Jump to content


Photo

[UPDATED][MOD] Google Maps [brut] 4.4.0 stockified PROPER


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1
squrl

squrl

    I can has gingerbread?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire w/CM7 nightlies
  • Twitter:@dzouzef
If your country has official Google nav support, this isn't for you.

Hey guys,

I've modified Brut.all's Maps to better suit my taste and with Brut.all's permission I'd like to share the *.apk with you.

What's changed:
  • All icons with "BRUT" watermark reverted to stock
  • The [brut] suffix removed from the application name
  • Package name reverted back to com.google.android.apps.maps, so everything works correctly, including Car Panel and Chrometophone.
Bonus:
  • Zipaligned
  • Map caching enabled by default
DISCLAIMER

I am in no way responsible for damage done to your phone or to you, reindeers run over, alien abductions or global warming :( Everything you do, you're doing at your own responsibility. The one and only author of this great mod is Brut.all, so all cash and women are to be sent to him.

DOWNLOAD & INSTALLATION:

1) Always do a nandroid backup.
2) Download the zip file below, put it to your SD card root and flash via recovery or ROM Manager.

squrl_maps-brut16.zip, md5sum e958982666a36ed2a7df1924ae49e7c6

KNOWN ISSUES:
  • Some users are reporting that they don't see Maps, Navigation, etc. in the app drawer after they install the update.zip.
    If you are experiencing this issue, read post #46, it contains an explanation and a fix as well. It may be a bit drastic, but it's the price you have to pay if you want to use this mod.
Enjoy ;)

Special thanks to Brut.all for his work and friendly approach & to ivarson_swe for the help with package name reversion, and for the tip with enabling the map caching feature by default.

PS: If you like what I do and want to show some appreciation, you can register your Dropbox account through my referral link. You'll get 250MB for free, I'll get 250MB for free and we'll be both happy :)

Edited by squrl, 17 August 2010 - 12:10 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#2
squrl

squrl

    I can has gingerbread?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire w/CM7 nightlies
  • Twitter:@dzouzef
Now featuring in:;)

Edited by squrl, 17 August 2010 - 11:58 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#3
spammyspam

spammyspam

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 235 posts
  • Devices:Desire
As far as I knew, Brut was just to enable navigation. For those who have that now, what's the point of this?

Edited by spammyspam, 24 June 2010 - 10:43 PM.

  • 0

#4
squrl

squrl

    I can has gingerbread?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire w/CM7 nightlies
  • Twitter:@dzouzef
Yeah, you're right. This is mainly for people living in countries with no official nav support. But even if you have nav, brut maps have maps caching so it can reduce data usage and I think this is a huge advantage over the stock app.

  • 0
Posted Image

#5
pina

pina

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 145 posts

Yeah, you're right. This is mainly for people living in countries with no official nav support. But even if you have nav, brut maps have maps caching so it can reduce data usage and I think this is a huge advantage over the stock app.


the stock nav app does map caching too...

  • 0

#6
wellsgz

wellsgz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Devices:null
good work, thanks for sharing~

  • 0

#7
MIYU-G

MIYU-G

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
  • Twitter:@miyug
thanks for sharing,I will try it

  • 0

#8
squrl

squrl

    I can has gingerbread?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire w/CM7 nightlies
  • Twitter:@dzouzef

the stock nav app does map caching too...

Didn't know that, thanks for the info!

EDIT: according to Brut.all himself, the stock GM caches only about ~1 MB of tiles for immediate use. Brut mod caches all, if enabled in the mod menu, so it really can greatly reduce data usage!

Edited by squrl, 25 June 2010 - 12:53 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#9
DjipOner

DjipOner

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire & Desire HD
  • Twitter:@DjipOner
Thanks for your MOD!

But is it the latest version of "Brut Google Maps" (4.3.0.4305-brut14)?

Thanks


(Sorry 4 my English)

EDIT: YES, its the latest! :-D

Edited by DjipOner, 26 June 2010 - 11:36 AM.

  • 0

#10
squrl

squrl

    I can has gingerbread?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire w/CM7 nightlies
  • Twitter:@dzouzef
Yes, it is the latest 4.3 (brut14) version, it is stated in the topic title :lol:

  • 0
Posted Image

#11
davos1

davos1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
  • Devices:T-mobile Pulse
Just awesome. Thanks :lol:

  • 0

#12
bob blob

bob blob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
so can i download maps over WIFI with this to use later?

  • 0

#13
squrl

squrl

    I can has gingerbread?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire w/CM7 nightlies
  • Twitter:@dzouzef
Yes, but this is a built-in feature of Maps [brut], it's nothing that I have added. My "mod" only customizes looks, so the Maps [brut] appears the same as the stock Maps.

You can download maps for your whole country (or even for the whole world) using gMapMaker and use them with brut Maps :lol:

  • 0
Posted Image

#14
bob blob

bob blob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Yes, but this is a built-in feature of Maps [brut], it's nothing that I have added. My "mod" only customizes looks, so the Maps [brut] appears the same as the stock Maps.

You can download maps for your whole country (or even for the whole world) using gMapMaker and use them with brut Maps :lol:



awesome!! THANKS!
will check out gMapMaker today for sure!

out of curiousity, i just came across something called MapDroyd and am downloading some maps now.
how does these 2 compare to each other?

  • 0

#15
pmcguire

pmcguire

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Nexus One
Thanks for this, finally I have got navigation in Finland on my HTC desire.

  • 0

#16
mrshark

mrshark

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts

Yes, but this is a built-in feature of Maps [brut], it's nothing that I have added. My "mod" only customizes looks, so the Maps [brut] appears the same as the stock Maps.

You can download maps for your whole country (or even for the whole world) using gMapMaker and use them with brut Maps :lol:

how to do this? download maps with this program, and then, where to put them in SD card to let brut maps find them? thanks :-)

  • 0

#17
tommo123

tommo123

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Desire
to check, you can install the apk normally? no adb or anything needed?

Edited by tommo123, 04 July 2010 - 04:01 PM.

  • 0

#18
squrl

squrl

    I can has gingerbread?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire w/CM7 nightlies
  • Twitter:@dzouzef
Yes but that'll result in having two apps with the same name, so it might be a little difficult to distinguish between them. It's not a problem, but as I said, I've done this mod primarily to replace the original Maps app.
If you don't want to mess with adb I recommend you to install the untouched Maps [brut] from XDA.

  • 0
Posted Image

#19
maliki

maliki

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:HTC Desire
too bad your app doesnt load when i try to open it using Navigator Panel or Car Home. I really hope it can load and truly replace the stock maps since navigation feature is not available in my country. However, I appreciate ur work, good job bro. thanx for the app.

  • 0

#20
tommo123

tommo123

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Desire
ta :)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users