Jump to content


Photo

Tips for a Successful ROM Flashing - i900/i908 Omnia ^^,

* * * * * 4 votes

  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#21
P_Dhee

P_Dhee

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 57 posts
  • Devices:OMNIA
Wowww great guide angel :)

Edited by P_Dhee, 19 January 2010 - 03:49 PM.

  • 0

#22
Carlos_rpg

Carlos_rpg

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia i900l

Wowww great guide angel :)


Dont u guys think it should be pinned?

  • 0

#23
justpratik

justpratik

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia

Thanks sir.... I hope that our fellow omniacs :) ( specially those who are new to flashing) can read this topic before doing it. It can save their time and minimize the possibility of bricking their omnia...



Perfect idea. gr8

  • 0
Respect the moderator as well as users on modaco.
your problem will be automatically solved.

My Website

#24
...angel...

...angel...

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Philippines
  • Devices:i900 Omnia

Wowww great guide angel :)

Thanks Mr. Dhee! I'm so glad that one of my favorite chefs liked my topic.. :)

Dont u guys think it should be pinned?

Thanks! It's a very good idea... So that our friends here can read this topic before flashing... Specially those who are first-time ROM flashers... :)

Perfect idea. gr8

Thanks again! :)

  • 0

#25
...angel...

...angel...

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Philippines
  • Devices:i900 Omnia
I just saw another person who had failed to flash his omnia because he did not install the samsung modem driver... X_X Please guys... take time to read the tips on the first post... so that we can avoid such situation...

  • 0

#26
computerich

computerich

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:i900
can you help me pls... i have a i900 that recently cant detect a network connection... tried to change sims but to no avail... someone from the service center told me that its a motherboard problem and it should be changed... but i no longer have a warranty... i can use all the features except the signal for my globe network... is there a fix for this? havent tried to flash it because im a newbie... and the technician told me it will just be a waste of time... but i cant really believe him because its just the signal right? its not like the phone is brick or something.... sometimes when i open it theres a signal but just for a couple of seconds... tried the soft and hard reset already... but to no avail...

Edited by computerich, 03 February 2010 - 05:45 AM.

  • 0

#27
computerich

computerich

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:i900
need help badly.....pls ;) :D :( java script:add_smilie(":D","smid_16")

Edited by computerich, 03 February 2010 - 05:12 AM.

  • 0

#28
...angel...

...angel...

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Philippines
  • Devices:i900 Omnia

can you help me pls... i have a i900 that recently cant detect a network connection... tried to change sims but to no avail... someone from the service center told me that its a motherboard problem and it should be changed... but i no longer have a warranty... i can use all the features except the signal for my globe network... is there a fix for this? havent tried to flash it because im a newbie... and the technician told me it will just be a waste of time... but i cant really believe him because its just the signal right? its not like the phone is brick or something.... sometimes when i open it theres a signal but just for a couple of seconds... tried the soft and hard reset already... but to no avail...

I'm so sorry for the late reply...can you give to me the version of your omnia?settings>>system>>version? Please post your PDA and PHONE Version...

  • 0

#29
ydlazkov

ydlazkov

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

How did you brick your phone?

As far as I know, elco and others who know jtag programming can repair a bricked phone part(cannot activate phone in wireless manager)


It doesn't matter. I sent my phone to repair shop here in Nunawading. It cost me $400 ;)
I've flashed another ROM; leaving the phone part blank, and it is working fine until now.

Cheers

  • 0

#30
...angel...

...angel...

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Philippines
  • Devices:i900 Omnia

It doesn't matter. I sent my phone to repair shop here in Nunawading. It cost me $400 :(
I've flashed another ROM; leaving the phone part blank, and it is working fine until now.

Cheers

400$ ;) It's really costly.... But at least it's okay now... :D

  • 0

#31
Bruno Adler

Bruno Adler

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 299 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia I900L

Dont u guys think it should be pinned?


Indeed.

Gratz for the topic angel.

If i should have looked something like this before flash a while ago, i'd probally keep my omnia alive since the beginning ;)

  • 0

#32
amirsdream

amirsdream

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi and thank you for your tips but please do not forget master (qbus) he was one of best chef that I have ever seen.and also thank you again

  • 0

#33
TekkenOmnia

TekkenOmnia

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
i wanna flash but i am using vista.. wanna give some tutorials about it?

  • 0

#34
cosminnn

cosminnn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:spain
  • Devices:Samsung i900v
Can I flash the phone part and only the phone part under vista/ win7 or I need WMware ?

  • 0

#35
...angel...

...angel...

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 175 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Philippines
  • Devices:i900 Omnia
I'm so sorry for the late reply.. I'd been so busy for exams these past few days...

Indeed.

Gratz for the topic angel.

If i should have looked something like this before flash a while ago, i'd probally keep my omnia alive since the beginning :lol:

That's a good idea... so that it will be kept on top and others(specially first time flashers) can read this before doing anything... then there'll be less chance of bricking...Thanks Mr. Bruno... :D Thanks Mr. Carlos.. :D

Hi and thank you for your tips but please do not forget master (qbus) he was one of best chef that I have ever seen.and also thank you again

Okay :D thanks for reminding me..

i wanna flash but i am using vista.. wanna give some tutorials about it?

