Jump to content


Photo

[HOWTO] Unroot your HTC Desire


  • Please log in to reply
206 replies to this topic

#1
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero
WARNING! You do this at your own risk. DO NOT hold me responsible if this bricks your phone due to user error!

Howto: Unroot your HTC Desire to stock.

Downloads

Latest FroYo RUU

Other RUUs Avalible Here

You will need:
  • HTC Sync (For Drivers)
  • The Download Above
  • A Windows PC
  • A Goldcard (Not required for generic HTC Desires)
  • An HTC Desire :huh:
The Guide:
  • Make sure your goldcard is in your phone (If Required)
  • Turn your Desire on
  • Connect it to a Windows PC
  • Run the HTC RUU
  • Let it run
  • & YOUR DONE! :P
Yes it really is that simple as these are Official RUUs from HTC.
You can use it to return your phone for warranty purposes!

Edited by 42turkeys, 09 December 2010 - 09:05 PM.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#2
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero
CHANGELOG:

r3 - Added correct 0.80 bootloader option

r2 - Added other RUUs from the stock roms thread

r1 - Initial Release

Edited by 42turkeys, 23 May 2010 - 05:12 PM.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#3
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero
Reserved For Future Use.

Edited by 42turkeys, 08 May 2010 - 08:16 AM.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#4
lanxton

lanxton

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
How do you know if your phone is "generic" or not? Are we looking for a specific version of something? Do all provider based phones have different versions from the "generic" version?

  • 0

#5
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

How do you know if your phone is "generic" or not? Are we looking for a specific version of something? Do all provider based phones have different versions from the "generic" version?

Most providers edit the rom in some way like preinstalling some apps or a boot screen that says 'T-Mobile' or stuff like that. The generic rom is what you would get if you bought it unlocked from somewhere like Amazon or eXpansys. Some providers just give you the Generic Rom though. Post your ROM number & someone will tell you if it is Generic.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#6
Tretiy

Tretiy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
didn't use it (AND I HOPE I WON'T HAVE TO), but thank you very much!!! =)

  • 0

#7
nerdo

nerdo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Yep... simples :huh:
Thanx mate

Edited by nerdo, 02 May 2010 - 09:22 PM.

  • 0

#8
charlie_boy

charlie_boy

    MoDaCo Plus Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Devices:G1, desire, Desire HD, One X
does this seem trustworthy?

http://ineedfile.com...ire-tmobile-ruu

It seems dodgy to me, every time I click on one of those tmobile desire RU links I go to a different page and they all want payment for membership before you can download. I am getting a bit desperate now.

Edited by charlie_boy, 02 May 2010 - 11:28 PM.

  • 0

#9
Twau

Twau

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1
  • Devices:HTC Desire
If you have the nordic Desire version, is this .exe file also okey then?

  • 0

#10
Kehaan

Kehaan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
Hello

My version is the following:
1.15.405.4

It have been brought in Denmark at 3.
Is it a version that need goldcard?

Thanks.

From Kehaan

  • 0

#11
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

does this seem trustworthy?

http://ineedfile.com...ire-tmobile-ruu

It seems dodgy to me, every time I click on one of those tmobile desire RU links I go to a different page and they all want payment for membership before you can download. I am getting a bit desperate now.

That is not trustworthy at all, there are no T-Mobile RUUs and if there were they would be on the T-Mobile support site.
Do Not download it & Do Not flash it!! :huh:

If you have the nordic Desire version, is this .exe file also okey then?

You can flash this but you may need a goldcard.

My version is the following:
1.15.405.4

It have been brought in Denmark at 3.
Is it a version that need goldcard?

Your device is a generic one, so you don't need a goldcard to flash this or to root it.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#12
thephreak

thephreak

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Hague
  • Devices:HTC Desire, HTC Diamond 2
  • Twitter:@xthephreakx
When i try to do this it keeps returning with an error about the USB connection. The strange thing is it shuts down my desire then its starts searching for a bootloader and gives the above error while phone only show the HTC logo.

any ideas ?


NVM it worked, my phone had its debugging feature enabled.

Edited by thephreak, 03 May 2010 - 11:43 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#13
Kehaan

Kehaan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts

That is not trustworthy at all, there are no T-Mobile RUUs and if there were they would be on the T-Mobile support site.
Do Not download it & Do Not flash it!! :huh:
You can flash this but you may need a goldcard.
Your device is a generic one, so you don't need a goldcard to flash this or to root it.

Hey

How can you see it is a generic one from that number? Thanks, just curious.

From kehaan

  • 0

#14
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

Hey

How can you see it is a generic one from that number? Thanks, just curious.

From kehaan

I know because that's the ROM number of the Generic rom that's in the Unroot guide. The providers usually change the rom number to avoid confusion. I know this was the case with the Hero anyway so I assume it would be the same.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#15
EmDzej

EmDzej

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
Restored stock without any problems, works fine!

  • 0

#16
Kehaan

Kehaan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
EDIT: Sorry was a little too much off topic, have reposted in the Desire root thread :huh:

From Kehaan

Edited by Kehaan, 03 May 2010 - 04:48 PM.

  • 0

#17
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

Hello.

Thanks for your help. (Off topic question: To use App2SD i need the goldcard, right? Or can i also install that without the goldcard?, I have just downloaded the img in the root guide, Linux is needed? Or can i do it in OSX instead? Thanks and sorry for the off topic questions, but looks like you know a lot about it :huh:)

From Kehaan

Have you rooted already?

Please could you repost in the desire root thread & I will answer you there to avoid this going horribly off topic! :P

Edited by 42turkeys, 03 May 2010 - 04:23 PM.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#18
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

Restored stock without any problems, works fine!

Please can you tell me what bootloader version number you have after unrooting by holding power & back to switch on. There will be a number at the top saying HBOOT: <Version Number>

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#19
Rdy2Go

Rdy2Go

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Devices:HTC TYTN II -> Samsung Omnia

You can use it to return your phone for warranty purposes for a Generic Device.
You MAY OR MAY NOT be able to return for warranty for T-Mobile, Orange ect. But please report your experiences below.


As long as bootloader wasn't updated to newer version!
I suggest you add this information to the first post.
Correct me if I'm wrong.

  • 0

#20
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

As long as bootloader wasn't updated to newer version!
I suggest you add this information to the first post.
Correct me if I'm wrong.

you should be able to return for warranty a Generic Device as it is an Official HTC RUU. Carrier supplied ones I am unsure about.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users