mrbrdo

mrbrdo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Galaxy i7500
  • Twitter:@mrbrdo
By the way, would it be possible to get Bluetooth OBEX push somehow too? It's possible on some HTC phones with 3rd party apps, but they don't seem to work on galaxy for some reason.
Also, did Samsung release enough source code so that it would be possible to make a Donut ROM at this point? Or we still need more sources...

Thanks

  • 0

#46
dandv

dandv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Samsung Galaxy
  • Twitter:@dandv

Hello Paul,

I attempted to direcly upgrade an IG1 with this ROM, but Radio is still stuck to IG1 although the upgrade goes without error.


No, it doesn't work. I still have IG8.


I can confirm that. Started with an actual virgin Galaxy, running Baseband version I7500JVIG4. After flashing, here is the About screen:

Model number: Galaxy with MCR 1.1
Baseband version: I7500JVIG4
Kernel version: 2.6.27-mck-1.0 root@vmware-intrepid-x64

  • 0

#47
dandv

dandv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Samsung Galaxy
  • Twitter:@dandv

same for me, i am waiting for the I5 version to update. as far as i've heard so far, great work btw!
you can download the original I5 firmware for odin here: http://forum.i7500wo...?...=33&start=0


The firmware download link is broken since the i7500world VPS has down. The firmware was first uploaded at androidforums.

I5 firmware bugs are listed at androidforums as well.

Edited by dandv, 07 October 2009 - 02:35 PM.

  • 0

#48
dandv

dandv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Samsung Galaxy
  • Twitter:@dandv
With H8 and this MoDaCo ROM and nothing else, Google Maps just downloaded from the Market force closes when I search for something.

Does anyone else experience this?

  • 0

#49
dandv

dandv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Samsung Galaxy
  • Twitter:@dandv

With H8 and this MoDaCo ROM and nothing else, Google Maps just downloaded from the Market force closes when I search for something.

Does anyone else experience this?


UPDATE: I've flashed my phone back to just H8, and Google Maps (v3.1.2) now works flawlessly. If anyone else can reproduce this, we might have found an issue with the MoDaCo ROM v1.1.

  • 0

#50
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
II5 based build coming soon!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#51
kam187

kam187

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts

II5 based build coming soon!

P



Paul, did you see this custom rom? http://forum.hdblog....read.php?t=4267

They're using compcache, optionally backed by sd swap.

  • 0
Walkabout - ICS and HoneyComb Compatible! Try it Free
http://android.modac...__hl__walkabout

#52
carthesis

carthesis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:HTC One X (stock O2)
Hmm. I finally got the update applied - and the baseband version is still displaying as H6 (which is what the phone came with) rather than H8.

Gonna try a factory reset, as my phone has also annoyingly started to load a random selection of apps on boot.

Also, I couldn't get ADB working come hell or high-water for pushing the recovery ROM to the phone, so I just copied it across to the SDCard via Windows. That works too :)

EDIT 1:


Nah, the factory reset didn't do beans, except for not only resetting the phone but losing all the in-built settings. Makes me wonder if O2 even bothered developing a CSC for the phone or whether they just pushed the settings out when you boot it and that's that.

For reference, if anyone needs them, the O2UK settings can be found here: Post on O2UK forums with data settings

Edited by carthesis, 09 October 2009 - 07:17 PM.

  • 0

#53
clouny93

clouny93

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

II5 based build coming soon!

P


Yeahhhh!! :) It's a very good news. Thank you very much for your all work. It's very nice!

  • 0

#54
Trass3r

Trass3r

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy
My Bluetooth seems to be screwed after changing to MoDaCo Rom, can't activate it anymore.

  • 0

#55
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Paul, did you see this custom rom? http://forum.hdblog....read.php?t=4267

They're using compcache, optionally backed by sd swap.

Interesting!

Didn't think you could do BFS / Compcache on 2.6.27!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#56
kam187

kam187

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts

Interesting!

Didn't think you could do BFS / Compcache on 2.6.27!

P


Compcache seems to work really well. Compcache managing SD swap has similar problems to straight SD swap, after a while it fills up and everything lags severely. I'm just running compcache now and its pretty fast.

The keyboard on that ROM is amazingly fast. Not sure what they're using exactly.

# free
			  total		 used		 free	   shared	  buffers
  Mem:		95948		86076		 9872			0		  468
 Swap:	   212028		17432	   194596
Total:	   307976	   103508	   204468
 
# cat /proc/swaps
Filename								Type			Size	Used	Priority
/dev/block/ramzswap0					partition	   212028  17432   100
 
# cat /proc/ramzswap
DiskSize:		 212039 kB
MemLimit:		  40960 kB
NumReads:		   3137
NumWrites:		  9305
FailedReads:		   0
FailedWrites:		  0
InvalidIO:			 0
PagesDiscard:		  0
ZeroPages:		   162
GoodCompress:		100 %
NoCompress:			0 %
PagesStored:		6946
PagesUsed:		  1906
OrigDataSize:	  27784 kB
ComprDataSize:	  7540 kB
MemUsedTotal:	   7624 kB
BDevNumReads:		828
BDevNumWrites:	  2083

Edited by kam187, 13 October 2009 - 03:39 AM.

  • 0
Walkabout - ICS and HoneyComb Compatible! Try it Free
http://android.modac...__hl__walkabout

#57
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,175 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Uploaded a new version based on II5 - please note this will be my last custom ROM, as I am sadly parting company with my i7500!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#58
keyra74

keyra74

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts

Uploaded a new version based on II5 - please note this will be my last custom ROM, as I am sadly parting company with my i7500!

P


that's sad
installing 1.2 on my bf's right now

no wipe required
Posted Image
thx again

Edited by keyra74, 13 October 2009 - 04:42 PM.

  • 0

#59
darkstar2k77

darkstar2k77

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:sgh-i320
Paul,

Thank you for Galaxy MCR 1.2 .

Cheers!

  • 0

#60
msiviter

msiviter

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Epsom
All works well apart from data, I did a hard reset but it doesn't start a connection to data when needed. Wifi works fine for data though, any ideas?

Matt

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users