Jump to content


Photo

No ADB & No SD

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

#1
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Hey people. I got a mayor problem... or so i think...

I recently upgraded from 2.8 and stock radio to MoDaCo 3.0 and newest radio, but now im stuck!

I can't connect my phone to my pc, neither windows nor linux will recognize it...

And on my phone it says that the SD card is removed.

I have tried both of my SD cards, none of them works...

I have also tried several USB cables, and two different computers, no luck...

Anyone have any ideas of how to fix this? or how to make it look like an "accident" so i can get it replaced?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Regards, Adam.

  • 0

#2
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Okay guys.. This is pretty serious...

I went to work today and realized that my GPS (CoPilot Live) doesen't work, as it stores the map data on the sd card...

So... if i can't get this to work i have to buy a new gps, as i need it for my work...

-------

What about ssh'ing to the phone and flashing a new radio image from the phones internal memory?

Might that be possible?

  • 0

#3
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Okay... I got a ssh connection working over wireless now.

Is it possible to flash a new recovery image or radio image without rebooting in to my current recovery image?

My recovery image looks for the images to flash in the /sdcard/ folder... but that doesen't exist... as the phone wont read from the sd slot...

  • 0

#4
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Forgot to mention how all this happened..

I put modaco 3.0 on my SD card, along with the wavesecure zip file and the update-hero-radio-63.18.55.06JU_6.35.09.26-signed.zip radio image.

I then rebooted into recovery mode, did a wipe, flashed modaco 3.0, flashed wavesecure, flashed the radio, rebooted, then rebooted again after radio got installed.

And when the phone booted neither USB connection nor SD slot worked.

When using an usb connection it just says "Unknown USB Device" in windows, and in linux when i run dmesg nothin happens when i take the phone out and plug it back in...

Its like the phone cant communicate over USB anymore...

And it wont read any of my SD cards...

  • 0

#5
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Okay... when i boot the recovery image and put the USB cable in my pc the dmesg log actually outputs something...

Heres the output:
[ 7630.390113] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
[ 7630.520111] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7630.760095] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7631.050104] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3
[ 7631.180090] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7631.420113] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7631.650130] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 4
[ 7632.070093] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 4, error -71
[ 7632.190097] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 5
[ 7632.610096] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 5, error -71
[ 7632.610123] hub 6-0:1.0: unable to enumerate USB device on port 2
[ 7666.110100] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 6
[ 7666.231297] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7666.470100] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7666.700128] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 7
[ 7666.830094] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7667.070128] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
[ 7667.301329] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 8
[ 7667.720098] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 8, error -71
[ 7667.840096] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 9
[ 7668.260095] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 9, error -71
[ 7668.260121] hub 6-0:1.0: unable to enumerate USB device on port 2

Still... i don't know what the problem is... im guessing i destroyed some system files when i flashed...

  • 0

#6
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Okay... when i boot the recovery image and put the USB cable in my pc the dmesg log actually outputs something...

Heres the output:

[ 7630.390113] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
 [ 7630.520111] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7630.760095] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7631.050104] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 3
 [ 7631.180090] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7631.420113] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7631.650130] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 4
 [ 7632.070093] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 4, error -71
 [ 7632.190097] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 5
 [ 7632.610096] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 5, error -71
 [ 7632.610123] hub 6-0:1.0: unable to enumerate USB device on port 2
 [ 7666.110100] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 6
 [ 7666.231297] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7666.470100] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7666.700128] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 7
 [ 7666.830094] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7667.070128] usb 6-2: device descriptor read/64, error -71
 [ 7667.301329] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 8
 [ 7667.720098] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 8, error -71
 [ 7667.840096] usb 6-2: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 9
 [ 7668.260095] usb 6-2: device not accepting address 9, error -71
 [ 7668.260121] hub 6-0:1.0: unable to enumerate USB device on port 2

Still... i don't know what the problem is... im guessing i destroyed some system files when i flashed...

Hmmm. This could be difficult to fix. Can you fastboot the device? (turn phone off. Press and hold back button, then tap power button whilst holding back button. Should enter fastboot.) Then type (on computer)
fastboot devices
(presuming you have Android SDK installed OK etc.) and see if you get the device listed. If so, you can fastboot a custom recovery img file and try adb'ing in from there. Otherwise, this is serious :)

  • 0

#7
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Okay guys.. This is pretty serious...

I went to work today and realized that my GPS (CoPilot Live) doesen't work, as it stores the map data on the sd card...

So... if i can't get this to work i have to buy a new gps, as i need it for my work...

-------

What about ssh'ing to the phone and flashing a new radio image from the phones internal memory?

Might that be possible?


Yes. The command
flash_image recovery recoveryimg.img
would do that. Don't know if that helps... (You could download the file to the /data partition (if that is even possible ??? - I don't think you can download to there :) )

  • 0

#8
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
i tried running an ftp server on the phone... but i dont have write access anywhere...

any other way to copy files? tried wget over ssh...

  • 0

#9
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

i tried running an ftp server on the phone... but i dont have write access anywhere...

any other way to copy files? tried wget over ssh...


Are you rooted? If so, you need to get an app that makes use of 'su' privileges. If you're not rooted, I think you'd need to be in order to do anything like this. Any luck with fastboot?

  • 0

#10
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Yeah, im rooted.

When you say fastboot, do you mean over USB?

