Jump to content


Photo

Samsung Omnia II now available on Orange from mobiles.co.uk

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Posted Image
The Samsung Omnia II is now available on Orange from mobiles.co.uk

Free on a Dolphin 30 24 month contract featuring 500 mins and unlimited texts for £30 a month (with 9 months half price line rental or £40 Auto Cashback or a free Sony DAB readio), the Omnia II looks to represent very good value.

The Omnia II features include...

- Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional (WM6.5 upgrade planned)
- GSM: 850/900/1800/1900 (Quad-Band)
- 3G: 900/1900/2100 (Tri-Band)
- HSDPA (7.2Mbps)
- HSUPA (5.76Mbps)
- 5 mega-pixels (auto-focus) camera with LED flash
- 30fps Video Recording (VGA)
- FM Stereo Radio (RDS)
- DNSe Natural Sound
- 2GB internal memory
- 3.5mm AV connector
- Bluetooth (2.0)
- Wi-Fi (IEEE 802.11g)
- AGPS
- TouchWiz II Interface
- Accelerometer

I'll have a full review online next week, but in the interim, do we have any i8000 users out there who'd care to share their experiences?

If you'd like to order, head on over to the Omnia II product page at mobiles.co.uk! [aff]

A point of note is that Mobiles.co.uk range their handsets in generic versions, so this will be SIM unlocked and free of Orange branding.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
forelli

forelli

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naboo, Galactic Empire
  • Interests:Dark Side of The Force
  • Devices:DHD, HTC One X
  • Twitter:@Darth_Sideous



The Samsung Omnia II is now available on Orange from mobiles.co.uk


...

The Omnia II features include...

- Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional (WM6.5 upgrade planned)


Hey Paul, here in Austria the Omnia II is available with Windows 6.5 out of the box. Do you know why?

  • 0
"Long and hard is the way that out of Hell brings up to the Light"
John Milton in Paradise Lost

#3
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Well i'll check when mine arrives!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#4
ScreamingFalcon

ScreamingFalcon

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sioux Falls, SD, USA
  • Devices:HTC Ozone
Just a heads-up for those of us in the US, Verizon has delayed the release of the Omnia II due to a "flaw" of some kind back to sometime in Late Oct or Late Nov. Sorry!!!

  • 0

#5
forelli

forelli

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 497 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Naboo, Galactic Empire
  • Interests:Dark Side of The Force
  • Devices:DHD, HTC One X
  • Twitter:@Darth_Sideous

Hey Paul, here in Austria the Omnia II is available with Windows 6.5 out of the box. Do you know why?


I confirm that, just received mine and changed the language from german to english, but it has the operator (A1) rom :) ... ugly as #*%&!

  • 0
"Long and hard is the way that out of Hell brings up to the Light"
John Milton in Paradise Lost

#6
finisterre

finisterre

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 167 posts
What is this verb "to range" that all the phone sites seem to using lately?

  • 0

#7
wraggy

wraggy

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus One / Orange SF
Without wanting to upset anyone, having bought an Omnia on Vodafone 12 months ago on an 18 month contract, I will never buy another Samsung phone again. It's been plagued with problems and Vodafone unceremoniously dropped it. It may be the ROM or it may be the phone, but I'm not risking my hard earned cash on another Samsung, now there's little "official" support and no (slight) chance of any upgrade to it...

  • 0

#8
mike-oh

mike-oh

    MMmmm shiny

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,234 posts
  • Location:Leeds
  • Interests:Sky Diving, Go Karting, Travelling
  • Devices:MDA Vario II
Just got my hand on the Omnia 2 from mobiles.co.uk today! It's very slick and the screen is gorgeous. It is preloaded with win mo 6.5.

Unfortunately, i think i've just nuked it by installing TomTom Navigator 6! It didn't like that at all. Gutted, because Tomtom is one of the main reasons i've been keeping with win mo. Any ideas?

Edited by mike-oh, 12 October 2009 - 10:11 PM.

  • 0

#9
Nokki

Nokki

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:HTC Diamond
"I'll have a full review online next week, but in the interim, do we have any i8000 users out there who'd care to share their experiences?"
What about your review. I think it would be very interesting.
Thanks and Regards.

  • 0

#10
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,506 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
Used the other aff link from the main index and ended up ordering it on a voda tariff from £20 include web :)
Unit cost £177 and would have been cheaper on another network. Unfortunately Voda is the only network I can use at work, unless I want to make calls from the carpark :(

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#11
tacchan23

tacchan23

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,289 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i8000 Omnia 2

I'll have a full review online next week, but in the interim, do we have any i8000 users out there who'd care to share their experiences?


Using my Omnia2 for a couple of months now, really happy with it:) and I'm sure when cooked ROMs will be available it will be even better!

EDIT: I made a small video of my Omnia2 with PointSense (and it's still in Beta atm) just to show there is no lag. Sorry for the bed video quality, I have just a cheap webcam to record^^

Edited by tacchan23, 20 October 2009 - 05:37 AM.

  • 0

#12
kiryustas

kiryustas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:ETEN M700
Does anybody know if O2 has plans to sell it with contracts? At least via mobiles.co.uk?  :)

  • 0

#13
Astracat_95

Astracat_95

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Sheffield
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 7
  • Twitter:@AmdPhenomII

Just got my hand on the Omnia 2 from mobiles.co.uk today! It's very slick and the screen is gorgeous. It is preloaded with win mo 6.5.

Unfortunately, i think i've just nuked it by installing TomTom Navigator 6! It didn't like that at all. Gutted, because Tomtom is one of the main reasons i've been keeping with win mo. Any ideas?


I found Sygic Mobile Maps 10 to be working fine on my Omnia II, very happy with it indeed.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users