Jump to content


Photo

How to /dump/ the ROM image ?


  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#41
Nanux

Nanux

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
I have made the tar of /system directory, copied it to my pc and untar it. I am not sure if I should create update-zip or img file. What is the next step?

The tar exit with this error, but as I understand, it happened because of nonexisting files.
tar: error exit delayed from previous errors

  • 0

#42
dread123

dread123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
PLs in detail, how to dump our firmwares ? not soo easy when you dont know how...specially us linux noobs :rolleyes:

  • 0

#43
Minishlink

Minishlink

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Minishlink
1) Install Android SDK or simply adb
2) Download busybox for Android
3) Launch Windows console (cmd) and go to the directory where busybox is with the "cd path/to/the/file" command.
4) "adb devices" <- Is your device detected ? If not, install HTC Sync // Of course, before you have to plug your device in... (Sync mode I guess)
5) "adb push busybox /data/local/busybox
6) "adb shell"
7) "cd /sdcard/"
8) "chmod 755 /data/local/busybox" (something like that)
9) "/data/local/busybox tar cvf dump.tar /system"
10) When it's finished, you will have a normal error like 'tar: error exit delayed from previous errors'.
11) Follow the part of this guide which allow you to make an update-signed.zip.

:rolleyes:

Edited by Minishlink, 22 May 2010 - 05:45 AM.

  • 0

#44
Nanux

Nanux

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Thank you Minishlink.

I am already on the number 12, just to be sure: I don't need anything more from the phone at this point. I was little bit confused byt the image creation discussion in start of this topic. Building the update.zip seems quite easy, is this script enough?

[codebox]show_progress 0.1 0
copy_dir PACKAGE:system SYSTEM:
set_perm_recursive 0 0 0755 0644 SYSTEM:app
show_progress 0.1 10
[/codebox]

And last question, after building the update zip is there any way to confirm if it is working, for example emulator in android tools?

Thank you

  • 0

#45
Minishlink

Minishlink

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Minishlink
I guess it's enough, but I'm not sure at all. (I didn't make the update-signed.zip, just the dump)

If you want to test, you have to use it on your own device... :rolleyes: (but another time: I guess)
Don't ask me if it can brick your device, I really don't know. ^^'

Edited by Minishlink, 22 May 2010 - 11:56 AM.

  • 0

#46
Nanux

Nanux

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire

I guess it's enough, but I'm not sure at all. (I didn't make the update-signed.zip, just the dump)

If you want to test, you have to use it on your own device... :rolleyes: (but another time: I guess)
Don't ask me if it can brick your device, I really don't know. ^^'


And after that you flashed the rom and did the root process? I am just little bit afraid of voiding the warranty, I expect for the same reason you wanted backup the ROM.

I would be delighted if someone experienced confirm that it is enought.

  • 0

#47
Minishlink

Minishlink

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Minishlink
After that I generic'ified my Desire.
I did the dump because of warranty reasons, yes. :rolleyes:

Edited by Minishlink, 23 May 2010 - 01:29 PM.

  • 0

#48
taz5176

taz5176

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD

After that I generic'ified my Desire.
I did the deump because of warranty reasons, yes. :rolleyes:


so u tested this method to flash back your original desire rom without any problems?
btw, u having 0.75 or 0.80 hboot?

  • 0

#49
Minishlink

Minishlink

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:Paris, France
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Minishlink
No no, I just said that when I received my Desire, I dumped the system partition and then I generic'ified my device. That's all. I didn't test my dump.
Don't know which hboot I have.

  • 0

#50
taz5176

taz5176

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD

No no, I just said that when I received my Desire, I dumped the system partition and then I generic'ified my device. That's all. I didn't test my dump.
Don't know which hboot I have.


icic, thx

  • 0

#51
sipos

sipos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
I'm slightly confused. This post by Paul (about rooting the HTC Desire) says that "This process will wipe your device and there is currently no option to backup your device ROM before you start". Is there some caveat that I am missing or, can we use the method described here to backup the original ROM?

  • 0

#52
moodi

moodi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Paris, FRANCE
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Moodi

so u tested this method to flash back your original desire rom without any problems?
btw, u having 0.75 or 0.80 hboot?


No HBOOT modification.

@hkfriends

Can you re-up your file on another server please?

