Jump to content


Photo

"Cannot Connect" to the internet even though WiFi connected

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
curious_test

curious_test

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi, I have flashed my phone with "[ROM][25/07/2010] Sense 2.5.2016 - MultiLang" http://www.modaco.co...2016-multilang/ and everthing seems to work correctly except for connecting to the internet.

The WiFi connection itself seems to work and it gets an IP Address.

However, when attempting to browse, I get the following message:
Cannot Connect
The connection has been ended. To change your connection settings, tap Settings
Settings Dismiss

I have read on various postings that the operator should be changed (Settings, Operator, Change) to correct this, however, there does not seem to be Operator option under (Settings, Connections).

Thanks in advance for any help!

  • 0

#2
voyteckst

voyteckst

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 889 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cracow, Poland
  • Devices:Xperia Neo V/Nexus 7
Check in settings -> connections if You don't have checked proxy setting. I experienced it once or two - it checked itself or some app did it.

  • 0

#3
night.fox

night.fox

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung I8000 16gb
have try restore connection under settings?

  • 0
enjoying my JF5 ver T lite room by master Lancez ^_^

#4
sinancetinkaya

sinancetinkaya

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 495 posts
  • Location:izmir, Turkey
  • Devices:i8000
Settings/Browser connections/Automatically detect settings [enable it] and try again

Edited by sinancetinkaya, 07 August 2010 - 02:58 PM.

  • 0

#5
curious_test

curious_test

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
There does not seem to be a "restore connection", nor "Settings/Browser connections/Automatically detect settings", and since no modem connections are setup, there is no possibility to have the proxy option accidentally checked.

The closest that I can find is:
Start->Settings->Connections->Connections
which lists the following:
My ISP
Add a new modem connection
My Work Networks
Add a new modem connection
Add a new VPN server connection
Set up my proxy server

Start->Settings->System->About
Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional
CE OS 5.2.21911 (Build 21911.5.0.94)

  • 0

#6
asolram

asolram

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II (i8000L)
Did you specify to use your Wifi connection for Internet and not Work only? if I'm not mistaken, for 6.5.x you can check this setting under Wifi in MS Settings, in 6.5, when you connect you can check if you're going to use it for work or internet, if you don't remember, just go a check the settings of your connection.

On the other hand, and this is just personal preference, everytime I flash a nb0 rom, first of all, I flash the full mst (stock image), some people may think this is "double effort" (flashing mst is kind of slow :)) but when creating my own ROMs or when flash ROMs from the great Chefs in here, I've noticed that some issues get fixed by doing this. May be is your case, may not but you can give it a try.

  • 0

#7
curious_test

curious_test

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Did you specify to use your Wifi connection for Internet and not Work only? if I'm not mistaken, for 6.5.x you can check this setting under Wifi in MS Settings, in 6.5, when you connect you can check if you're going to use it for work or internet, if you don't remember, just go a check the settings of your connection.

On the other hand, and this is just personal preference, everytime I flash a nb0 rom, first of all, I flash the full mst (stock image), some people may think this is "double effort" (flashing mst is kind of slow :)) but when creating my own ROMs or when flash ROMs from the great Chefs in here, I've noticed that some issues get fixed by doing this. May be is your case, may not but you can give it a try.


I checked:
Start->Settings->Connections->Wi-Fi->Wireless Networks->Network Adapters
and the "My network card connects to" is set to "The Internet"

Where or how do I get the appropriate .mst file for a given .nb0? The ROM I am currently using only came as a .nb0 (JF5_21911_2016_RC4.nb0) file, and all I can find is instructions to convert an .mst to .nb0.

  • 0

#8
asolram

asolram

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Devices:Omnia II (i8000L)

I checked:
Start->Settings->Connections->Wi-Fi->Wireless Networks->Network Adapters
and the "My network card connects to" is set to "The Internet"

Where or how do I get the appropriate .mst file for a given .nb0? The ROM I am currently using only came as a .nb0 (JF5_21911_2016_RC4.nb0) file, and all I can find is instructions to convert an .mst to .nb0.


This is the post in the ROM section of the Forum (http://www.modaco.co...t-kingmobi-net/)

As you see is heavier than the nb0, you have to download all parts they open the file with winrar or 7zip and there you go :) the process is the same as flashing an nb0 but instead of selecting PDA you use the MoviNAND button in Octans.

  • 0

#9
Deee

Deee

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
i'm having the exact same issue, it says i'm connected to the network but when i try to connect to use twitter/facebook/internet browser it has an error as if it's not connected

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users