Issue migrating SMS Messages from WM to Android

Guest encrypt

Guest encrypt

Hi all, I'm now a proud owner of a HTC Hero! :D Previously I had a HTC Touch Diamond2... before I sold it I did a backup with PIMBackup (WM folks should know it :( ).

And my problem is now.. that I don't have my device anymore and can't do a export with the nice tools that you have in the forum...

Can someone help me? Is there a solution? It should be possible to extract just the sms messages from the .pib file... (I've migrated contacts through Funambol)

Thanks for your help.

Have you selected "Binary (faster)" Option in PIMBackup when you create the backup?

If not the Content was extracted to CSV-like Files. The PIB File is an ZIP-Archive. Change the Extension and take a look at the files.

Guest encrypt

Thanks for your answer. Yes, it is a zip. And inside is a msgs_20091206.pbm file which are the messages. When I open the file with wordpad I can see the messages, but the format is strange.. it's not like CSV... there are strange characters... and I guess I should somehow convert the pbm file to another file which I can then import to Android?

I forgot a second solution. I don't know your skills but it may be possible to run an Virtual Windows Mobile Session on your PC when you are able to get in touch with Visual Studio and the Windows Mobile SDK. Then you have an Full Functional Windows Mobile Emulation on your PC...

Guest encrypt
I forgot a second solution. I don't know your skills but it may be possible to run an Virtual Windows Mobile Session on your PC when you are able to get in touch with Visual Studio and the Windows Mobile SDK. Then you have an Full Functional Windows Mobile Emulation on your PC...

Yeah, I was thinking about this... I'll try to run the emulato and restore the backup and then export it again as CSV.

Guest encrypt

Okay, I now have a .csm file ;) What are the ways to import it?