Jump to content


Photo

Omnia II - Official upgrade to Windows Mobile 6.5!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1
godoyster

godoyster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II - i8000
Hi people!

I recently upgrade my Omnia II to Windows Mobile 6.5 from the Samsung Website.

The upgrade to Windows Mobile 6.5 for Omnia 2 is now available on the official website of Samsung in some countries. You can only upgrade your phone through the website of Samsung in the country that is your OMNIA II came from (obviously, by official ways... you can find many other ways and roms here in Modaco comunity to upgrade to WM 6.5 no matter what country your phone came from). I will explain how I did it from the Singapure website...

How do you discover what country is your Omnia II? Go in "Settings", "Advanced Settings", "System", "Version", "Device". You will see three codes: PDA, CSC and PHONE. Everyone starts with I8000 (which is the code of Omnia 2). In CSC, see if the following 3 characteres (after the code I8000) are XSO, and in PHONE see if the two characteres following are DX. If so, your Omnia II came from Singapore (as well as mine).

You can find codes for the other countries here in the Modaco comunity, but I will post some codes that I find here for help you:

Codes for CSC (the 3 characteres after I8000):

ATO AUSTRIA
AUT SWITZERLAND
CNX ROMANIA
COA ROMANIA
CYO GREECE
DBT GERMANY
EUR GREECE
FOP SPAIN
HAT ROMANIA
IRD SLOVAKIA
ITV ITALY
MOB AUSTRIA
MOT SLOVENIA
MTL BULGARIA
OMX BULGARIA
ORO ROMANIA
PAN HUNGARY
PLS POLAND
PRO NETHERLANDS
PRT POLAND
SEB AUSTRIA
SEK UKRAINE
SER RUSSIA
SIM SLOVENIA
SMO SERBIA
SUN SWITZERLAND
SWC SWITZERLAND
TPH PORTUGAL
TRA CROATIA
VGR GREECE
VIP CROATIA
WIN ITALY
XEB BELGIUM
XEE SWEDEN
XEF FRANCE
XEH HUNGRARY
XEN NETHERLAND
XEO POLAND
XEP PORTUGAL
XEU UK
XEZ HUNGARY
XSO SINGAPORE

Codes for PHONE (the 2 characteres after I8000):
BD Greece
CP Finland
DB Vietnam
DC Thailand
DD India
DT Australia
DX Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam
DZ Malaysia, Singapore
JA South Africa
JC Algeria, Morocco, Nigeria, South Africa, Tunisia
JP Arabic
JR Arabic
JV Algeria, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Morocco, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia,South Africa, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey
MT Switzerland
XA Austria, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Switzerland, United Kingdom
XB Denmark, Norway, Sweden
XC Portugal, Spain
XD Croatia, Czech, Hungary, Slovakia
XE Bulgaria, Estonia, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Russia, Ukraine
XF Bulgaria, Croatia, Romania
XX Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Spain, United Kingdom
ZC China, Hong Kong
ZH Hong Kong
ZT Taiwan

The 3 last characteres in PDA, CSC and PHONE:
* Release years:
D = 2004
E = 2005
F = 2006
G = 2007
H = 2008
I = 2009
* Release months:
A = January
B = February
C = March
D = April
E = May
F = June
G = July
H = August
I = September
J = October
K = November
L = December

So, if your Omnia 2 came from Singapore you can now upgrade to WM 6.5 by the official website of Samsung in Singapure (the site is in English, and the address is samsungmobile.com.sg). You will see a large banner in the homepage saying that the upgrade to WM 6.5 for OMNIA II is now available. Click there and download the software "Samsung PC Studio". Install it on your computer ... the system will ask you what language you want to install the program, then you can choose any language you want ... then after he will ask you what country is your phone, then you have to say that it's from Singapore! After you install just connect your Omnia 2 on the computer, open the program and follow the instructions that it will upgrade to Windows Mobile 6.5 for you.

This official ROM of Windows Mobile 6.5 for Omnia 2 comes with "Asphalt 4" (a car game in high definition from Gameloft, where you control the car by the accelerometer of the phone) and with "Crayon Physics", another super cool game!

best for all!!!!

