Jump to content


Photo

USB brick/rickrolled/b0rked -> FIXED!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#1
IEFtm

IEFtm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Devices:Desire / AlphaRev S-OFF 0.93
  • Twitter:@@ieftm
As most of you know, people have been hard at work to fix the USB issues we've been seeing due to recovery setting us into USB debugmode.

After unsuccessful attempts to change the kernel commandline , eg. to:

disable_uart3=0
usb_h2w_sw=0

we've been successful in discovering (with the help of XDA-developers) that these switches are stored in the first NAND partition, mtd0, or 'misc'.

You must be rooted to try the following, it seems you can't write to mtd0 without root.
Do step 1 again if you have to.

Also, SD card functionality has to work. For this, do 'fastboot oem enableqxdm 0' in fastboot mode.



Steps involved:

1. Find out your CID. Go into fastboot mode, and do 'fastboot oem boot'.

The log will say something like the following:

#INFOTAG:Ramdisk OK
#INFOTAG:smi ok, size = 0
#INFOTAG:hwid 0x0
#INFOTAG:skuid 0x21F04
#INFOTAG:hero panel = 0x0
#INFOTAG:engineerid = 0x0
#INFOMCP dual-die
#INFOMCP dual-die
#INFOTAG:mono-die = 0x0
#INFODevice CID is not super CID
#INFOCID is HTC__E11

In this specific case, the CID is HTC__E11.

2. Get the following mtd0.img from here or from here: mirror provided by SgtDavePwnage.

Edit this image to the CID you found above with a hex editor.

3. Get flash_image from here or from here: mirror provided by SgtDavePwnage.

Move this to /data/ , and flash the modified image using:

"/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img"

You can move both mtd0.img and flash_image by putting it on your sdcard, and issueing the following command in a terminal emulator:

'cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image'
'cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img'

You might have to do 'chmod u+x /data/flash_image' before you run the commands (or chmod 755 /data/flash_image)



4. Repeat step 3 a couple of times if it doesn't seem to work well.

5. All done! Reboot, you should have normal usb connectivity. Post your 'fastboot oem boot' log and intermediate steps if it fails.


Credits:

-kubino @ XDA for providing us with the 'misc' information
-TheProfessor @ irc.freenode.net #modaco for being the first test subject + debugging
-adam235 @ irc.freenode.net #modaco for being a test subject as well + debugging
-SgtDavePwnage @ irc.freenode.net #modaco -> moral support + debugging :(
-DrMon @ irc.freenode.net #modaco -> being brave enough to test on his non-bricked device!

Click here to DONATE :(

Edited by IEFtm, 30 May 2010 - 07:25 PM.

  • 1
HTC Desire
-ShadowSense 2.0 (HTC 2.10 base, not yet released..)
-World's first HBOOT S-OFF Desire by AlphaRev.

Proud project initiator for the AlphaRev project, bringing S-OFF to all the HTC devices that need it!

If you feel like supporting our device fund (which enables us to do more S-OFF hacks!) - then please do so here: Paypal donation

#2
vib_

vib_

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend
the best info :(

thnx :(

my legend non-bricked img:
INFOCID is HTC__032
INFOsetting->cid::HTC__032
Attached File  mtd0.img   640KB   102 downloads

Edited by vib_, 30 May 2010 - 05:08 PM.

  • 0

#3
demandart

demandart

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend
  • Twitter:@dema7
Hi, when i try to 'chmod u+x /data/flash_image' i get "bad mode",
if i try 'chmod 755 /data/flash_image' i get "No such file or directory...
Doing something wrong? :(

  • 0

#4
ricky812

ricky812

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Legend
IT WORKED :( thanks

Edited by ricky812, 31 May 2010 - 09:32 AM.

  • 0

#5
OlegKrikun

OlegKrikun

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Saint-Petersburg, Russia
  • Devices:HTC Legend
  • Twitter:@OlegKrikun
HTC__A07
Attached File  mtd0.img   640KB   65 downloads

big thx for all =)

  • 0
er...

#6
MichaelAlexanderBull

MichaelAlexanderBull

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HTC legend
Do we know why the devices are getting bricked and how to stop it happening now?

  • 0

#7
hensk

hensk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Devices:HTC desire

Do we know why the devices are getting bricked and how to stop it happening now?

yep,there is explenation :(

  • 0

#8
Ale Baba

Ale Baba

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna
  • Devices:HTC Legend
  • Twitter:@hofbaur

yep,there is explenation :(


I was about to ask that too but didn't quite get your response.

