Jump to content


Photo

O2Compass and O2Flash

* * * * * 11 votes

  • Please log in to reply
500 replies to this topic

#61
Uboy

Uboy

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
Thanks Rapid81, I had trouble completing the calibration and eventually pressed skip, is there any way to go back to the calibration screen?
I haven't tried the compass in my car windscreen mount yet but will it still give a correct reading at a more upright angle? Thinking along these lines it occurred to me that a view of the compass like the ones you get for your dashboard which are like a ball in a fluid which can spin freely in any axis would be cool.
Happy New Year to you too.:)

  • 0
If You Would Like To Smile More....Then Smile More..... :)

#62
Rapid81

Rapid81

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Motorola Defy+

Thanks Rapid81, I had trouble completing the calibration and eventually pressed skip, is there any way to go back to the calibration screen?
I haven't tried the compass in my car windscreen mount yet but will it still give a correct reading at a more upright angle? Thinking along these lines it occurred to me that a view of the compass like the ones you get for your dashboard which are like a ball in a fluid which can spin freely in any axis would be cool.
Happy New Year to you too. :)


Until you not complete the calibration (or after a soft reset) it will appear at start.

The bubble compass is a little bit difficult. ;) But I'm thinking about it.
I think and that's what I experienced, the compass only works correctly when the phone is near or in level position.

Edited by Rapid81, 31 December 2009 - 03:43 PM.

  • 0

#63
Omega Ra

Omega Ra

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 771 posts
  • Location:Edison, NJ, USA
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2 i920
Installed it and all works perfect. I only had to calibrate once...and haven't soft reset yet...so all works wonderfully.

  • 0
Posted Image

#64
dwallersv

dwallersv

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 901 posts
  • Devices:Omnia

Until you not complete the calibration (or after a soft reset) it will appear at start.

The bubble compass is a little bit difficult. :) But I'm thinking about it.
I think and that's what I experienced, the compass only works correctly when the phone is near or in level position.



Uh, yes it does, and this is one of the very cool things about the O2 -- it uses both the fluxgate data and accelerometer 3D orientation data to compensate and make the compass pretty accurate over a wide range of device positions -- it does not need to be perfectly flat for a good reading.

I've done some extensive testing with the O2 and a Garmin eTrex Vista (which also has a fluxgate compass), and there is no question the O2 is compensating for orientation.

The upshot of this is that it makes the O2 an actually useful compass. Put together compass, 3D orientation, GPS, the camera, and a POI/mapping database, and some totally awesome augmented reality stuff can be done. HyongSoft -- the Omniano-no-Piano-Concert guy -- is doing just this, and has been saying he will release this app shortly. I can't wait.

  • 0

#65
Omega Ra

Omega Ra

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 771 posts
  • Location:Edison, NJ, USA
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2 i920
rapid...you have a PM

  • 0
Posted Image

#66
bluhound

bluhound

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 263 posts
  • Location:Where the grass is yellow and the sky is hazy... *cough*
  • Devices:Omnia II-Streak-NK6600-NK8310
Nice, now I managed to get it working. Flashed eboot to IL5 and it magically started working. Not sure how is it related though.
Anyway, great job. You just made the compass app fancier than the first compass app, SSBubbleLevel 2.1 at http://ekezial.spaces.live.com/. :)

  • 0

#67
.:stn:.

.:stn:.

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 177 posts
is there a newer version or a change in 1.1? cos it seems I missed something.

one more isue with b7610[pro] and not working flashlight, I noticed that when I run compass, then turn it off. Without using flashlight. The flashlight activates itself when I'm trying to make a call! Weird [;

  • 0

#68
Rapid81

Rapid81

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Motorola Defy+

is there a newer version or a change in 1.1? cos it seems I missed something.

one more isue with b7610[pro] and not working flashlight, I noticed that when I run compass, then turn it off. Without using flashlight. The flashlight activates itself when I'm trying to make a call! Weird [;


This is a whole new app, programmed in Visual Basic. The 1.1 was programmed in VC++.
You really close the app or just minimize it?

  • 0

#69
dickdick

dickdick

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:I8000
thank you~it is so great~
i'm using WM6.5.3, two questions
1. the light cannot turn on by the program
2. how to draw "8" horizontally or vertically??

THX~finally there is a great compass~

  • 0

#70
Rapid81

Rapid81

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Motorola Defy+

thank you~it is so great~
i'm using WM6.5.3, two questions
1. the light cannot turn on by the program
2. how to draw "8" horizontally or vertically??

