Jump to content


Photo

No ADB & No SD

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
104 replies to this topic

#41
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Well... i went to the IT department at my moms work.

All of them had traded their HTC Magic phones for iPhones...

Gotta wait and see if my classmate with the magic will be there tomorrow xD

  • 0

#42
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Well... i went to the IT department at my moms work.

All of them had traded their HTC Magic phones for iPhones...

Gotta wait and see if my classmate with the magic will be there tomorrow xD


Cool... Pity about them downgrading to the iPhone though. :)

Once we get a goldcard sorted, there is still the issue of how to get the RUU to run. I hope we can force it in through fastboot, although there are no guarantees unfortunately.

  • 0

#43
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Cool... Pity about them downgrading to the iPhone though. :)

Once we get a goldcard sorted, there is still the issue of how to get the RUU to run. I hope we can force it in through fastboot, although there are no guarantees unfortunately.


I have been looking around the web for this problem, and it seems to be the same as experienced here.

What might be worth a shot, BEFORE any RUU attempts, is to try this fastboot command:

fastboot -c "board_hero.disable_uart3=0 board_hero.usb_h2w_sw=0 board_hero.disable_sdcard=0 no_console_suspend=1 console=null" boot NAMEOFYOURRECOVERYIMAGE.img

That might let you use the recovery image, with the SD and USB working, but I don't know. If you can get the hero to fastboot using that command, then try adb devices, and see if the phone shows up. Otherwise, I'll need to think a bit more...

  • 0

#44
Lugia

Lugia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

I have been looking around the web for this problem, and it seems to be the same as experienced here.

What might be worth a shot, BEFORE any RUU attempts, is to try this fastboot command:

fastboot -c "board_hero.disable_uart3=0 board_hero.usb_h2w_sw=0 board_hero.disable_sdcard=0 no_console_suspend=1 console=null" boot NAMEOFYOURRECOVERYIMAGE.img

That might let you use the recovery image, with the SD and USB working, but I don't know. If you can get the hero to fastboot using that command, then try adb devices, and see if the phone shows up. Otherwise, I'll need to think a bit more...






hi guys, i have EXACTLY the same problem! I am frustrated because i dont know what i did wrong.
ihave i know i have flashed the new (1.52) recovery. after that sd and usb does not work. i get in Device Manager a "Unkniwn device" under the USB devices, i cant chage the driver of this to the driver of htc.

When i am in fastboot the driver will be installed and i can do fastboot devices.

i will try above command now. hope it works. from there i think i can manage it.


*UPDATE* the command seems to work but i still have no USB and no SD access (mass storage)... on the OTHER hand.... i now have succesfully partitioned my 2 SD cards,

1 of 1 gb :
32mb swap, 512mb ext, 480mb FAT

1 of 8 gb:
32 mb swap, 1536 ext, 6000 FAT

will now reboot to android to see if SD works now in the phone.

*UPDATE2*
rebooted in android with 8gb sd card... but still SD Removed (in dutch: SD kaart is verwijderd)
currently trying 1gb card but i dont think it will work either... :)


what about flashing everything to stock using fastboot... without any ADB command.. is that possible?
and a goldcard, is it worth a shot? i dont know what the goldcard has to do with usb and sd connection.

Edited by Lugia, 08 January 2010 - 10:14 AM.

  • 0

#45
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Got the CID B)

035344535531364780603bd0e2008a82

Gonna try and make the goldcard later :)

  • 0

#46
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
So... i made the goldcard.. put it in the phone.. rebooted into fastboot... tried the suggested commands, and the RUU...

But im still getting the "remote: not allowed" message :)

  • 0

#47
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
So... i ran the RUU and copied the rom.zip to the SD and renamed to HEROIMG.zip.

Rebooted with colume down key, it flashed the image, but it still wont read the sd card, or connect with adb through usb :)

  • 0

#48
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

So... i ran the RUU and copied the rom.zip to the SD and renamed to HEROIMG.zip.

Rebooted with colume down key, it flashed the image, but it still wont read the sd card, or connect with adb through usb :)


Could you try the long fastboot command a few posts back, and see if you get anywhere? Also, you should now have the ability to fastboot boot images (if you didn't before)

Let me know how it goes.

Edit just to clarify. I know you've tried this before flashing heroimg.zip, but give it a try now the fastboot should allow the command.

Edited by pulser, 09 January 2010 - 04:55 PM.

