Jump to content


Photo

Availability in Europe ?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
meld0

meld0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Hi,

i've got a quick question for u guys.

Will the Nexus also be available in Europe - Germany to be specific ?

Because i only read about people complaining that they can't take it to
AT&T - for Americans. Something i don't get either. What's up with the
American cellular networks ?

Cya and thanks for your answers,
meld0

  • 0

#2
thla

thla

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
It's because of the frequencies, the phone will be available worldwide, subject to US export laws, and you'll have VAT and Import Duty fees to cover as well.

I'm not sure if it'll work in Europe properly, i know atleast that Germany uses 1900/2100MHz frequency for UMTS, but because 1900MHz is already used in the US, T-Mobile had to use 1700/2100MHz, and if Engadget's interpretation of the FCC documents are correct, then the Nexus One will only support 900/1700/2100, i'm unfortunately not an expert on the matter, but that it was i found out, 3G won't work if the specs turn out to be accurate, however GSM and EDGE should work fine.

  • 0

#3
qvert

qvert

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Nexus One
  • Twitter:@qvert
http://en.wikipedia....f_UMTS_networks
nearly every telco inside of the EU uses the UMTS 2100 Band,
often manufacuteres only tell the downstream Baseband which is 2100 , in europe we use the 1900 baseband for the uplink but the manufacturer only tells that the device supports the downstream baseband XXXX for example on the HTC website you can see that the Hero uses 900 / 2100 Mhz baseband but my hero is working fine with 3g in Germany

If we can believe the leaked infos than the nexus will use 900 / 2100 / and AWS which is 1700

so it should run on our 3g networks, but i am not sure.

If you want to buy the Nexus you have to pay the vat and dutys but if we can believe the leaked terms of use then the shipping company will take this for you, but you will have to pay a lot more for shipping if i understand it correctly

Attached File  Untitled.png   27.2KB   29 downloads

Edited by qvert, 04 January 2010 - 09:14 AM.

  • 0

#4
thla

thla

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts
That's odd, as 2100MHz is only the downlink frequency, why even have different frequencies if it works on a downlink only frequency? I'm confused :)

  • 0

#5
qvert

qvert

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Nexus One
  • Twitter:@qvert
it's not working only on downlink but i think HTC only gives the downlink baseband as a supposed working band base, thats how they did it at the Hero and they build the Nexus so i am sure they do it the same way.

Hopefully i am right, but we'll see tomorrow i think

  • 0

#6
thla

thla

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts

it's not working only on downlink but i think HTC only gives the downlink baseband as a supposed working band base, thats how they did it at the Hero and they build the Nexus so i am sure they do it the same way.

Hopefully i am right, but we'll see tomorrow i think


Well without an uplink how does it send data?

  • 0

#7
qvert

qvert

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Nexus One
  • Twitter:@qvert

Well without an uplink how does it send data?


it uses 1900mhz as an uplink
but HTC only tells the specs that it uses the 2100 baseband because the baseband is named by the downlink but it uses downlink and uplink

this means the 2100 baseband is
2100 mhz downlink
and
1900 mhz uplink
=========
2100 baseband

Edited by qvert, 04 January 2010 - 03:06 PM.

  • 0

#8
thla

thla

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts

it uses 1900mhz as an uplink
but HTC only tells the specs that it uses the 2100 baseband because the baseband is named by the downlink but it uses downlink and uplink

this means the 2100 baseband is
2100 mhz downlink
and
1900 mhz uplink
=========
2100 baseband


Ah, so that's how it works, great then :)

  • 0

#9
snpg

snpg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Location:North West UK
  • Devices:Dell Streak
I had a check on the UK Inland Revenue site and it looks like we'll only have to pay VAT as there is no import duty on mobile phones.

I have attached a file of common internet items and their import duty status.

Attached File  UK_Duty_on_Common_Internet_Goods.pdf   40.38KB   51 downloads

  • 0

#10
thla

thla

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts

I had a check on the UK Inland Revenue site and it looks like we'll only have to pay VAT as there is no import duty on mobile phones.

I have attached a file of common internet items and their import duty status.

Attached File  UK_Duty_on_Common_Internet_Goods.pdf   40.38KB   51 downloads

Mobile phones (excluding built in GPS, TV)

I think it'll be considered a PDA with GPS in terms of import duties.

  • 0

#11
Ntt4

Ntt4

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
Sorry to be the bringer of bad news, But looking at this FCC document, It won't work outside of the USA (Anything above 1900)



Page 4

Attached Files


  • 0

#12
saquib

saquib

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
According to Engadget, should be hitting France in a few weeks @ 450 euros:

Engadget - Europe availability

  • 0

#13
qvert

qvert

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Nexus One
  • Twitter:@qvert

Sorry to be the bringer of bad news, But looking at this FCC document, It won't work outside of the USA (Anything above 1900)



Page 4


The FCC is from america, they don't need to test the european base bands because they are not used in the united states for 3g, but to be sure you should check the baseband at the website before ordering a nexus, when there is something with 2100 then you should be able to use it here if not.. i would recommend to wait until there is a clear statement

  • 0

#14
thla

thla

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts

The FCC is from america, they don't need to test the european base bands because they are not used in the united states for 3g, but to be sure you should check the baseband at the website before ordering a nexus, when there is something with 2100 then you should be able to use it here if not.. i would recommend to wait until there is a clear statement


Well as far as i understand wasn't there a person from France who actually got it? You'd figure he'd probably have talked about 3G not working if that was the case?

  • 0

#15
cezent

cezent

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Oppo Find 5, HTC ONE
  • Twitter:@kingcedz

Well as far as i understand wasn't there a person from France who actually got it? You'd figure he'd probably have talked about 3G not working if that was the case?



guess it ll all be clear in about 50mins time :)

  • 0

#16
thla

thla

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 125 posts

guess it ll all be clear in about 50mins time :)


Sorry, the Nexus One phone is not available in your country.

So much for international availability.

  • 0

#17
qvert

qvert

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 144 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Nexus One
  • Twitter:@qvert
in germany i can't buy it too
where are you from

but it has the 2100 base band :)

  • 0

#18
SeraphimSerapis

SeraphimSerapis

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 45 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Motorola Milestone
  • Twitter:@SeraAndroid

in germany i can't buy it too
where are you from

but it has the 2100 base band :)


we need someone who will buy us a phone and is a reliable person.
then we could pay this person via paypal.

  • 0
Nexus One - with MCR!
Galaxy S - Sera's JIT-Galaxy V1

Buy me a Beer for Milestone-Root

#19
domi55

domi55

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

we need someone who will buy us a phone and is a reliable person.
then we could pay this person via paypal.


Yes! I'm also interested here!

  • 0

#20
Zero360x

Zero360x

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:samsung omnia i900 8gb
GOOGLE press conference: Launching in US. UK, Singapore, and Hong Kong are running as test markets, and more to come after that

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users