Jump to content


Photo

Increase touch screen sensitivity, only tested on LiquidE 1.100.05 based roms

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

#1
azuwis

azuwis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
Liquid's touch screen sensitivity is to low to me, even set to high.

After the phone was rooted, I did a `find /sys | grep sensitivity` and found something.

Here we go:
#!/system/bin/sh
sensitivity=25
noise=25
echo "set sensitivity to $sensitivity"
echo $sensitivity > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-adapter/i2c-0/0-005c/sensitivity
echo "set noise to $noise"
echo $noise > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-adapter/i2c-0/0-005c/noise
echo "done"
Default value of sensitivity and noise are 75, I set both to 25 to fit my need.

Haven't find out how to apply this after phone boots, so I made a script to do it manually using Gscript Lite.

Note I only tested it on LiquidE 1.100.05 rom, and root is needed.

This only affects touch screen, but not the 4 buttons bellow(keypad). Keypad's sensitivity can be set from Settings -> Sound & display -> Keypad sensitivity. Set it to high works pretty good for me.

You can download sensitivity.zip, unpack to get sensitivity.sh, put it to /sdcard/gscript/, and add it to Gscript Lite.

Update:
Thanks to malez for pointing out how to keep it permanent under LCR ROM:
adb shell ins_run sensitive.sh "(sleep 90;echo 25 > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-adapter/i2c-0/0-005c/sensitivity;echo 25 > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-adapter/i2c-0/0-005c/noise) &"
Update2:
Now I set values to 20/50, feel these're better. Change the values according to your need, use a unix compatible editor(notepad++, gvim, etc) to edit the file.

Update3:
Root is NOT needed at all. If the phone is not rooted, uncheck the 'su' checkbox in Gscript Lite. Thanks to Azzay for the feedback.

old Attached File  sensitivity.txt   265bytes   942 downloadsnew Attached File  sensitivity.zip   290bytes   1433 downloads

Edited by azuwis, 12 June 2010 - 05:03 AM.

  • 0

#2
nameless'

nameless'

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Location:Barcelona
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
Seems nice, did you noticed a big difference ?

Thanks for the tip anyway, will try it tonight :rolleyes:

  • 0

#3
natostanco

natostanco

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Devices:Acer liquid
  • Twitter:@ntstnc
with this script capacitive stylus works! but not for the 4 buttons :rolleyes:

Edited by natostanco, 25 May 2010 - 11:47 AM.

  • 0

#4
azuwis

azuwis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Seems nice, did you noticed a big difference ?

Thanks for the tip anyway, will try it tonight :rolleyes:

Yes, huge difference. My Liquid is a black one, screen is covered by screen protector from official Acer(Does this make sensitivity low?).

When touch panel sensitivity was set to high(default value 75), I have to press the screen to make it move. Now I only slightly touch it, and it responds to me quickly.

  • 0

#5
natostanco

natostanco

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 157 posts
  • Devices:Acer liquid
  • Twitter:@ntstnc
yep now can scroll with fingernail too, without this script was necessary the fingertip instead :rolleyes:
btw sensitivy for the 4 buttons is still the same as before, at least it seems to me :D

  • 0

#6
ondris

ondris

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location:France
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
Wow it's amazing! Very nice man!

THank you.

And I also notices thar for the 4 buttons the sensivity it's the same, but this doesn't matter :rolleyes:

Do you think we can even change the values to lower ones?

  • 1

#7
azuwis

azuwis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

yep now can scroll with fingernail too, without this script was necessary the fingertip instead :rolleyes:
btw sensitivy for the 4 buttons is still the same as before, at least it seems to me :D

Forget to mention the 4 buttons, post was updated.

  • 0

#8
Charlton22

Charlton22

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
Wowww!!!!
Can any one guide me step by step pls....
I'm very interested but I'm a complete noobbb....

Thanks

  • 0

#9
azuwis

azuwis

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Wow it's amazing! Very nice man!

THank you.

And I also notices thar for the 4 buttons the sensivity it's the same, but this doesn't matter :rolleyes:

Do you think we can even change the values to lower ones?

I tried 10, but it made touch screen unusable. You can try 20 or 15, and see if it works for you.

  • 0

#10
mogabola

mogabola

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Acer liquid, Htc diamond, n82
i hope someone will add it to a rom :rolleyes:

  • 0

#11
ondris

ondris

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Location:France
  • Devices:Acer Liquid

I tried 10, but it made touch screen unusable. You can try 20 or 15, and see if it works for you.



Ok thanks for the feedback

  • 0

#12
Charlton22

Charlton22

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 407 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
Wow just installed,
Thanks alot for your input :rolleyes:

  • 0

#13
chingy1788

chingy1788

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid A1
Wow really increases sensitivity

  • 0

#14
chingy1788

chingy1788

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 296 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid A1
I'm still a novice at linux, and the inner workings of android/linux
but I looked into this dir
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq
would changing any of those values do anything?

  • 0

#15
topifone

topifone

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
How to run the sensitive script when booting the Liquid?

  • 0

#16
ktplus

ktplus

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

I'm still a novice at linux, and the inner workings of android/linux
but I looked into this dir
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq
would changing any of those values do anything?

a good good try

  • 0

#17
Quipeace

Quipeace

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 389 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S, Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@Quipeace
Isn't that what apps like setCPU do?
The tweak works great by the way, thanks :rolleyes:

  • 0
Men are wise in proportion, not to their experience, but to their capacity for experience. - James Boswell

#18
jayziac

jayziac

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 395 posts
  • Devices:Liquid A1 (T&L GB .08 Froyo)
Does this affect battery in anyway? I'm no expert in capacitive touchscreens, but I wonder if increasing sensitivity increases the sensor polling rate or the voltage it applies to measure touches?

I noticed more sensitivity when I replaced the screen cover that came with my liquid with a cheap one bought on ebay that seemed thinner. I'm mostly using low sensitivity now, high would probably be enough for me. But it's nice to know I can go even higher if need to.

Edited by jayziac, 25 May 2010 - 03:54 PM.

  • 0

#19
barmyman

barmyman

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 133 posts
  • Location:Moscow
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
wooow!!! works really great!!! Thanks!!!

btw,maybe you are able to enable normal multitouch like on Milestone?

Edited by barmyman, 25 May 2010 - 04:07 PM.

  • 0

#20
malez

malez

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,423 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Acer Liquid - Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@malez2000
Thank you for this tips.

If you want to keep it permanent under LCR :


adb shell ins_run sensitive.sh 'echo 25 > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-adapter/i2c-0/0-005c/sensitivity ; echo 25 > /sys/devices/platform/i2c-adapter/i2c-0/0-005c/noise'

adb reboot

If you want to change value, use exactly the same commandline using different values.

If you want to disable it :
adb shell rm_run sensitive.sh

  • 0
If you enjoy what i do, i would really apprecite that you place a little gift
Posted ImagePosted Image Follow me on twitter http://twitter.com/malez2000Posted Image

LCR-F(royo)
malez recovery 0.6.1




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users