Jump to content


Photo

[HOWTO]Step-by-step, N00b Guide To Rooting!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#41
klutsh

klutsh

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@vorbeth

How can I restore the original ROM (rooted or un-rooted is OK)? So I can start it over again :)

Flash one of the Stock update.zips from here: http://android.modac...t-for-gsm-hero/

  • 0
HTC Sensation
ROM: Various.

#42
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero
Google pagerank at 0 now, which is what they give to sites that do not comply with the guidelines. Can any experts take a look for me and give me some advice? I think my site complies with all of that. :)

PS: Thanks whoever it was for making this sticky :)

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#43
ikfredje

ikfredje

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Hi, I'm new to this forum and Android so bear with me.

I downloaded "RUU_Hero_Orange_UK_2.73.61.5_release_signed_NoDriver.exe" from 2 sources :

1) One was the link provided from the guide
http://www.roothtchero.co.uk/step1 -> Orange-UK which points to
http://www.htc.com/u...amp;news_id=261
needed to supply the HTC hero serial number after which the image is downloaded

2) Index of ftp://[email protected]/Hero/Official-ROMs/

My problem/issue is that the md5sum signatures of the files are different and I see no reason why this should be : Both are for the UK Orange branded phone and have the same version number (at least that's what the filename says). What is the difference, why and which is the correct one to use ?

Maybe I'm paranoid but I feel a bit nervous installing/using files for which I cannot trace their authenticy and using them on a general purpose communicating devices : what if someone or some organization injected code to eavesdrop on my communication and steal passwords ?

Does anyone know the correct md5sum for this file ?

Thanks.

Edited by ikfredje, 09 June 2010 - 07:45 PM.

  • 0

#44
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

Hi, I'm new to this forum and Android so bear with me.

I downloaded "RUU_Hero_Orange_UK_2.73.61.5_release_signed_NoDriver.exe" from 2 sources :

1) One was the link provided from the guide
http://www.roothtchero.co.uk/step1 -> Orange-UK which points to
http://www.htc.com/u...amp;news_id=261
needed to supply the HTC hero serial number after which the image is downloaded

2) Index of ftp://[email protected]/Hero/Official-ROMs/

My problem/issue is that the md5sum signatures of the files are different and I see no reason why this should be : Both are for the UK Orange branded phone and have the same version number (at least that's what the filename says). What is the difference, why and which is the correct one to use ?

Maybe I'm paranoid but I feel a bit nervous installing/using files for which I cannot trace their authenticy and using them on a general purpose communicating devices : what if someone or some organization injected code to eavesdrop on my communication and steal passwords ?

Does anyone know the correct md5sum for this file ?

Thanks.

Go for the one linked to from the site as that is the official HTC one. I'm sure the xda one would be fine though. :)

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#45
habibs

habibs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Hi
I am a new member here at MoDaCo
I just wanted to say that i tried this way to root my phone but it just wouldn't works when I try to install the RUU it gives me error 171. I googled it to find a solution but I didn't find one. Can anyone of you help? Thank you.

Edited by habibs, 22 June 2010 - 10:29 PM.

  • 0

#46
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

Hi
I am a new member here at MoDaCo
I just wanted to say that i tried this way to root my phone but it just wouldn't works when I try to install the RUU it gives me error 171. I googled it to find a solution but I didn't find one. Can anyone of you help? Thank you.

Have you got HTC sync installed? You could try another computer.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#47
habibs

habibs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

Have you got HTC sync installed? You could try another computer.



Yes I had HTC Sync installed.
Anyways I used a computer which had windows XP on it and the error didn't pop out I think it is because of the driver problem on windows 7. Thank you for your help

  • 0

#48
beejreit

beejreit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Sprint HTC Hero w/ sense 2.1 installed...

Tried windows 7/xp with HTC Sync installed on both

Disabled usb debugging mode

Still will not let me install the sprint release from the wiki link...

It says something to the effect that its not the right version for my phone

Any suggestions?

  • 0

#49
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

Sprint HTC Hero w/ sense 2.1 installed...

Tried windows 7/xp with HTC Sync installed on both

Disabled usb debugging mode

Still will not let me install the sprint release from the wiki link...

It says something to the effect that its not the right version for my phone

Any suggestions?

