Jump to content


Photo

08/Mar - Superboot ERD79 -> GRI40 - rooting the Nexus One

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
300 replies to this topic

#61
xkonni

xkonni

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:ville, vision, passion, dream
  • Twitter:@xkonni

hi konni, my build is ERE27. but i flashed the ERE36B superboot with himem. so can i just flash it back to ERE27 and my wifi will be good? so sorry to trouble u cuz im a total noob when it comes to android, just got my n1 not long ago.


sounds like that could work :D

could just update all the way to ere36b too... your choice. just don't mix versions like that without knowing exactly what you do.

Edited by xkonni, 18 February 2010 - 07:26 PM.

  • 0

#62
cwhong13

cwhong13

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One, Nexus S
I had unlocked the N1. But when i ran the install superboot, it just simply skipped the writting procedure then closed. I am using ere27. How could i solved it??

Solved it with manually did it in CMD. But how could i verified that the new rom is already loaded in the phone?
Kernel version is now root@vmware-karmic-x64 #2.
Is it correct?
But the Market Enabler is not working on it.

Edited by cwhong13, 18 February 2010 - 09:45 PM.

  • 0

#63
techgrrl

techgrrl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
i was able to unlock my bootloader but when i tried to use superboot i got the <waiting for device>

I also tried the sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/-51-androidrules and modified that file but i still get the same thing...

when i start the device i get the unlock at the beginning and when i put the device in bootloader it says 'unlocked' at the top...so...am i good?

  • 0

#64
h11g

h11g

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Google Nexus One

i was able to unlock my bootloader but when i tried to use superboot i got the <waiting for device>

I also tried the sudo gedit /etc/udev/rules.d/-51-androidrules and modified that file but i still get the same thing...

when i start the device i get the unlock at the beginning and when i put the device in bootloader it says 'unlocked' at the top...so...am i good?


What system are you using to unlock ur n1? If you are using windows have you tried installing the USB drivers first? That might help.

  • 0

#65
h11g

h11g

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Google Nexus One
I tried to flash ERE27 superboot to my n1 and i double click on install-superboot-windows.bat after the usual usb debugging turned on. Phone turned off completely and rebooting it in bootloader mode. at the command prompt it says flashboot ok. after i reboot my phone my phone still shows the original kernel. What did i do wrong? typing fastboot devices at the cmd prompt and my pc can detect me n1 well. btw after doing the superboot my kernel version is still "2.6.29-01117-g4bc62c2 android-build@apa26#1 "

Edited by h11g, 19 February 2010 - 03:18 AM.

  • 0

#66
r8zer

r8zer

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
  • Devices:n80, spv e650
your kernel will be the same as u have not changed your kernel version, all u have done is add superuser permission, also, u dont say if you have unlocked your bootloader, the X with a padlock underneath.

  • 0

#67
BrumBrum74

BrumBrum74

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus One, HTC Rezound
Did a Nandroid backup back to ERE36B and lost root. Tried superboot with highmen. After booting up all I get is FCs everywhere.

Do I have to reinstall everything from scratch?

  • 0
Posted Image

#68
xkonni

xkonni

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:ville, vision, passion, dream
  • Twitter:@xkonni

Did a Nandroid backup back to ERE36B and lost root. Tried superboot with highmen. After booting up all I get is FCs everywhere.

Do I have to reinstall everything from scratch?


restore that nandroid backup again.
execute adb shell, you still got root there right?
might be an issue with the permissions of the su-binary.
it needs chmod 4755 if i remember correctly. (6755 on CM5).

in adb shell do
chmod 4755 /system/bin/su

Edited by xkonni, 20 February 2010 - 05:45 PM.

  • 0

#69
Fabio79

Fabio79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Hello.
I'm new in Nexus One (I come from iphone).
And I have a problem.
I try to install superboot himem so I can have the root access.
In first i try to install ERE36B himem but The Superuser permission not work.
I try to reflash the rom and I reflash with ERE36B.
I retry to install superboot himem but same problem.
In windows if I try
ADB Shell and
chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
I give
unable to chmod /system/bin/su : Read-only file

Anyone can help me for make it work?
Thanks

Edited by Fabio79, 21 February 2010 - 12:26 PM.

  • 0

#70
xkonni

xkonni

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:ville, vision, passion, dream
  • Twitter:@xkonni

Hello.
I'm new in Nexus One (I come from iphone).
And I have a problem.
I try to install superboot himem so I can have the root access.
In first i try to install ERE36B himem but The Superuser permission not work.
I try to reflash the rom and I reflash with ERE36B.
I retry to install superboot himem but same problem.
In windows if I try
ADB Shell and
chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
I give
unable to chmod /system/bin/su : Read-only file

Anyone can help me for make it work?
Thanks


Go slow on this :D
When you flash a stock-rom, just put the superboot image for that version of that on top, Paul always provides it.
After that, you have superuser access working fine, no need to chmod anything!