  • 0

#2
D3ad1y

D3ad1y

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Samsung i8000
My OMNIA II is from Singapore, but is it possible to upgrade to a different country's official release? For example, Canada, US, or Taiwan?

  • 0

#3
godoyster

godoyster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II - i8000

My OMNIA II is from Singapore, but is it possible to upgrade to a different country's official release? For example, Canada, US, or Taiwan?


Well, maybe... when you plug your Omnia II in your PC, you can see 3 different memories: Main Memory (Flash memory), My Storage (Internal memory) and Storage Card (MicroSD).

The Windows Mobile it´s installed in the Flash Memory… the flash memory is locked that you can only install original ROM´s unto it. I think if you look here in Modaco community you will find ways to unlock your flash memory, then you could install any ROM you want.

So, in theory you can upgrade from a different country (official release) if you unlock your flash memory. But I never try it… I don´t know if this is gonna work…

As far as I know, only 2 countries already release official upgrade for Omnia II: Netherlands and Singapure. Both multilanguage.

  • 0

#4
AndrejSlo

AndrejSlo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II
Hey there!
I registered on this forum for help with this but then i figured it out...
i forgot what my CSC country code was but maybe it really doesnt matter.
I just installed Samsung New PC studio 1.4 and selected Malaysia when it asked for country.
Then i connected the phone to the PC and the studio automatically notified me there is an update for my phone.
But here's the thing: the country code (CSC) of the update was XSO (Singapore), which was not what i had, but it worked anyway...

I must add that when i installed the studio for the default country (UK), there was no update, so i guess the PHONE code (DX) is the one that needs to be the same to work, and studio needs to be installed for country corresponding to that code...

this thread definetly helped me, so thank you alot, must go on exploring WM 6.5 now... :D

  • 0

#5
gideon1975

gideon1975

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2
When flashing the phone using NPS, does the phone need to be "shut off" and set at "Active Sync" in the USB Connection settings? I'm using Win Vista. Thanks.

  • 0

#6
monyozt

monyozt

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,136 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:sprint 3VO 3D, iphone 4,9780

When flashing the phone using NPS, does the phone need to be "shut off" and set at "Active Sync" in the USB Connection settings? I'm using Win Vista. Thanks.


no.. just connect your phone to PC. run NPS.. just follow the instructions there :D

  • 0

current device :
__________________
Phone: HTC HD2 | Rom WM: Energy Series 21680 |Oct 07 |Rom Android : mdeejay Froyo Sense v. 2.4.2 | Mdeejay eVo Sense v. 1.6 Revolution|Radio : 2_14_50_04

Phone:Blackberry onyx | OS : hybrid OS by Willyboy™ v7.3

#7
vaskko

vaskko

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
  • Twitter:@none
Hi Guys

I have followed all steps from the first post and my WinMo now is 6.5.

As my country I have pointed Singapore although I'm from Bulgaria.

But now the language is Nederland, maybe because the phone is got from there.

And I can't change the language to English.

Please Help!

Edited by vaskko, 09 December 2009 - 08:37 AM.

  • 0

#8
mad_a_22

mad_a_22

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:omnia II GT-I8000
hi i have a question...does this upgrade need the internet connection all the time during the process?

  • 0

#9
The_Economist

The_Economist

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II (GT I8000)
  • Twitter:@elpapi86
I can't make the PC Studio identify my Omnia II...

Even though I click on Search Device, it doesn't recognize any USB device. I already restarted my PC and plugged the USB cable to other USB ports... but still PC Studio doesn't recognize my phone.

The windows driver is installed, my phone works fine with ActiveSync and I can also access it from My Computer...

I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate and I installed PC Studio 1.4 running under Compatibility Mode for WinXP (SP2) with English language and Singapore country.

My CSC is XSO IH1 WM6.1 and I unplugged my phone during the setup.

Any guesses??

  • 0

#10
mad_a_22

mad_a_22

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:omnia II GT-I8000

I can't make the PC Studio identify my Omnia II...

Even though I click on Search Device, it doesn't recognize any USB device. I already restarted my PC and plugged the USB cable to other USB ports... but still PC Studio doesn't recognize my phone.

The windows driver is installed, my phone works fine with ActiveSync and I can also access it from My Computer...

I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate and I installed PC Studio 1.4 running under Compatibility Mode for WinXP (SP2) with English language and Singapore country.