  • 0

#53
moodi

moodi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Paris, FRANCE
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Moodi
Orange Stock Rom with Orange Boot Animation
Orange Rom


What doesn't work:
-WiFi

  • 0

#54
taz5176

taz5176

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD

No HBOOT modification.

@hkfriends

Can you re-up your file on another server please?


i read the unrooting thread, seems there's some problems on desire with hboot 0.80, im still very blur
actually i wanna backup my stock rom in case anything happen, i can revert back & send for svc.
btw, im using 1.19.707.7, the only asia stock rom ruu i found close enough is 1.19.707.6, kinda different.
believe the slight ver difference could be due to my mobile provider

  • 0

#55
moodi

moodi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Paris, FRANCE
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Moodi
Good News

everything is working as well right now.

i'll try to upload the zip tomorow.

Attached File  device.png   46.18KB   25 downloads


@taz5176

Can you upload your backup?

  • 0

#56
Ragga95

Ragga95

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Good News

everything is working as well right now.

i'll try to upload the zip tomorow.

Attached File  device.png   46.18KB   25 downloads
@taz5176

Can you upload your backup?


Oh yes , very good :(

Edited by Ragga95, 30 May 2010 - 02:59 PM.

  • 0

#57
moodi

moodi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Paris, FRANCE
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Moodi

Attached Files


Edited by moodi, 31 May 2010 - 08:13 AM.

  • 0

#58
traspler

traspler

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Devices:SGS2, HTC Desire, ADP1
  • Twitter:@traspler
So I just dumped my /system folder as explained above, untared it and made a META-INF folder and used this update-script: http://android.modac...p...t&p=1280676 and finally I signed it by following the mentioned guide.
Is this really everything needed to get my phone back to stock if I flashed a custom ROM before? No boot.img? No need to dump /data ?

  • 0

#59
moodi

moodi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:Paris, FRANCE
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@Moodi
show_progress 0.1 0

format SYSTEM:
copy_dir PACKAGE:system SYSTEM:
symlink dumpstate SYSTEM:bin/dumpcrash
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/cat
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/chmod
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/chown
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/cmp
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/date
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/dd
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/df
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/dmesg
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/getevent
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/getprop
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/hd
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/id
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/ifconfig
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/iftop
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/insmod
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/ioctl
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/kill
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/ln
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/log
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/ls
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/lsmod
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/mkdir
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/mount
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/mv
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/netstat
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/newfs_msdos
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/notify
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/printenv
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/ps
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/renice
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/rm
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/rmdir
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/rmmod
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/route
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/schedtop
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/sendevent
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/setconsole
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/setprop
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/sleep
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/smd
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/start
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/stop
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/sync
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/top
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/umount
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/vmstat
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/watchprops
symlink toolbox SYSTEM:bin/wipe
set_perm_recursive 0 0 0755 0644 SYSTEM:
set_perm_recursive 0 2000 0755 0755 SYSTEM:bin
set_perm 0 3003 02755 SYSTEM:bin/netcfg
set_perm 0 3004 02755 SYSTEM:bin/ping
set_perm 0 2000 06755 SYSTEM:bin/reboot
set_perm_recursive 1002 1002 0755 0440 SYSTEM:etc/bluez
set_perm 0 0 0755 SYSTEM:etc/bluez
set_perm 1002 1002 0440 SYSTEM:etc/dbus.conf
set_perm 1014 2000 0550 SYSTEM:etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks
set_perm 0 2000 0550 SYSTEM:etc/init.goldfish.sh
show_progress 0.1 10

show_progress 0.2 0
format BOOT:
write_raw_image PACKAGE:boot.img BOOT:
show_progress 0.2 10

can you up your tar?
Because you need to remove or replace some files...

Edited by moodi, 31 May 2010 - 05:05 PM.

  • 0

#60
SonicArt77

SonicArt77

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Hey I have a dump from my 1.20 Taiwan ROM (CHT). Can you help me with it? Thanks.

here's the link:

http://www.mediafire...3d3b27b45453728

By the way, I've noticed that the HTC_CIME inside actually works WITH multitouch. However, when I extract it out and install it by itself , it won't show up as an input device...

Edited by SonicArt77, 01 June 2010 - 11:45 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users