  • 0

#49
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
C:\Users\Adam\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\tools>fastboot.exe -c "board_hero.disa

ble_uart3=0 board_hero.usb_h2w_sw=0 board_hero.disable_sdcard=0 no_console_suspe

nd=1 console=null" boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img

downloading 'boot.img'... FAILED (remote: not allow)



C:\Users\Adam\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\tools>

  • 0

#50
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

C:\Users\Adam\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\tools>fastboot.exe -c "board_hero.disa
  ble_uart3=0 board_hero.usb_h2w_sw=0 board_hero.disable_sdcard=0 no_console_suspe
  nd=1 console=null" boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img
  downloading 'boot.img'... FAILED (remote: not allow)
  
  C:\Users\Adam\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\tools>


:)

OK. There's two ways we can go from here. One is that since the phone is back to stock, you check it's running the same software as out the box, then take it in for repair as 'the SD stopped working one day'. You could also mention that you can't connect it by USB to view the SD or sync your Outlook calendar, but DON'T mention anything like adb, fastboot or flashing. Just take it back as though you know nothing, but it ain't working.

Alternatively, (if the warranty's run out or if you bought it 2nd hand) we can keep trying. I'll have a look and see what I can find. Let me know either way, but I'll start looking at some more complex methods just now.

EDIT: An obvious one, but I take it you have USB Debugging enabled under Settings | Applications | Development... Probably won't fix it, but worth a check

Edited by pulser, 09 January 2010 - 10:37 PM.

  • 0

#51
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Well... i just checked, and everything is back to normal, including the recovery image (Boot with HOME pressed)

So it should be safe to return it to the store? i have to get a new headset anyways... the buttons on the headset i got with the phone doesent work anymore, and i only have sound in one side...

  • 0

#52
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null
So long as the ruu you flashed was the one your phone shipped with, then I reckon so. Just remember, you know nothing other than what an average user would (eg. I can't access any of the stuff in the phones memory card, but I tried another one and it still was broken should be fine, fir example)

  • 0

#53
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Well... i bought the phone 3rd of september.

But i have updated it since.

So its not the exact same version as the one i got with the phone.

But its propably fine... as long as it is an official update.

  • 0

#54
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Well... i bought the phone 3rd of september.

But i have updated it since.

So its not the exact same version as the one i got with the phone.

But its propably fine... as long as it is an official update.


Yup. So long as it's official, they'll presume you just used the official RUU to do so (which you did do, of course :)). I'd just go ahead and take it back.

  • 0

#55
Pawnda

Pawnda

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Fine :)

Do you have any idea if they are gonna try and fix it? or will they just give me a new one?

  • 0

#56
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

Fine :)

Do you have any idea if they are gonna try and fix it? or will they just give me a new one?


No idea, unfortunately. It would depend on where you take it (best option is the store you bought it from), and also what it's like in Denmark for these kinds of things...

In the UK, it depends, but they might try a repair. It really depends on the store.

One thing you should do is find out about your consumer rights with this regard. For example, in the UK, any action has to be within a 'reasonable time', and shouldn't be inconvenient to the customer. You could easily argue that a repair of more than a week or so would be unreasonable for a device we use daily, and that it would be inconvenient to be without it. You tend to get on better if you have it on contract here, but I don't know what it's like where you are.

  • 0

#57
Enty76

Enty76

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@eenty
I seem to have managed to get myself into this very same situation. It happened when I flashed 3.1 on top of 3.0.. Symptoms are:

- Sometimes restarts during boot
- ADB no longer works
- The sdcard is no longer detected
- HTC Sync does not see the phone

So it seems like a similar situation to that of Pawnda, except I do have a working fastboot (1.76.004).

Tried:

.$ /fastboot -c "board_hero.disable_uart3=0 board_hero.usb_h2w_sw=0 board_hero.disable_sdcard=0 no_console_suspend=1 console=null" boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img 
downloading 'boot.img'... OKAY
booting... OKAY

Boots the recovery over usb fine, but adb is still not able to find the phone:

$ ./adb devices* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached 

$

However, fastboot does:

$ ./fastboot devices
************	fastboot

Booting like this the recovery rom was sort of able to access the sd card, e.g it would find update zips on it, find my nandroid backups etc. but would also complain of not being able to access it and doing an actual restore simply went on forever with no result.