My CSC is XSO IH1 WM6.1 and I unplugged my phone during the setup.

Any guesses??


same thing happen to me..theirs no upgrade.

  • 0

#11
Fiza

Fiza

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:MPx200

same thing happen to me..theirs no upgrade.


Try instal it under Compatibility Windows Vista (Service Pack 2)...

But I have another problem with upgrade... NPS download upgrade, but when phone turned off NPS stops working and nothing happened... Has anyone same problem?

  • 0

#12
OmniaIIuseraustralia

OmniaIIuseraustralia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Omnia I8000 Samsung
Dear All my CSC is HBR and PHONE code DX
can anyone please help me re upgrade to WM6.5 for my Samsung Omnia II (I8000) upgrade please pretty please.

  • 0

#13
hoa

hoa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
what version PDA did you upgrade ?

  • 0

#14
OmniaIIuseraustralia

OmniaIIuseraustralia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Omnia I8000 Samsung

what version PDA did you upgrade ?


sorry I bought the phone and it said upgradable to WM 6.5 ..... how do I find out the version of PDA ? thanks

  • 0

#15
Xixon79

Xixon79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Omnia2

sorry I bought the phone and it said upgradable to WM 6.5 ..... how do I find out the version of PDA ? thanks


with VISTA OS and later you should try disabling the "user account control (UAC)" this worked for me!

if not the phone will reboot but the software will not set the phone up in the download mode!

cheers!

  • 0

#16
OmniaIIuseraustralia

OmniaIIuseraustralia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:Omnia I8000 Samsung

with VISTA OS and later you should try disabling the "user account control (UAC)" this worked for me!

if not the phone will reboot but the software will not set the phone up in the download mode!

cheers!



Thanks....how do I do that :) ??

  • 0

#17
dj_bj

dj_bj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
Hi my CSC code is HBR, PDA is HZH, and PPHONE is XX

I cant really understand where the phone come from but i bought it from official carrier "One" in Macedonia, and i cant upgrade to Windows Mobile 6.5

Can some one give more info and a way to do the upgrade???

  • 0

#18
mnwajihi

mnwajihi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nairobi
  • Devices:Samsung OmniaII I8000
PDA: I8000JVIK1
CSC: I8000ARBIKI
PHONE: I8000XXII5

Anyone has any idea where my phone is from, esp the CSC ARB part? Is an official WM6.5 upgrade available?
Bought it from authorised Samsung Distributor in Kenya (East Africa).

Edited by mnwajihi, 26 February 2010 - 07:59 PM.

  • 0
PDA I8000JVIK1
CSC I8000ARBIK1
PHONE I8000XXII5

#19
ozziecan

ozziecan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II
G’day guys,

I am wondering whether any one can help. I have read this posting but for some reason it does not help my situation.

My phone specs are:

PDA: I8000XXIH3
CSC: I8000XSOIH1
Phone: I8000DXIH2

I bought the phone back in July 2009 from Singapore, although I am not from Singapore. I am now trying to upgrade my phone to Winmo 6.5 but it just does not work. I have been trying from months.

Setting up NPS, I have made sure that NPS is set to Singapore. I connect my phone to my PC via USB and then go to ‘update’. I select my phone and then I get an error message stating that my phone is not supported. I have installed, uninstalled and re-installed what seems to be 100 times over the past few months and nothing. Has any one else had this issue and if so, has any one found a way around it?

I even tried setting NPS to Malaysia as I see that it works for some, but still nothing. I know that I can use Secany’s ROM, but I would like to do it officially if I can.

Thanks heaps.

  • 0

#20
godoyster

godoyster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II - i8000

Hi Guys

I have followed all steps from the first post and my WinMo now is 6.5.

As my country I have pointed Singapore although I'm from Bulgaria.

But now the language is Nederland, maybe because the phone is got from there.

And I can't change the language to English.

Please Help!


In Omnia II, all official releases are able to change the language, you just need to find the settings in the phone (off curse, it´s really hard to find this setting in a language that you don´t know). Follow this:

- Start (windows logo)
- Choose settings (that buttom that have a gear as an icon)
- Select the third option (from top)
- Select the last option (from top)
- English is the first in the list.

Hope that this could help. best!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users