Jump to content


Photo

08/Mar - Superboot ERD79 -> GRI40 - rooting the Nexus One

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
300 replies to this topic

#21
DaveKid

DaveKid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:nexus one
  • Twitter:@foo
correction to my last post

i got into bootloader correctly and then get the following when running windows bat file from the command line

sending boot (2066KB)...OKAY
writing boot ... INFOSignature checking...
FAILED (remote: signature verify fail)

  • 0

#22
kkiran

kkiran

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
Worked great but after some weird combinations :) I put up this guide (total noobs guide). Hope someone benefits from it, I spent more than an hour! Great work Paul!
http://ilikemygoogle...-windows-linux/

  • 0

#23
Shuflie

Shuflie

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,294 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast
  • Devices:HTC One X
  • Twitter:@Shuflie

correction to my last post

i got into bootloader correctly and then get the following when running windows bat file from the command line

sending boot (2066KB)...OKAY
writing boot ... INFOSignature checking...
FAILED (remote: signature verify fail)

You need to unlock the bootloader first before flashing

http://android.modac...your-nexus-one/

  • 0
Posted Image

#24
superslinky

superslinky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I need a little help.

I followed the instructions to unlock the bootloader and was successful.
Then I followed the instructions to Root the device.

Ry-Blaisdells-MacBook:1.1-nexusone-superboot rylincoln$ ./install-superboot-mac.sh
sending 'boot' (2066 KB)... OKAY
writing 'boot'... OKAY
Ry-Blaisdells-MacBook:1.1-nexusone-superboot rylincoln$

Looks fine, no?
I then reboot the phone and tried Nexus Torch as a test of an App that required Root access
But SU just times out and must be forced closed after this.

I tried running su from terminal emulator and had the same results.

I tried repeating the steps to root the device and no luck. Any ideas?

-Ry

And I'm an idiot... didn't turn on USB Debugging mode.

Edited by superslinky, 13 January 2010 - 05:00 AM.

  • 0

#25
davidcroda

davidcroda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
The first download link seems to be broken :)

edit:

Using the second download I had the same results as superslinky

I was able to use fastboot to unlock the bootloader

superboot-install-windows.bat says it installed correctly, but neither su nor sudo works after reboot . I am trying the commands using the Terminal Emulator app (not the one by google, that one crashes)

superslinky it appears you figured it out can you furtter explain your response about usb debugging?

Edited by davidcroda, 13 January 2010 - 05:38 AM.

  • 0

#26
yuriymelnik

yuriymelnik

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Paul, whenever i click the superboot link... it redirects me to your homepage!!!! no download :)

  • 0

#27
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Try right-click-save-as?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#28
Noetic

Noetic

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
The first link just keeps redirecting to MoDaCo.com?

  • 0

#29
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
right-click-save-as. :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#30
frcfed

frcfed

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
Right click, save as doesn't work in Firefox. Redirects me to download "download.htm" ...

  • 0

#31
custom374

custom374

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:n1

Right click, save as doesn't work in Firefox. Redirects me to download "download.htm" ...


does the same for me on both Firefox and IE.

  • 0

#32
sstomek

sstomek

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Just rooted my Nexus One and everything seemed fine. The batch file went through ok. After my phone rebooted i had to sign in with my account and all my applications were there. Everything else seems to be working fine, but now I can't enable my Wi-Fi.

When I go to Settings > Wireless & Networks, under Wi-Fi it says "Unable to start Wi-Fi" and clicking the check box doesn't do anything. Has anyone tried rooting the phone with the 2.1-update1?

Has anyone experienced this problem? What would you guys recommend doing? The wireless worked before the root process.

Also (not sure if this is related) but when I click on the Superuser Permission app, nothing comes up.

Thanks,

Tomek

  • 0

#33
ovigt71

ovigt71

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia - Sydney
  • Devices:HTC Flyer

Just rooted my Nexus One and everything seemed fine. The batch file went through ok. After my phone rebooted i had to sign in with my account and all my applications were there. Everything else seems to be working fine, but now I can't enable my Wi-Fi.

When I go to Settings > Wireless & Networks, under Wi-Fi it says "Unable to start Wi-Fi" and clicking the check box doesn't do anything. Has anyone tried rooting the phone with the 2.1-update1?

Has anyone experienced this problem? What would you guys recommend doing? The wireless worked before the root process.

Also (not sure if this is related) but when I click on the Superuser Permission app, nothing comes up.

Thanks,

Tomek


I have the same problem ! I was lucky because I made a nandroid backup and I restored.... is there a bug?

  • 0

#34
FLT

FLT

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One

Just rooted my Nexus One and everything seemed fine. The batch file went through ok. After my phone rebooted i had to sign in with my account and all my applications were there. Everything else seems to be working fine, but now I can't enable my Wi-Fi.

When I go to Settings > Wireless & Networks, under Wi-Fi it says "Unable to start Wi-Fi" and clicking the check box doesn't do anything. Has anyone tried rooting the phone with the 2.1-update1?

Has anyone experienced this problem? What would you guys recommend doing? The wireless worked before the root process.

Also (not sure if this is related) but when I click on the Superuser Permission app, nothing comes up.

Thanks,

Tomek


Why didn't you used the new(er) superboot with HiMem?

http://android.modac...optional-himem/

Maybe that works?

  • 0

#35
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
This superboot is ONLY for ERD79.

I'll be fixing the two different stock posts shortly.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#36
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
First post updated to include both ERD79 and ERE27 superboots.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#37
TomD

TomD

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

First post updated to include both ERD79 and ERE27 superboots.

P


Does the ERE27 superboot have all the necessary bits and pieces for Wifi Tether (netfilter, ...)?

Thx.

  • 0

#38
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
No, I recommend using MCR for that - details.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#39
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Added MD5 hashes.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#40
aegdawson

aegdawson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
  • Location:Bangkok Thailand
  • Interests:Android devices, telecommunication, enterprise architecture, system, development
  • Devices:N1, Nokia N97, Hero,
Great thanks! By the Way the link to one of the insecure vesions is broken "Insecure boot for ERE27 - download "

Kinds regards,

AD

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users