The chmod 'might' be needed when you restore a nandroid backup.
And you can not change anything within /system unless you mount it with read/write permissions first!

I'd suggest you download "ERE36B - update zip format" and "ERE36B - superboot images" from here. Flash them in that order and have a stock-phone with root access.

If you want more customized roms, take a look around in this forum and xda-developers.com, pick one (i can recommend mcr, cm5 and enomthers), depending on which features you want and flash it according to the provided instructions.

  • 0

#71
Fabio79

Fabio79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Go slow on this :D
When you flash a stock-rom, just put the superboot image for that version of that on top, Paul always provides it.
After that, you have superuser access working fine, no need to chmod anything!

The chmod 'might' be needed when you restore a nandroid backup.
And you can not change anything within /system unless you mount it with read/write permissions first!

I'd suggest you download "ERE36B - update zip format" and "ERE36B - superboot images" from here. Flash them in that order and have a stock-phone with root access.

If you want more customized roms, take a look around in this forum and xda-developers.com, pick one (i can recommend mcr, cm5 and enomthers), depending on which features you want and flash it according to the provided instructions.


I try to use chmod only if spuser not work.
Now I retry to reflash nexus image with ERE36B - image Format afret i install sboot and i try if it work.
I have to install himem version?
Can I flash with ar recovery?

  • 0

#72
xkonni

xkonni

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:ville, vision, passion, dream
  • Twitter:@xkonni

I try to use chmod only if spuser not work.
Now I retry to reflash nexus image with ERE36B - image Format afret i install sboot and i try if it work.
I have to install himem version?
Can I flash with ar recovery?


image format in bootloader, and AFTER that, superboot.

  • 0

#73
Fabio79

Fabio79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

image format in bootloader, and AFTER that, superboot.


Now I try.
Can I use ERE36B - update zip format instead of image format (there are many image to flash)?

After i try superboot and I tell you.
Thanks for the support.


Edit.

Flash done.
Now I try superboot

Edited by Fabio79, 21 February 2010 - 01:17 PM.

  • 0

#74
Fabio79

Fabio79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
All done like instuctions.
Superpermission installed but not work.
It start but It doesn't work.
Where is my error. :D

I try himem.
Now I reflash and I try nohimem.


Anyone can tell me how I can restore all my phone?
I reflash now the update with ar recovery.

  • 0

#75
Fabio79

Fabio79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I decided to abort.

I try differet way but not result.

I go also in ERD79.
Upgrate to ERE27 and superboot but nothing.
There I can't root my nexus.
Superuser permission doesen't work.
It is installed but he won't work.
I think It need to restore completly the phone (how? I try to flash to ERD79 but also not work).
I think there are some permission problme.
Now I try to root from mac.

Edited by Fabio79, 21 February 2010 - 01:58 PM.

  • 0

#76
xkonni

xkonni

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:ville, vision, passion, dream
  • Twitter:@xkonni

I decided to abort.

I try differet way but not result.

I go also in ERD79.
Upgrate to ERE27 and superboot but nothing.
There I can't root my nexus.
Superuser permission doesen't work.
It is installed but he won't work.
I think It need to restore completly the phone (how? I try to flash to ERD79 but also not work).
I think there are some permission problme.
Now I try to root from mac.


if you update to ere27 and superboot for ere27 you will have root.
unless there were some errors you don't talk about.

what makes you think that you don't have root permissions?

  • 0

#77
Fabio79

Fabio79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

if you update to ere27 and superboot for ere27 you will have root.
unless there were some errors you don't talk about.

what makes you think that you don't have root permissions?


I downgrade to ERD79.
After I upgrade to ERE27 (i have 1 error on boot, image couldn't write).
In ERE27 I superboot.
Superpermission installed but not work.
I upgrade this AR recovery on ERE36B.
Superpreference now isn't here.
Restart superboot for windows
Superpermission on ERE36B but same problem.
It's not work.

I think there was a problem on upgrade from ERE27 to ERE36B (or installing Cyanogen Mod, now disinstalled) and I can't restore to all previous setting that give me the possibility to take the root.
I think I have to restore the Nexus all to the original (HOW? I don't know) and after made the upgrade and the rooting.

  • 0

#78
Fabio79

Fabio79

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
I made some change and It' workded.
Thanks for the help and support.
:D

  • 0

#79
h11g

h11g

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Google Nexus One

your kernel will be the same as u have not changed your kernel version, all u have done is add superuser permission, also, u dont say if you have unlocked your bootloader, the X with a padlock underneath.

thanks for help. Yea i got my phone running again and flashed to latest cm 5.0.3 n1. and i got the latest .32 kernel as well. Phone is working well now. Thanks for tech support

  • 0

#80
ceyad

ceyad

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:nexus one
  • Twitter:@ceyad
how can i see that screen?
bootloader unlock successfull
and root sucessfull
but i cant see screen like that.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users