Jump to content


Photo

How to root your LG GT540

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
151 replies to this topic

#101
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

./busybox cp su /system/bin : ./busybox not found, what can i do?

There is a new version for the root process. See post #85

  • 0

#102
gstar101

gstar101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG GT540

OK !

I have made a modified version according to the suggestions from forum members . The busybox left out , and now it is using the superuser app .You need the uploaded zip file from the original post .

C:\rootgt540v20b>adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage
5 KB/s (5392 bytes in 1.000s)

C:\rootgt540v20b>adb shell
$ chmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage
chmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage
$ ./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage


When I try the steps you gave, I get as far as the lines shown in RED.

C:\rootgt540v20b>C:\rootgt540v20b>adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage337 KB/s (0 bytes in 5392.000s)adb shell$ chmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecagechmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage$ ./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage: permission denied$ chmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecagechmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage$ ./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage: permission denied

I get up to the chmod working fine, not sure why I dont have permission though any help would be much appreciated...

P.S I'm on 2.1 Baltic using a XP Pro 32b PC.

  • 0

#103
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

When I try the steps you gave, I get as far as the lines shown in RED.

C:\rootgt540v20b>C:\rootgt540v20b>adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage337 KB/s (0 bytes in 5392.000s)adb shell$ chmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecagechmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage$ ./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage: permission denied$ chmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecagechmod 4755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage$ ./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage./data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage: permission denied

I get up to the chmod working fine, not sure why I dont have permission though any help would be much appreciated...

P.S I'm on 2.1 Baltic using a XP Pro 32b PC.

try the 1click root or on Vista , Win7 try to run the DOS windows as administrator.

Edited by joestone, 04 October 2010 - 02:39 PM.

  • 0

#104
gstar101

gstar101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG GT540

try the 1click root or on Vista , Win7 try to run the DOS windows as administrator.


Ye, I've pretty much given up on this one..and am trying the 1click. I dont have access to a Vista/Win7 pc here (@ work).

  • 0

#105
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Ye, I've pretty much given up on this one..and am trying the 1click. I dont have access to a Vista/Win7 pc here (@ work).

Try a factory reset , but do a backup before .

  • 0

#106
gstar101

gstar101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG GT540

Try a factory reset , but do a backup before .


Thats interesting, after a factory reset it went through no problems.

Thanks alot Joe

  • 0

#107
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Thats interesting, after a factory reset it went through no problems.

Thanks alot Joe

You are welcome

Edited by joestone, 04 October 2010 - 03:25 PM.

  • 0

#108
robertdq

robertdq

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
How do I unroot now?

  • 0

#109
BK2FUT

BK2FUT

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

How do I unroot now?


Universal Androot will unroot it.

Why do you want to unroot, if I may ask?

  • 0

#110
Gazzelley

Gazzelley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540 Optimus
I have trouble doing this...
"- Select the option 'Module Test', then 'Stability Test' then 'Enable Root Permission'"
After selecting 'Stability Test' I have no option to 'Enable Root Permission'. Does this mean I have an updated version that wont root so easily?
Thanks for all your help. :)

  • 0

#111
baazellbub

baazellbub

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:lg gt540

Want to root your LG GT540?

Here's how! :rolleyes:

The LG GT540 root is interesting in that it's very similar but not the same as the LG GW620 root, detailed here on XDA developers. For the GT540, LG introduced an additional level of security in the engineering application. It didn't really work out so well. :huh:

To enable Superuser access (root) on your GT540:

- Turn on the device and click the icon to open the phone dialler
- Enter the code '3845#*540#'
- Select the option 'Module Test', then 'Stability Test' then 'Enable Root Permission'
- You will now be prompted for a password - enter :SWIFT::GT540:
- A toast message will briefly appear saying 'OK' - your root access is now enabled!
- Reboot your device, and now when you connect via ADB, you'll see you have a root prompt (#).

You can now download and install ChainsDD's excellent Superuser app from here (I used the su-2.1-cd-unsecure version).