I also tried repartitioning the original 2GB sdcard, the recovery said "ok", but when I mount it in my sdcard reader I can see it didn't really format it at all..

I do however notice something else strange. I have files like this on both sdcards now:

-rwxrwxrwx  1 xxxx  staff	667519 Jan 10 20:14 qxdm_20100115_201333_1.dm
-rwxrwxrwx  1 xxxx  staff   1136131 Jan 10 20:16 qxdm_20100115_201501_1.dm

As most of this thread seems to resolve around getting a working fastboot, I'm not 100% sure how I should proceed (combined with being slightly worried I'd do the wrong thing and loose recovery/fastboot :) ). Should I try to manually flash the ROM from the RUU using the fastboot method outlined earlier in the thread? Any tips greatly appreciated!

  • 0

#58
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

I seem to have managed to get myself into this very same situation. It happened when I flashed 3.1 on top of 3.0.. Symptoms are:

- Sometimes restarts during boot
- ADB no longer works
- The sdcard is no longer detected
- HTC Sync does not see the phone

So it seems like a similar situation to that of Pawnda, except I do have a working fastboot (1.76.004).

Tried:

.$ /fastboot -c "board_hero.disable_uart3=0 board_hero.usb_h2w_sw=0 board_hero.disable_sdcard=0 no_console_suspend=1 console=null" boot recovery-RA-hero-v1.5.2.img 
 downloading 'boot.img'... OKAY
 booting... OKAY

Boots the recovery over usb fine, but adb is still not able to find the phone:

$ ./adb devices* daemon not running. starting it now *
 * daemon started successfully *
 List of devices attached 
 
 $

However, fastboot does:

$ ./fastboot devices
 ************	fastboot

Booting like this the recovery rom was sort of able to access the sd card, e.g it would find update zips on it, find my nandroid backups etc. but would also complain of not being able to access it and doing an actual restore simply went on forever with no result.

I also tried repartitioning the original 2GB sdcard, the recovery said "ok", but when I mount it in my sdcard reader I can see it didn't really format it at all..

I do however notice something else strange. I have files like this on both sdcards now:

-rwxrwxrwx  1 xxxx  staff	667519 Jan 10 20:14 qxdm_20100115_201333_1.dm
 -rwxrwxrwx  1 xxxx  staff   1136131 Jan 10 20:16 qxdm_20100115_201501_1.dm

As most of this thread seems to resolve around getting a working fastboot, I'm not 100% sure how I should proceed (combined with being slightly worried I'd do the wrong thing and loose recovery/fastboot :) ). Should I try to manually flash the ROM from the RUU using the fastboot method outlined earlier in the thread? Any tips greatly appreciated!


Did you get the directory listing from your PC, or from adb shell? Just as that whole 'staff' thing looks interesting, as that would be the user name of the 'owner'.

As for the issue, try searching the Hero forum for HEROIMG.ZIP (I posted a couple of things about how to use it recently). If you try that, you can do what is essentially an RUU, using an official HTC-approved method with a stock RUU's internal zip file. I don't think that will fix it for you, but it would put it into a condition you could return the phone in (stock ROM etc.)

  • 0

#59
Enty76

Enty76

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@eenty

Did you get the directory listing from your PC, or from adb shell? Just as that whole 'staff' thing looks interesting, as that would be the user name of the 'owner'.

As for the issue, try searching the Hero forum for HEROIMG.ZIP (I posted a couple of things about how to use it recently). If you try that, you can do what is essentially an RUU, using an official HTC-approved method with a stock RUU's internal zip file. I don't think that will fix it for you, but it would put it into a condition you could return the phone in (stock ROM etc.)


The listing is from my Mac with the sdcard in a reader, hence the staff group. :)

I'll give that a shot then, I guess I might not have any other choice than sending it in.. Slightly worried I'll get it back with the new hboot :) Thanks though!

  • 0

#60
pulser

pulser

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 432 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:/dev/null

The listing is from my Mac with the sdcard in a reader, hence the staff group. :)

I'll give that a shot then, I guess I might not have any other choice than sending it in.. Slightly worried I'll get it back with the new hboot :) Thanks though!


Hboot can be flashed without too much bother :)
You just root using flashrec or downgrade with gold card. If you downgrade, put it down to the oldest stock hero ruu you can find. That will give you old, unlocked hboot.

Failing that, there's a discussion about this very issue of getting old hboot back on either this forum or xda-dev.

Hth

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users