Jump to content


Photo

New U8230 ROM on HuaweiDevice.com - analysis

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
173 replies to this topic

#21
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Hmm, nothing but bootloops on the image created so far, think i'll have to have a proper play when I have more time!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#22
McSpoon

McSpoon

    Enthusiast

  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Galaxy Tab 10.1
Yep I encountered the same, although it worked after the 3rd or 4th bootloop. But had no space left.

And it looks like they've recently updated the T-Mobile UK Pulse CD-ROM too.
http://www.huaweidev...B004_TMO_UK.zip
(I haven't bothered to download it, so I've no idea whats new. It's probably just the same old rubbish).

  • 0

#23
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth
Would you mind sharing some scripts needed to play with this, ie build scripts etc

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#24
McSpoon

McSpoon

    Enthusiast

  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Devices:Galaxy Tab 10.1

Would you mind sharing some scripts needed to play with this, ie build scripts etc

There is a Perl script to unpack the UPDATA.APP file in this thread. It should give you the 'boot.img' file and 'system.img'. You can then use fastboot to flash those images to your device. As always, make a nandroid backup first.
But there isn't anything exciting in this ROM. It's the same old cupcake as before. :)

  • 0

#25
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth
Yeah, I'm just wanting to see if the 'pink' in the on call dialer has gone

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#26
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Got it booted, 'modemPre' is hogging the foreground tho, strange. Suppose I better put a SIM in! :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#27
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I'll post a rooted update zip of this in the morning peeps (or earlier if I get a chance).

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#28
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Booted, very generic, looks good, no pinkness, no major RIL changes I assume as calls work fine, excellent! :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#29
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Heh, I can't resist, uploading now in update.zip rooted format. :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#30
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth
Maybe 'modemPre' has something to do with the 'Integrated Modem' listed on the bouyguestelecom site

Source

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#31
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
This isn't a Bouygues ROM, unlike the previous U8230 one!

Oh, the in call dialer is still PINK! Think Huawei have missed that one, lol...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#32
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Update: now available as a rooted update zip in first post. Nandroid backup before applying. Interested to hear your thoughts!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#33
ndot

ndot

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts

Update: now available as a rooted update zip in first post. Nandroid backup before applying. Interested to hear your thoughts!

P


Any instructions on how to apply this if you currently have the vanilla rom already installed?

  • 0

#34
robot1000

robot1000

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 526 posts

Update: now available as a rooted update zip in first post. Nandroid backup before applying. Interested to hear your thoughts!

P


Can you put any noticeable improvements in the OP?

  • 0

#35
flip360

flip360

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 568 posts
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@mat3ski
downloading it right now ;) will report back later

  • 0
GingerFroyo v2.0 for CM 6.1
Samsung GT I9000 Galaxy S 8GB / Froyo 2.2.1

#36
Daniel Williamson

Daniel Williamson

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 344 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester
  • Devices:Tmobile pulse
Same just installed it now lets see how it goes ;)

Dan

edit - First of all boots up with the Huawei logo as a splash screen

Just taking a while on the android screen :/

yeah looks like its not worked for me still stuck on the android boot screen

Yay finally comes on haha took about 5 min mind you

Edited by Daniel Williamson, 02 February 2010 - 08:14 PM.

  • 0

#37
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth
Ah, I see now it's for the US u8230, well according to the build.prop

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#38
Rem1x

Rem1x

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Nexus 5 // Hudl // One X
  • Twitter:@__foy

Ah, I see now it's for the US u8230, well according to the build.prop

heh, so don't install this on our pulses?

  • 0
Posted Image
Posted Image

#39
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

heh, so don't install this on our pulses?

I never said that, Just it's set up for the US region, I'm sure Paul has it safe enough for use outside the US
May also explain the difference in any ROM size.

Edited by klutsh, 02 February 2010 - 08:16 PM.

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#40
Shuflie

Shuflie

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,294 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belfast
  • Devices:HTC One X
  • Twitter:@Shuflie
Anyone try out mms with it yet? Might make the progress being made in the O2 MMS problems thread redundant if it really is a generic ROM that doesn't need the apparent T-Mobile lock down put into it, or were files needed from the T-Mobile ROM to get it working?

Edited by Shuflie, 02 February 2010 - 08:20 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users