Because i can't get USB access to the phone... neither in recovery or fastboot...

  • 0

#11
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null
Yeah. :) I meant fastboot via USB. If that doesn't work, I think this is a hardware issue.

So, to confirm and make sure we are understanding the same thing:

-You can get into fastboot
-But you cannot see the device by typing 'fastboot devices' due to usb issues

If so, this is pretty low level, and possibly hardware. A second opinion from someone else would be good.

  • 0

#12
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Fastboot works! B)

now i have hope :)

adam@adam-laptop:~/Downloads/android-sdk-linux_86/tools$ sudo ./fastboot boot /home/adam/Downloads/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img 
downloading 'boot.img'... FAILED (remote: not allow)

So... i remember having this problem when i got the phone in september...

  • 0

#13
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I can't use the recovery flasher apk...

Any other way to fix this through fastboot?

  • 0

#14
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null
OK. That's hopeful!

Now, because it says not allowed, your bootloader is not 'Security OFF', hence preventing the download of the image.

Try
fastboot flash recovery recoveryimg.img

Although I doubt that will work. Also, what version of HBOOT do you have (appears on the white Fastboot screen near the top)?

Do you have a microSD card reader? If so, try making a goldcard and putting that into the device's slot (I know you can't get it to work in normal mode, but bear with me...)

Then try that process again with fastboot flash or fastboot boot. If still nothing, try an original RUU for the HTC Hero. (Use an old versioned one, such as from this thread - http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=559622 and use the FIRST WWE one. That should overwrite everything on your phone (including any user data unfortunately :) ) and give you a stock Hero.

The ROM should also be old enough to also flash an unlocked bootloader (allowing fastboot boot) and you can use AmonRA recovery from there to wipe and do update.zip.

Let me know what you think of doing. I'll be here tonight if you have any probs.

Edited by pulser, 05 January 2010 - 06:33 PM.

  • 0

#15
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
the fastboot command gave me:
adam@adam-laptop:~/Downloads/android-sdk-linux_86/tools$ sudo ./fastboot flash recovery /home/adam/Downloads/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img 
sending 'recovery' (3362 KB)... FAILED (remote: not allow)

But im gonna reboot into windows now and try the RUU you mentioned.

  • 0

#16
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

the fastboot command gave me:

adam@adam-laptop:~/Downloads/android-sdk-linux_86/tools$ sudo ./fastboot flash recovery /home/adam/Downloads/recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img 
 sending 'recovery' (3362 KB)... FAILED (remote: not allow)

But im gonna reboot into windows now and try the RUU you mentioned.


Yup. I reckon that's your best bet just now. Be prepared to lose EVERYTHING (and I mean EVERYTHING) on the phone when you do it. It will flash the entire phone, hopefully ridding you of your problems...

pulser


EDIT: Oh! Just remembered. You will need the goldcard to do this RUU. Can't remember if I told you that or not... If you don't have one, make it using a microSD reader on your PC.

Edited by pulser, 05 January 2010 - 06:45 PM.

  • 0

#17
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Well... i just tried... but im guessing you have to be indside the android OS while you run the RUU... cause it can't connect to the phone...

  • 0

#18
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I'm gonna go call some friends and ask if they have an card reader i can borrow :)

  • 0

#19
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Well... i just tried... but im guessing you have to be indside the android OS while you run the RUU... cause it can't connect to the phone...


Oh. Right. That's an issue. Presuming you had your goldcard in the phone at the time, did you try the RUU while phone was in fastboot mode?

But check the goldcard is in first.

EDIT: saw you're going to call round for a card reader. You will need a goldcard for any hope of this working, but it's not guaranteed. :)

Edited by pulser, 05 January 2010 - 06:51 PM.

  • 0

#20
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Oh. Right. That's an issue. Presuming you had your goldcard in the phone at the time, did you try the RUU while phone was in fastboot mode?

But check the goldcard is in first.

EDIT: saw you're going to call round for a card reader. You will need a goldcard for any hope of this working, but it's not guaranteed. B)


Found some info on how the RUU works:

I think what I write below is worth a shot (even without a goldcard)

# Get list of attached devices
adb devices

# Check battery power for detected device.
adb -s <SN> shell cat /sys/class/power_supply/battery/capacity

# Get current device version
adb -s <SN> shell getprop ro.build.description

# Reboot into RUU mode in bootloader
adb -s <SN> shell reboot oem-78

# Check if device is is disconnected from usermode
adb devices

# If not present any more, check via fastboot
fastboot devices

# If detected, check if in RUU mode
fastboot -s <SN> getvar boot-mode

# If mode returns RUU, start the upgrade by erasing cache
fastboot -s <SN> erase cache

# Upload rom.zip file and flash
fastboot -s <SN> flash zip rom.zip


So, it stands to reason that you could also do this by putting a goldcard in (to let us flash an older ROM than we have in just now)
And then rebooting to oem-78 mode by SSHing in and running the command

reboot oem-78

Now, run the RUU exe file on your PC. Wait till it brings up the splash screen, then go to your temp folder and search for a file called 'rom.zip'. This is the file we need. Copy it to the desktop!

Do a quick
fastboot devices
and check the Hero shows up.

Now run the command


fastboot erase cache
and then
fastboot flash zip rom.zip
after using the command prompt to cd to the desktop (so it can find rom.zip)

HTH (No guarantees as usual :) )

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users