Job done! Enjoy! :huh:

P

Posted Image


there is no enable root preminition
i have 2.1 update

  • 0

#112
ilovelg

ilovelg

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Lithuania
  • Devices:LG GT540

there is no enable root preminition
i have 2.1 update


Download http://android.modac...t...st&id=63712
Plug the phone in.
Launch the root.bat

  • 0
Using: CyanogenMod7 (2.3.5) @ GT540 Swiftdroid2 RC3 by Mur4ik.

#113
Gazzelley

Gazzelley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540 Optimus

Download http://android.modac...t...st&id=63712
Plug the phone in.
Launch the root.bat


Even after downloading this, and running it while the phone is plugged in, still doesnt give the option: 'Enable Root Permission'

Any other help would be greatly appreciated.

  • 0

#114
ilovelg

ilovelg

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Lithuania
  • Devices:LG GT540
And there shouldn't be one in 2.1 lol. Check your apps, if you have Superuser application, your device is rooted.

  • 0
Using: CyanogenMod7 (2.3.5) @ GT540 Swiftdroid2 RC3 by Mur4ik.

#115
abvgde

abvgde

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

..
I have made a modified version according to the suggestions from forum members . The busybox left out , and now it is using the superuser app .You need the uploaded zip file from the original post .
...

C:\rootgt540v20b>adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp/rageagains
tthecage
...

C:\rootgt540v20b>adb push su /system/bin
1641 KB/s (26264 bytes in 0.015s)

C:\rootgt540v20b>adb shell
# chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
chmod 4755 /system/bin/su
# su


I have gt540-V10a with android 1.6 , with no 'Enable Root Permission' option. I followed procedure up to the step where I need type su and it failed with following:
su
link_image[1638]: 7017 could not load needed library 'libbinder.so' for 'su' (load_library[984]: Library 'libbinder.so' not found)CANNOT LINK EXECUTABLE

So, applications required root are not running correctly. Any ideas how I can fix the issue and root the phone properly ?

  • 0

#116
pashinator

pashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Devices:LG OPTIMUS GT540

I have gt540-V10a with android 1.6 , with no 'Enable Root Permission' option. I followed procedure up to the step where I need type su and it failed with following:
su
link_image[1638]: 7017 could not load needed library 'libbinder.so' for 'su' (load_library[984]: Library 'libbinder.so' not found)CANNOT LINK EXECUTABLE

So, applications required root are not running correctly. Any ideas how I can fix the issue and root the phone properly ?


use method from first post in topic for 1.6 and the root.bat for 2.1

  • 0
LG GT540 OPTIMUS
ROOTED
BUSYBOX
2.1
OVERCLOCKED 855 MHZ
BLACK QUARX ROM

#117
Gazzelley

Gazzelley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540 Optimus
The 'root.bat' file cannot find my device (LG GT540)
Any help?
Ty

  • 0

#118
ilovelg

ilovelg

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Lithuania
  • Devices:LG GT540
Either Install Android Drivers with Phone plugged off.
or Disable LGE Modem in Device Manager in your Windows OS

  • 0
Using: CyanogenMod7 (2.3.5) @ GT540 Swiftdroid2 RC3 by Mur4ik.

#119
Gazzelley

Gazzelley

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540 Optimus

Either Install Android Drivers with Phone plugged off.
or Disable LGE Modem in Device Manager in your Windows OS


What do you mean 'with Phone plugged off'?

  • 0

#120
ilovelg

ilovelg

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Location:Lithuania
  • Devices:LG GT540

What do you mean 'with Phone plugged off'?


Plug the phone from the PC USB cable ! and then install the drivers, is that so hard to understand ? :P Am i writing in some alien english ? :D

Edited by ilovelg, 29 November 2010 - 04:00 AM.

  • 0
Using: CyanogenMod7 (2.3.5) @ GT540 Swiftdroid2 RC3 by Mur4ik.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users