Jump to content


Photo

Google Voice Actions / updated Quick Search Box APKs (original / testsigned)

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Google have released Voice Actions and an updated Quick Search Box for Froyo devices, detailed here.

Unfortunately they are only in the US market, and also can have issues depending on the signing configuration on your ROM.

So I've put some downloads up. :D

TRY THIS VERSION FIRST.

APKs with original signing - DOWNLOAD - MD5: b8eb69533a7c1492e2ca276b3f07a734

TRY THIS VERSION IF YOU GET 'INSTALLATION UNSUCCESSFUL':

APKs with test signing - DOWNLOAD - MD5: fa19f4889b408381b7f3a78376709161

Enjoy, and remember this is for Froyo only!

P

Update: If you need ChromeToPhone too for whatever reason, i've uploaded it here.

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
BongoSTL

BongoSTL

    Newbie

  • Validating
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:n1
anyone have any clue on the new clock APK that it wants in order to use the 'set alarm' command?

  • 0

#3
Asselberghs

Asselberghs

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 309 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Denmark
  • Devices:Oneplus One
  • Twitter:@Asselberghs
Hmm wierd neither of the files works on MCR r5 release of Froyo rom. Not that it matter that much to me, just thought I´d report back. Device is HTC Desire.

  • 0

Device: Oneplus One Rom: Cyanogenmod 11S Android version: 4.4.4 - Kitkat 


#4
pd555

pd555

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 73 posts

Hmm wierd neither of the files works on MCR r5 release of Froyo rom. Not that it matter that much to me, just thought I´d report back. Device is HTC Desire.


Both work fine for me on R5 (Desire). Unzipped onto SD and selected with Astro which opened App Manager.

Now I just need to find out what Voice Actions does! :D


Thanks Paul

EDIT: installed the top Original Signing ones

Edited by pd555, 12 August 2010 - 08:19 PM.

  • 0

#5
pcb007

pcb007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Does not seem to work for me, i say listen to Elton John as an example or send text to Stuart and it fires up the google search page on the web. Navigate, map, call seems to work most of the time Any ideas please?

  • 0

#6
Jason Syn

Jason Syn

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Kaiser

Does not seem to work for me, i say listen to Elton John as an example or send text to Stuart and it fires up the google search page on the web. Navigate, map, call seems to work most of the time Any ideas please?


These don't work on CM6, thanks for trying Paul.

  • 0

#7
Popple3

Popple3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Just showed up in the Irish Market, perhaps they aren't US only after all

  • 0

#8
elroy944

elroy944

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 67 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Devices:HD2, Desire, Desire HD
  • Twitter:@Elroy944

Hmm wierd neither of the files works on MCR r5 release of Froyo rom. Not that it matter that much to me, just thought I´d report back. Device is HTC Desire.



works great with R8 on my htc desire using the test signed files, anyone has the new clock.apk with test signed? hope to get the alarm clock work as well here in the netherlands

  • 0

#9
malavan

malavan

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
it is impossible to set the alarm,download the latest clock from the android marke.t Whats that i have the latest clock apps.

  • 0

#10
BongoSTL

BongoSTL

    Newbie

  • Validating
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:n1

it is impossible to set the alarm,download the latest clock from the android marke.t Whats that i have the latest clock apps.



from what i can tell, the alarm hasn't been released into the market yet....

anyone have information other than this?

  • 0

#11
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,369 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
If anyone needs ChromeToPhone it's in the first post...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#12
pcb007

pcb007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
Forgive my ignorance but what is CM6?

Its ok i found out, i am using mcr r8 if that makes a difference

Edited by pcb007, 12 August 2010 - 09:19 PM.

  • 0

#13
gaz31

gaz31

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:LG Optimus 2x
first files work fine with Cronos 2.2

  • 0

#14
ri2la

ri2la

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
I'm in the uk and show in the market, tried to download and it failed, tried the files in OP and failed.

BUT...... If you uninstall "Google search" and "google voice search" first, using titanium backup or adb, then REBOOT!! and if you don't it doesn't work. Then install from market. Worked perfectly for me on my Hero with a custom ROM.

  • 0

#15
James Norton

James Norton

    AKA @nortools on Twitter

  • Senior News Team
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

I'm in the uk and show in the market, tried to download and it failed, tried the files in OP and failed.

BUT...... If you uninstall "Google search" and "google voice search" first, using titanium backup or adb, then REBOOT!! and if you don't it doesn't work. Then install from market. Worked perfectly for me on my Hero with a custom ROM.


Is the new search app bound to your hardware search button too?

  • 0

#16
ri2la

ri2la

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
looks like it.

With the voice search, I can't get it to work with the "listen to", "send text to" and a few others, yet "navigate to" and call .... works!!!! Strange.

EDIT: fixed,

Mark Carter said...

You need to set the Voice Recognizer language to US English.

Home -> Menu -> Settings -> Voice input & output -> Voice recognizer settings -> Language -> English (US)

It won't work on other languages like English (UK).


Edited by ri2la, 12 August 2010 - 10:06 PM.

  • 0

#17
jmmL

jmmL

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Location:Oxford, UK
  • Devices:T-Mobile Pulse
  • Twitter:@James_Lawler
I've just installed it from the UK market - works just as advertised!

  • 0

#18
James Norton

James Norton

    AKA @nortools on Twitter

  • Senior News Team
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts

looks like it.

With the voice search, I can't get it to work with the "listen to", "send text to" and a few others, yet "navigate to" and call .... works!!!! Strange.

EDIT: fixed,



Hmm, on my Nexus One having followed your instructions above, I have lost the bindings. Thanks for helping me to get the voice search to work properly though, was really annoying me.

  • 0

#19
christonge

christonge

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Madrid
  • Devices:Magic, Liquid, Nexus, Desire
  • Twitter:@christonge
Cheers mate... installed via test-signing ;-)

  • 0
Twitter: christonge

#20
Mekerz

Mekerz

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
Installed fine using the first download link, however - I find it really inaccurate, and my text/voice settings are set to English UK.

"Send text to" never works for me. Anyone else finding the same?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users