Jump to content


Photo

30/Jun r5 - MoDaCo Custom ROM for GSM Hero now with Online Kitchen - Android 2.1

* * * * * 3 votes

  • Please log in to reply
1031 replies to this topic

#41
vanschlong

vanschlong

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:omnia
All working good so far for me, Thanks :)

  • 0

#42
amoz

amoz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I've troubles with the non A2SD-version. Music app FC's. Did a wipe before updating.

Paul: awesome work, keep it up. I'm looking forward to the custom kernel versions :)

  • 0

#43
JamieGrossman

JamieGrossman

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Devices:HTC HERO
How are you guys wiping? I don't want to lose all of my data on my phone :)

  • 0

#44
JamesKing

JamesKing

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

- if using A2SD having FAT32 as the first partition and the second partition as ext2/3


As I understand it, the partitioning tool in Amon RAs recovery images puts the ext partition as the first partition. Is this a problem?

James

  • 0

#45
rewop

rewop

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire

How are you guys wiping? I don't want to lose all of my data on my phone :)


I was getting endless boot loop before I wiped everything and I mean everything (data/factory,dalvik,ext,battery, rotation). First time wiped only data and dalvik and that didn't work.
Try to back up with Titanium or/and MyBackup apps.

  • 0

#46
richdoc

richdoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I like many others have had a bootloop after a wipe and install of MCR4 + A2SD. Interestingly when it was up and I got the SD card in it an 'ls -l' showed a load of dubious info that shouldnt be there. I revert to my old MCR3.2 and it looks good again, Im thinking I will need to try to format and re-setup my SD card.

  • 0

#47
Carl_Brummy

Carl_Brummy

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

I like many others have had a bootloop after a wipe and install of MCR4 + A2SD. Interestingly when it was up and I got the SD card in it an 'ls -l' showed a load of dubious info that shouldnt be there. I revert to my old MCR3.2 and it looks good again, Im thinking I will need to try to format and re-setup my SD card.


I tried to install VillainRom 10 based on this release, and I was stuck boot-looping on the quietly brilliant screen, and tried all manner of wipes, eventually went back to MCR 3.2 and it worked first time....and this rom is effectively based on the same release as VR10, so I guess the problem is widespread.

I am actually going to hold out for the EU release of the 2.1 update I read somewhere this is June 24th? and hope the corresponding radio image is ok to use for Orange UK.

Incidentally what is the best place to use for an HTC unlock code?

Carl.

  • 0
I feel the pull of the iPhone 4.....using the force to stay with Android....

#48
john.ohare

john.ohare

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:G2 Touch
Great work Paul, before I try it out, can you advise if this release has the wireless tether built in?

j.

  • 0

#49
amoz

amoz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

Great work Paul, before I try it out, can you advise if this release has the wireless tether built in?

j.

No tether as far as I can see

  • 0

#50
sky_hero

sky_hero

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Hero
Just a little message to say " THANK You" to Paul for this excellent work and thank you (again ! ) for is fast response for the gapps bug :-)

  • 0

#51
Markoc84

Markoc84

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:sony ericsson x1

As I understand it, the partitioning tool in Amon RAs recovery images puts the ext partition as the first partition. Is this a problem?

James


Is there a way of checking which order the partitions are on your SD card?

I also used Amon RA recovery image to partition my SD card.

Thanks for any help in getting me this ROM working.

Edited by Markoc84, 08 June 2010 - 05:49 PM.

  • 0

#52
lemmingzappa

lemmingzappa

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 91 posts
Downloading it now, can't wait to test it out :)

  • 0

#53
DickieUK

DickieUK

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
Paul,

what's the difference with "Added Click-Drag rearrange to Rosie / Sense" ?? isn't this the normal operation??


Dickie.

  • 0

#54
Johnny G

Johnny G

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero, iPhone 3G
Just waiting for my first boot to finish ... taken over 8 minutes so far! Did have a fair bit on there, though...

  • 0

#55
jonathanmusto

jonathanmusto

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero

As I understand it, the partitioning tool in Amon RAs recovery images puts the ext partition as the first partition. Is this a problem?

James


I don't think it does, I used Amon RA (1.5.3.1) and here is my parted printout:

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 32.3kB 7625MB 7625MB primary fat32 lba
2 7625MB 8137MB 512MB primary ext3
3 8137MB 8169MB 31.9MB primary linux-swap(v1)

It looks like Amon RA just asks you for the swap, then the ext, then the fat32 and does them in reverse order.

I'm just waiting for the Pauls latest release to download then i'll let you all know how i get on.

To get your partition info you need ABD installed on your PC. Boot to recovery mode (with usb plugged in). Then from dos (in the adb directory) type the below in bold.

D:\Downloads\AndroidApps\ADB\ADB>adb shell
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
/ # parted /dev/block/mmcblk0
parted /dev/block/mmcblk0
GNU Parted 1.8.8.1.179-aef3
Using /dev/block/mmcblk0
Welcome to GNU Parted! Type 'help' to view a list of commands.
(parted) print
print
print
Model: SD SU08G (sd/mmc)
Disk /dev/block/mmcblk0: 8169MB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos

Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 32.3kB 7625MB 7625MB primary fat32 lba
2 7625MB 8137MB 512MB primary ext3
3 8137MB 8169MB 31.9MB primary linux-swap(v1)

(parted)

Edited by jonathanmusto, 08 June 2010 - 06:10 PM.

  • 0

#56
Markoc84

Markoc84

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:sony ericsson x1
^^^^^^Thanks!

  • 0

#57
keyra74

keyra74

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
great rom as always, even if linkpack shows less fps i find it almost smoother than any other i tried
and thankfully my mms work
29 fps on neocore with sound... awesome, can't wait for an o/ced kernel

Edited by keyra74, 08 June 2010 - 06:35 PM.

  • 0

#58
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,219 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Working on some deodexing issues that are breaking the music player...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#59
jonathanmusto

jonathanmusto

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I'm up and running now! No more reboot loops!! Phew!

  • 0

#60
TBX

TBX

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero GSM

Peeps, make sure you are...

- wiping first


Check.

- rebooting after the first boot completes to free up space on /data



If I wipe first, it gets stuck in a boot loop ("silently better") - it never completes (PIN entry).

- if using A2SD having FAT32 as the first partition and the second partition as ext2/3


Check.

Pity! I suppose I can wipe the SD card and start again.

Odd: when I restored my Nandroid backup, Google Maps and Google Voice Search didn't show up in the installed apps.

/TBX

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users