Jump to content


Photo

22/Jul r3 (JG5) - MoDaCo Custom ROM for Samsung Galaxy S with Online Kitchen


  • Please log in to reply
739 replies to this topic

#81
Xoneso

Xoneso

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S, SE X10
Getting errors when running MarketSpeedup.sh in ASE:

/system/ase/scripts/MarketSpeedup.sh: cannot create /sdcard/ase/resources/temp.sh: directory nonexistent

Edited by Xoneso, 01 July 2010 - 11:52 AM.

  • 0

#82
woutf

woutf

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S
  • Twitter:@woutf

Nope. Not the JF3 version.. Manually typing in the acces point won't work. Can you tell me which file i have to flash the next time? Only the PDA or..?

Trying adding your APN and the rebooting. That did the trick for me

  • 0

#83
SBVerlee

SBVerlee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Sonim XP3, Samsung Galaxy S
  • Twitter:@SimonV89

Trying adding your APN and the rebooting. That did the trick for me

Did you also use all the files in the firmware package?

  • 0

#84
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Getting errors when running MarketSpeedup.sh in ASE:

/system/ase/scripts/MarketSpeedup.sh: cannot create /sdcard/ase/resources/temp.sh: directory nonexistent

Ah, i'll fix that now, doh!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#85
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Should be fixed now!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#86
Xoneso

Xoneso

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S, SE X10
Testing it now Paul.

Also found another way to enter recovery if you don't have acces to adb. Power Off Phone, Hold in Volume Up + Home + Power

Dunno if this has been said before.

Edit: Daily Briefing still gets installed even if you don't tick it off in the kitchen option
Edit2: No errors when running ASE and MarketSpeedup.sh now

Edited by Xoneso, 01 July 2010 - 12:46 PM.

  • 0

#87
SBVerlee

SBVerlee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Sonim XP3, Samsung Galaxy S
  • Twitter:@SimonV89

Should be fixed now!

P

Paul, can you make a dump of your CSC file. Please.

  • 0

#88
dan 6a

dan 6a

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:SGS I9000
Can someone please give me a hand for one sec;

I connected the phone to the PC
renamed the ZIP from modaco to update.zip
put it in the root dir
enabled debugging
adb reboot
select the update.zip
press home key
it says file not found.

I don't have a physical microsd card (I dont need one do I?)
I have the latest FW via odin

****I fixed this 2 seconds after I posted sorry****** I checked the update file via phones file viewer and saw I renamed it update.zip.zip D'OH

I think its working.. :lol:

I don't mean to be rude but what was the point of putting trial software on there?

Edited by dan 6a, 01 July 2010 - 02:37 PM.

  • 0

#89
jjwa

jjwa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S
Please forgive me my noobishness, the Galaxy S will be my first Android phone ever:
Do I require root to use these custom roms, will my phone be rooted by using these custom roms, or is rooting something I will have to do separately?

Edit:
Okay, fail... Apparently the topic start already mentions a root thing. Now to find the 'delete post' button...
Hm, I guess I can't...

Edited by jjwa, 01 July 2010 - 03:31 PM.

  • 0

#90
phete

phete

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:Sony Ericsson Xperia X1
Hmm, after flashing JFB and this rom, the camera app shows a dialog box as soon as i run it saying the camera didn't work, and then quits :<

EDIT: http://phete.se/camera_error.html
That's what the debug output is in the debug monitor... :/

EDIT2: And now it worked all of a sudden, after lots and lots of failures...

Edited by phete, 01 July 2010 - 04:11 PM.

  • 0

#91
Tyxerakias

Tyxerakias

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Does this ROM include the stall fix from your other post "Got the 'stalling' problem? Rooted? Try this...", Paul?

This is great work, I'll be installing it as soon as I receive my phone.. :lol:

Also, is the russian problem that some people are having with JFB solved? (i.e. some applications and samsung market appearing in russian even after the language change)

Thanks again!

  • 0

#92
bambibio

bambibio

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S

Does this ROM include the stall fix from your other post "Got the 'stalling' problem? Rooted? Try this...", Paul?


It does not (yet, i hope). I just did the stall fix manually though, and it's so worth it. I'm just laughing while i'm going through the phone now :lol:

Thanks a ton Paul!

Also, anyone wondering if it's worth a few pounds, I can assure you, it so is :D

  • 0

#93
dan 6a

dan 6a

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:SGS I9000

Hmm, after flashing JFB and this rom, the camera app shows a dialog box as soon as i run it saying the camera didn't work, and then quits :<

EDIT: http://phete.se/camera_error.html
That's what the debug output is in the debug monitor... :/

EDIT2: And now it worked all of a sudden, after lots and lots of failures...


Remove Fring.

I had camera fails galore with it, was so worried it was the device but it was just the app fring causing the nightmares. even after rebooting it would still be failing

  • 0

#94
Tyxerakias

Tyxerakias

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

It does not (yet, i hope). I just did the stall fix manually though, and it's so worth it. I'm just laughing while i'm going through the phone now :lol:

Thanks a ton Paul!

Also, anyone wondering if it's worth a few pounds, I can assure you, it so is :D


Thanks bambibio :D Did you have that russian issue?

  • 0

#95
bambibio

bambibio

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 39 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S

Thanks bambibio :lol: Did you have that russian issue?


I think i had some random Russian here and there and IIRC i just rebooted and they were gone. (change to your language before boot)

  • 0

#96
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Yeah, Russian is default but it soon picks up the right language from your SIM, not an issue...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#97
Tyxerakias

Tyxerakias

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Yeah, Russian is default but it soon picks up the right language from your SIM, not an issue...

P


Thanks Paul. The initial reports said that you could not change the bookstore app for example from russian, and the samsung apps were pointed to http://m.ru.samsungapps..
And a couple more things which I can't find now. That's what I was referring to... You don't have these issues i take it?

  • 0

#98
soraxd

soraxd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:galaxy S
how do i download this? do i need to pay or something?

  • 0

#99
krotwijk

krotwijk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Devices:samsung galaxy s

how do i download this? do i need to pay or something?


Yes, for the kitchen you must pay.

I've just paid, but have to wait a few days before paypal account has paid by bank

  • 0

#100
SirBarnz

SirBarnz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:i9000
Thanks Paul!

Just installed this and done the stall fix. Phone is certainly flying now, not that it was exactly slow beforehand.

Only issue I noticed was that Daily Briefing gets installed whether you choose to or not.

Looking forward to future goodies!

Edited by SirBarnz, 01 July 2010 - 09:30 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users