If you're on official 2.1 there's a different method. I think there's a link on the site.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#50
BuzzFuzz

BuzzFuzz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Hero
Guys i have a problem with unrooting. now i run some 2.1 rom but i want go back to 1.6. I was downloaded official RUU from HTC web like always but when i try install RUU via HTC sync i get error 155.

help me plz

  • 0

#51
niallm

niallm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Tmobile G2
Can i ask a really stupid question?

Im looking at rooting my Tmobile G2 tonight. Ive been reading the guide beforehand just so ive got an idea of what im doing before bulldozing in. With the gold card, does this need to be permenantly in the G2 or is it only needed to modify the phone and then you are free to use another card with apps/music/pictures etc?

I know im being special, but just want to double check before i ruin anything!

cheers much

  • 0

#52
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

Guys i have a problem with unrooting. now i run some 2.1 rom but i want go back to 1.6. I was downloaded official RUU from HTC web like always but when i try install RUU via HTC sync i get error 155.

help me plz

What error is that in text?

Can i ask a really stupid question?

Im looking at rooting my Tmobile G2 tonight. Ive been reading the guide beforehand just so ive got an idea of what im doing before bulldozing in. With the gold card, does this need to be permenantly in the G2 or is it only needed to modify the phone and then you are free to use another card with apps/music/pictures etc?

I know im being special, but just want to double check before i ruin anything!

cheers much

Goldcard can be permanently in or just for rooting.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#53
niallm

niallm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Tmobile G2

What error is that in text?

Goldcard can be permanently in or just for rooting.




Thank you so much - phone is now rooted running Villain, i love it!

  • 0

#54
beejreit

beejreit

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

If you're on official 2.1 there's a different method. I think there's a link on the site.


I couldnt find it.

But I did find this "DO NOT INSTALL ANY OFFICIAL HTC UPDATES AS THEY WILL UNROOT YOUR DEVICE AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ROOT AGAIN!"
:lol:

What about goldcarding? I that my only option now? Can/should I gold card with a CDMA hero?

I guess I should've looked into rooting before jumping on to HTC's official 2.1

  • 0

#55
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

I couldnt find it.

But I did find this "DO NOT INSTALL ANY OFFICIAL HTC UPDATES AS THEY WILL UNROOT YOUR DEVICE AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO ROOT AGAIN!"
:lol:

What about goldcarding? I that my only option now? Can/should I gold card with a CDMA hero?

I guess I should've looked into rooting before jumping on to HTC's official 2.1

http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=694572

Do the method above & then start from www.roothtchero.co.uk/step-3

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#56
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero
Updated with howto flash a radio update ( http://www.roothtche...-a-radio-update )
Got rid of the CDMA stuff (to avoid confusion) and added a link to the excellent Sprint Hero 2.1 guide on XDA.

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#57
3djon

3djon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:Unlocked HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@3djon
I updated my sim free hero to the pre 2.1 OTA update. Does this lock me out of rooting and flashing a custom rom?

  • 0

#58
42turkeys

42turkeys

    Creator of OpenRUU

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 298 posts
  • Location:Lancashire, UK
  • Devices:Rooted HTC Hero

I updated my sim free hero to the pre 2.1 OTA update. Does this lock me out of rooting and flashing a custom rom?

Nope, you can still root.
Just follow the guide...

  • 0
OpenRUU - A Script to flash HTC ROMs on Mac or Linux!

My n00b, all-in-one guide to rooting the HTC Hero!

Android: There's a Hack for That :)

#59
3djon

3djon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:Unlocked HTC Hero
  • Twitter:@3djon

Nope, you can still root.
Just follow the guide...


Ok, cool thanks for the info, I'll give this a try now, and report back with any issues/success I have.

Followed your guide, was able to successfully install custom RA recovery image, as well as flash a custom rom (VillianROM12.0.0)

Hero is speedy with 2.1 and whatever built in OC Villian has done. Is it bad that I now use my hero as day to day device and legend is to the side waiting for 2.2 lol

Edited by 3djon, 02 July 2010 - 11:28 AM.

  • 0

#60
abaddon879

abaddon879

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I am struggling with rooting my Hero. I have followed the steps, but when I restart holding home and the pwoer button, it doesnt bring up and green writing. What I get is an image of a phone with a triangle above it with an exclamation mark in it. I have left it for 5-10 minutes but it does not seem to do anything after this.

Anyone know what I've done wrong?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users