There are many tutorials here... just search :lol: I don't have a pc running vista to test the process so I think others can help you more than I can B)

Can I flash the phone part and only the phone part under vista/ win7 or I need WMware ?

Yes.. you can use grandprix... you just need the phone.bin... flash it only to the phone part and NOT to the pda part. leave other parts blank :(
This also might help you>>>
http://www.modaco.co...00-omnia-phone/

Edited by ...angel..., 19 February 2010 - 03:20 AM.

  • 0

#36
justpratik

justpratik

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 250 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia
hey angel... hw did u manage to unbrick urs omnia??? :-((

  • 0
Respect the moderator as well as users on modaco.
your problem will be automatically solved.

My Website

#37
cruddasj

cruddasj

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G
Hey all. Sorry for a very late reply to this thread lol. I made a video when i flashed my first ROM.

Part 1:

Part 2:


Sorry for the bad quality.


I dont think it has been mentioned yet, but i go over it in the video. Use Windows Device manager to check the drivers have all installed correctly.

Right click 'My computer' and hit manage. Then choose device manager. Plug your phone in by the USB and give a minute to settle. Then turn it off. When you turn it back on, watch the device manager window for 'Samsung Mits USB'. If it appears, the samsung drivers are installed correctly. If it doesnt, you may need to reinstall them.


It may sound a little complicated but the video explains it a little better :lol: See Part 1 @ 2:00 minutes and you can see what i mean :lol:

If its your first time flashing a phone you should probably watch it all the way through. Has worked perfect for me and have flashed the phone 100+ times (testing of cooking :D )



Furthering this, more advanced users, you can flash from a ROM with the same eboot to another without flashing the eboot part. Just use Pakos executor to remove the eboot part and you then have very little risk :D For example. You can go from my DXID1 base ROMs to Nicks DXID1 or Ock's latest DXID1 base rom by literally just flashing the PDA part. The eboot and the rom base HAVE to match.


The eboot remains untouched, so this reduces the chances of bricking.
DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. I dont want to hear of people new to flashing doing this wrong and bricking their phones. But, if you know what you are doing, its a handy little tip :D

  • 0

pleasePosted Imageand buy me a coffee:)


#38
jms2367

jms2367

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 348 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia i900

Hey all. Sorry for a very late reply to this thread lol. I made a video when i flashed my first ROM.

Part 1:

Part 2:
Sorry for the bad quality.
I dont think it has been mentioned yet, but i go over it in the video. Use Windows Device manager to check the drivers have all installed correctly.

Right click 'My computer' and hit manage. Then choose device manager. Plug your phone in by the USB and give a minute to settle. Then turn it off. When you turn it back on, watch the device manager window for 'Samsung Mits USB'. If it appears, the samsung drivers are installed correctly. If it doesnt, you may need to reinstall them.
It may sound a little complicated but the video explains it a little better :lol: See Part 1 @ 2:00 minutes and you can see what i mean :lol:

If its your first time flashing a phone you should probably watch it all the way through. Has worked perfect for me and have flashed the phone 100+ times (testing of cooking :D )
Furthering this, more advanced users, you can flash from a ROM with the same eboot to another without flashing the eboot part. Just use Pakos executor to remove the eboot part and you then have very little risk :D For example. You can go from my DXID1 base ROMs to Nicks DXID1 or Ock's latest DXID1 base rom by literally just flashing the PDA part. The eboot and the rom base HAVE to match.
The eboot remains untouched, so this reduces the chances of bricking.
DO THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK. I dont want to hear of people new to flashing doing this wrong and bricking their phones. But, if you know what you are doing, its a handy little tip :D


and if it is of the same rom base JC, the CSC is also not needed? just flash w/ the PDA part?

  • 0

#39
sx1

sx1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Galaxy S, Desire
Hi

I think this is my first post here :D

Anyway afetr nearly 1 yr with the omnia, I have finally decided to flash it!(Also I was getting bored & was thinking of upgrading)

I have PDA:i900MBHJ3/MBHJ3
PHONE:I900XXHJ1

Now, I dlded Ryrzy's M2D custome rom Build 28205. I have windows 7 & also dld'ed EXEcutor & Grandprix 1.64 vista.
I've followed all instructions to flash it but when I switch on the mobile, the i get the error "usdl4 has stopped working".
Nothing else happens & the mobile starts on normally.

What do you think is the problem?Do i run it in Vista/XP compatibility mode or am i flashing the wrong f/w?

  • 0

#40
cruddasj

cruddasj

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 378 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G

and if it is of the same rom base JC, the CSC is also not needed? just flash w/ the PDA part?


Id reccomend you do use the csc too but you dont have to :D Its pretty safe to flash it. The only dangerous part is the eboot section. Things like the rom version name are held in the csc. Sometimes people put other stuff in too tho. I put my touch improvements into it :D

  • 0

pleasePosted Imageand buy me a coffee:)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users