Jump to content


Photo

Help! My LG Optimus GT540 is stuck at the Android screen. [RESOLVED]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1
Ixirim

Ixirim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:The Little Red Dot
  • Devices:LG GT540
So my Optimus is rooted. I removed all of the preinstalled applications from LG from the phone using adb shell (I deeply regretted doing this). It was working fine. But then I realised theres isn't any other FM Radio app on the market. So I searched on google and found that paticular apk. Downloaded it. and then pushed it into my phone using adb push D:/LgeFMRadio.apk /system/app. I restarted the phone and it wont go past the android screen. All I see now is the Android logo appearing to load before disappearing and then reappearing again. I cant press any buttons, they dont seem to work, even the power button. So I have had to remove the battery to turn it off. So err..help!!

Edit 1 :
Ok so I can access the phone using adb for only a few seconds before it goes offline and then back online. Tried adb reboot bootloader, it just reboots and nothing else.

Edit 2 :
Tried adb logcat. Gave me a bunch of errors about not being able to find some of the stuff. logcat file attached

Edit 3 :
Printed out the bugreport in case it could be of help. Really really hope someone can help me here.

Attached Files


Edited by Ixirim, 21 June 2010 - 12:24 PM.

  • 0

#2
Batkoto

Batkoto

    Who's the Man

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney
  • Devices:LG Optimus 4x HD, Optimus L7

So my Optimus is rooted. I accidentally removed LgeFMRadio.apk from the phone using adb shell. I searched on google and found that paticular apk. Downloaded it. and then pushed it into my phone using adb push D:/LgeFMRadio.apk /system/app. I restarted the phone and it wont go past the android screen. All I see now is the Android logo appearing to load before disappearing and then reappearing again. I cant press any buttons, they dont seem to work, even the power button. So I have had to remove the battery to turn it off. So err..help!!

Edit 1 :
Ok so I can access the phone using adb for only a few seconds before it goes offline and then back online. Tried adb reboot bootloader, it just reboots and nothing else.

Edit 2 :
Tried adb logcat. Gave me a bunch of errors about not being able to find some of the stuff. logcat file attached

Edit 3 :
Printed out the bugreport in case it could be of help. Really really hope someone can help me here.


Ok, here is what you can try

with your device OFF< plug the USB cable, make sure you have LG PC Suite installed, you will need LG USB Modem driver
Make a note of the com port number that your device will appear in Device Manager under MODEMS tab, double click on "LG Android USB Modem" and select Modem tab, below you will see COM port number (remember it)

Run Hyper Terminal, setup a connection with your device and bitrate should be set to 115200, select the COM port you checked your device is connected to as MODEM

In Hyper Terminal type

AT --> if youre not getting any text typed go to FILE>>PROPERTIES>>SETTINGS>>ASCII SETUP and put tick on "Echo typed characters only"

then click OK

In Hyper Terminal window, type

AT
OK
--> if youre getting OK, then connection with your device is OK, if there is no OK, check again your PORTS

if you get OK, the type

AT%FRST
FACTORY RESET OK
--> this will perform factory reset to your device, it might fix your problem but it might not

Let me know the result

P.S. Checked your logcat

E/AndroidRuntime( 1230): *** EXCEPTION IN SYSTEM PROCESS. System will crash.
E/AndroidRuntime( 1230): dalvik.system.StaleDexCacheError: /system/app/LgeFmRadi
o.apk

seems that the FMRadio is not pushed to the place it should be or the version/size of the APK is different. Anyway, try above and let me know

Edited by Batkoto, 21 June 2010 - 10:26 AM.

  • 0

#3
Ixirim

Ixirim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:The Little Red Dot
  • Devices:LG GT540

Ok, here is what you can try

with your device OFF< plug the USB cable, make sure you have LG PC Suite installed, you will need LG USB Modem driver
Make a note of the com port number that your device will appear in Device Manager under MODEMS tab, double click on "LG Android USB Modem" and select Modem tab, below you will see COM port number (remember it)

Run Hyper Terminal, setup a connection with your device and bitrate should be set to 115200, select the COM port you checked your device is connected to as MODEM

In Hyper Terminal type

AT --> if youre not getting any text typed go to FILE>>PROPERTIES>>SETTINGS>>ASCII SETUP and put tick on "Echo typed characters only"

then click OK

In Hyper Terminal window, type

AT
OK
--> if youre getting OK, then connection with your device is OK, if there is no OK, check again your PORTS

if you get OK, the type

AT%FRST
FACTORY RESET OK
--> this will perform factory reset to your device, it might fix your problem but it might not

Let me know the result

P.S. Checked your logcat

E/AndroidRuntime( 1230): *** EXCEPTION IN SYSTEM PROCESS. System will crash.
E/AndroidRuntime( 1230): dalvik.system.StaleDexCacheError: /system/app/LgeFmRadi
o.apk

seems that the FMRadio is not pushed to the place it should be or the version/size of the APK is different. Anyway, try above and let me know


I dont think there's Hyper Terminal in win7. Are there alternatives?