THX~finally there is a great compass~


1. Maybe the WM version is the problem. I have simple 6.5 and works fine. What version do you have? I uploaded a wrong version. It was available at 12:30-14:00. Try to download it again.
2. horizontally. :)

Edited by Rapid81, 31 December 2009 - 05:39 PM.

  • 0

#71
mapla

mapla

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Devices:omnia i900, omnia i8000
Nice work, keep it up. :)

For next version, I would like to request if it is possible to work with gps for detecting location where user can add gps location and use the compass to guide them to the location. This will help a lot due to gps software on windows mobile does not link with our built in compass to show actual screen rotation like the google street view in android.

Sample of commercial app release for iphone and android base on compass application http://www.islamicco...s.com/index.php , I just wish they have added windows mobile but I see that your application are quite similar except for the gps to determine location and in this case it will help the muslim to determine direction of prayer based on the gps location and I believe for other uses as well like off road and jungle tracking.

  • 0

#72
Rapid81

Rapid81

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Motorola Defy+

Nice work, keep it up. :)

For next version, I would like to request if it is possible to work with gps for detecting location where user can add gps location and use the compass to guide them to the location. This will help a lot due to gps software on windows mobile does not link with our built in compass to show actual screen rotation like the google street view in android.

Sample of commercial app release for iphone and android base on compass application http://www.islamicco...s.com/index.php , I just wish they have added windows mobile but I see that your application are quite similar except for the gps to determine location and in this case it will help the muslim to determine direction of prayer based on the gps location and I believe for other uses as well like off road and jungle tracking.



I'm thinking about to add gps location writeouts to the app and maybe the thing you mentioned. But first I need to read more about the gps coordinates stuff to make it work well.

  • 0

#73
dickdick

dickdick

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:I8000

1. Maybe the WM version is the problem. I have simple 6.5 and works fine. What version do you have? I uploaded a wrong version. It was available at 12:30-14:00. Try to download it again.
2. horizontally. :)


THX~
i have download a new one and try it later
that means just put the phone on desk and draw "8" ??


I tried the new one, work prefect~ you are so great~

Edited by dickdick, 31 December 2009 - 05:58 PM.

  • 0

#74
Rapid81

Rapid81

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Motorola Defy+

THX~
i have download a new one and try it later
that means just put the phone on desk and draw "8" ??

I tried the new one, work prefect~ you are so great~


Not draw 8, shake the phone in an 8 shape motion.

  • 0

#75
Uboy

Uboy

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
Hi Rapid81....
....How about adding a "ToDo" list somewhere in your first post, just to stop folks from making repeat requests and to let us happy users know what goodies you have in mind for us.:)

  • 0
If You Would Like To Smile More....Then Smile More..... :)

#76
Rapid81

Rapid81

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Motorola Defy+

Hi Rapid81....
....How about adding a "ToDo" list somewhere in your first post, just to stop folks from making repeat requests and to let us happy users know what goodies you have in mind for us. :)


Great idea. ;)

Update:
I did it. See at #1 post.

Edited by Rapid81, 31 December 2009 - 06:42 PM.

  • 0

#77
momyc

momyc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia II I8000
Hi ,

I like the new version. It's working well on my Bell Omnia 2 including the flash also
I have the standard WinMo 6.5 (build 21856)

Thanks for your work.

  • 0

#78
mistersfr

mistersfr

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

This is a whole new app, programmed in Visual Basic. The 1.1 was programmed in VC++.
You really close the app or just minimize it?


hello and a big thank for this app, beautifull and usefull :)

just a little question, i would like to start to develop apps for my phone and i know visual basic, can you give me some link to start programming with VB for a phone ?

best regards

  • 0

#79
jpenman

jpenman

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
the flash light doesnt work for me....verizon omnia 2 i920...do i need to install it on my device? cuz i installed it on my storage.

  • 0

#80
Rapid81

Rapid81

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Motorola Defy+

the flash light doesnt work for me....verizon omnia 2 i920...do i need to install it on my device? cuz i installed it on my storage.


Doesn't matter where you install it. The compass working?
Or maybe you have the exact same problem like dickdick. Try to download it again and reinstall. maybe you downloaded the wrong version what I was uploaded at the first.

Edited by Rapid81, 31 December 2009 - 11:37 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users