  • 0
Azure
(CyanogenMod 6.0.0 for HTC Legend)

Indigo Bean
(CyanogenMod 5.0.8 for HTC Legend)

#9
demandart

demandart

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Devices:HTC Legend
  • Twitter:@dema7
Ok ok ok... so.. IT WORKS!!
If there's someone with a mac out there that need the steps i followed, just ask!!!
So, thank you all for your great work, i was going to send the phone to htc soon, but, they can wait :(

  • 0

#10
KL君

KL君

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
God damn me! I've rolled back to the HTC ROM that l lost the root.


Can I flash this img in fastboot?

Edited by KL君, 01 June 2010 - 10:18 AM.

  • 0

#11
SgtDavePwnage

SgtDavePwnage

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 61 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Yorkshire, UK
  • Devices:HTC Dream, HTC Leo, HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@n/a

God damn me! I've rolled back to the HTC ROM that l lost the root.
Can I flash this img in fastboot?


Redo step 1 of the rooting process. This will give you the required access :(

  • 0

#12
KL君

KL君

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts

Redo step 1 of the rooting process. This will give you the required access :(



Thx man. Mine was done.

Thanks all guys who provided this solution.

My CID: HTC__044

Attached File  mtd0.img   640KB   107 downloads

Edited by KL君, 02 June 2010 - 02:37 PM.

  • 0

#13
kerakwaja

kerakwaja

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Thanks a lot guyz.... i was thinking of selling my Legend for another symbian phone.... :(

luckily i've found this guide... THNXXX!!!

My CID : HTC_044

i did it thru terminal emulator.... i redo step 3 like 3 or 4 times... and it's done!!

  • 0

#14
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman

For this, do 'fastboot oem enableqxdm 0' in fastboot mode.



can please someone explain how to do this ?
i can enter the recovery but get :

error: device not found

as a result

Edited by borgfather, 08 June 2010 - 07:49 PM.

  • 0

#15
Ale Baba

Ale Baba

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna
  • Devices:HTC Legend
  • Twitter:@hofbaur

i can enter the recovery


Doesn't it say "in fastboot mode"? You tried to enable fastboot in the menu?

  • 0
Azure
(CyanogenMod 6.0.0 for HTC Legend)

Indigo Bean
(CyanogenMod 5.0.8 for HTC Legend)

#16
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman
in the fastboot menu :

bootloader
reboot
reboot bootloader
power down

but no "fastboot oem enableqxdm 0"

i also cant het into the recovery boot
it says

Legedimg.nbh
no image or wrong image!

hope you can help me

  • 0

#17
Ale Baba

Ale Baba

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vienna
  • Devices:HTC Legend
  • Twitter:@hofbaur
Fastboot is enabled as soon as you start the phone with back key held down. Make sure ist says "fastboot usb" (which means the device is connected). You then need the fastboot binary to execute the above command.

To get into recovery-mode you have to launch the script provided with the rooting-package (e.g. recovery-windows). Currently there is no recovery mode, not even for rooted Legends, without pushing some files (which is done by recovery-*).

Edited by Ale Baba, 08 June 2010 - 11:03 PM.

  • 0
Azure
(CyanogenMod 6.0.0 for HTC Legend)

Indigo Bean
(CyanogenMod 5.0.8 for HTC Legend)

#18
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman

3. Get flash_image from here or from here: mirror provided by SgtDavePwnage.

Move this to /data/ , and flash the modified image using:

"/data/flash_image misc /data/mtd0.img"

You can move both mtd0.img and flash_image by putting it on your sdcard, and issueing the following command in a terminal emulator:

'cat /sdcard/flash_image > /data/flash_image'
'cat /sdcard/mtd0.img > /data/mtd0.img'

You might have to do 'chmod u+x /data/flash_image' before you run the commands (or chmod 755 /data/flash_image)
Click here to [b]DONATE
:)



do i have to do this in recovery mode ?
i cant get into it i get an error

Legedimg.nbh
no image or wrong image!

after that i get an alert symbol on the screen


any sugestions ?



PS : i can startup the device and run connectbot
can these command be run in a terminal in connectbot app ??

Edited by borgfather, 09 June 2010 - 07:42 AM.

  • 0

#19
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman
I get an : [1] segmentation fault

what can i do ?



edit extra : i did some testing , the command flash_image couses an crash ( [1] segmentation fault )
even without parameters
is there an other way to flash the mtd0 ?

Edited by borgfather, 11 June 2010 - 03:03 PM.

  • 0

#20
borgfather

borgfather

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:enschede nederland
  • Devices:HTC One
  • Twitter:@kmooijman
I keep on getting an segmentation fault when i try to run the flash_image

I'm affraid ther is more wrong with my mtd0 and it is influencing the behavior of the system

is there an ather way to get this fixed ?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users