  • 0

#4
Batkoto

Batkoto

    Who's the Man

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney
  • Devices:LG Optimus 4x HD, Optimus L7

I dont think there's Hyper Terminal in win7. Are there alternatives?


Yes, you can download Hyper Terminal or TeraTerm, just GOOGLE it

BTW... I just followed your steps, removed the FMradio apk from my device and power cycle, then its loading properly without issues

Edited by Batkoto, 21 June 2010 - 10:39 AM.

  • 0

#5
Ixirim

Ixirim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:The Little Red Dot
  • Devices:LG GT540

Yes, you can download Hyper Terminal or TeraTerm, just GOOGLE it

BTW... I just followed your steps, removed the FMradio apk from my device and power cycle, then its loading properly without issues


Ok so on TeraTerm, I set the port to 10 (because that's what it says) and bitrate to 115200. However when I typed AT. The cursor goes back to the beginning.

  • 0

#6
Batkoto

Batkoto

    Who's the Man

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney
  • Devices:LG Optimus 4x HD, Optimus L7

Ok so on TeraTerm, I set the port to 10 (because that's what it says) and bitrate to 115200. However when I typed AT. The cursor goes back to the beginning.


Not sure about tera term, in Hyper terminal the ECHO is fixing that problem
Try pushing my apk file to your device (extract from ZIP)

BTW, do you know if the "LgeFmRadio.odex" is still under system/app or it is removed as well
You can probably use the DDMS>> File Explorer

Attached Files


  • 0

#7
Ixirim

Ixirim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:The Little Red Dot
  • Devices:LG GT540

Not sure about tera term, in Hyper terminal the ECHO is fixing that problem
Try pushing my apk file to your device (extract from ZIP)

BTW, do you know if the "LgeFmRadio.odex" is still under system/app or it is removed as well
You can probably use the DDMS>> File Explorer


LgeFmRadio.odex is still there although I think its not the stock. God damnit I feel like Im in a race with the phone.

Edit : Woot I won the race! Many thanks to you Batkoto ;)

Edited by Ixirim, 21 June 2010 - 11:38 AM.

  • 0

#8
Batkoto

Batkoto

    Who's the Man

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPip
  • 267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney
  • Devices:LG Optimus 4x HD, Optimus L7

LgeFmRadio.odex is still there although I think its not the stock. God damnit I feel like Im in a race with the phone.

Edit : Woot I won the race! Many thanks to you Batkoto :(


Good to hear ;)

Where was the problem

  • 0

#9
Ixirim

Ixirim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Location:The Little Red Dot
  • Devices:LG GT540

Good to hear ;)

Where was the problem


Like you said. The radio app was causing it to crash. Removing both the apk and odex solved it. Had to do it before it reboots though which was like every 15 seconds or so.

  • 0

#10
PhilipBerovo

PhilipBerovo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berovo
  • Devices:LG GT540
  • Twitter:@philipberovo

Ok, here is what you can try

with your device OFF< plug the USB cable, make sure you have LG PC Suite installed, you will need LG USB Modem driver
Make a note of the com port number that your device will appear in Device Manager under MODEMS tab, double click on "LG Android USB Modem" and select Modem tab, below you will see COM port number (remember it)

Run Hyper Terminal, setup a connection with your device and bitrate should be set to 115200, select the COM port you checked your device is connected to as MODEM

In Hyper Terminal type

AT --> if youre not getting any text typed go to FILE>>PROPERTIES>>SETTINGS>>ASCII SETUP and put tick on "Echo typed characters only"

then click OK

In Hyper Terminal window, type

AT
OK
--> if youre getting OK, then connection with your device is OK, if there is no OK, check again your PORTS

if you get OK, the type

AT%FRST
FACTORY RESET OK
--> this will perform factory reset to your device, it might fix your problem but it might not

Let me know the result

P.S. Checked your logcat

E/AndroidRuntime( 1230): *** EXCEPTION IN SYSTEM PROCESS. System will crash.
E/AndroidRuntime( 1230): dalvik.system.StaleDexCacheError: /system/app/LgeFmRadi
o.apk

seems that the FMRadio is not pushed to the place it should be or the version/size of the APK is different. Anyway, try above and let me know



ok i have this similar problem and i want to factor reset but when i pick the port and try to connect i lose connection with my phone... even when i try to check port after 5 sec connection is lost... this may be some protection or so?? so any idea what can be?

  • 0

#11
acidsound

acidsound

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:GT540 , HTC HERO
hello hope this is not here off topic !

I Got a LG GT540 from an Auction from a Pawnshop , this LG is Password locked the Phone Boots , but screen is locked.

How can i Reset the Phone , the phone was Rooted , says the Guy.

thx in advance

  • 0

#12
Smille123

Smille123

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 86 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Devices:Samsung i8000, LG gt540
Had the same problem and after some attemts it worked. (puuh)

Damn, on windows mobile it was so easy to hardreset.

Thank you

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users