Jump to content


Photo

19/Aug - Streak 2.1 downloads / how-tos (ROM / Superboot / Recovery)


  • Please log in to reply
145 replies to this topic

#21
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
It's the same ROM. I've just collected all the info together in a post.

My custom ROM is to follow soon.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#22
BigHeadDog

BigHeadDog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts
managed to solve the android problem in pc. now doing the upgrading. pls bless me lol...

Edited by BigHeadDog, 19 August 2010 - 03:05 PM.

  • 0

#23
fards

fards

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,434 posts
  • Location:staffordshire
  • Interests:Human powered vehicles
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@fardsmobile
I've renamed and moved the install-recovery.sh to a folder on the sdcard,
that way I've got a dead-easy way return to stock recovery, in case a new update.pkg appears when I'm nowhere near a computer :D

  • 0

#24
parcsalooc

parcsalooc

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts

I've renamed and moved the install-recovery.sh to a folder on the sdcard,
that way I've got a dead-easy way return to stock recovery, in case a new update.pkg appears when I'm nowhere near a computer :D


How soon Paul?? I am dying over here LOL!!!

  • 0

#25
payneardo

payneardo

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Location:cleethorpes
  • Interests:gadgets, football and music
  • Devices:dell streak
  • Twitter:@payneardo

I'd recommend the Nexus One ERE27 one, i've always found it to be the most reliable for these things...

ro.build.fingerprint=google/passion/passion/mahimahi:2.1-update1/ERE27/24178:user/release-keys
This is what i'm using in my forthcoming 2.1 MCR.

P


okies will have a play with that..
I was trying a desire, didn't even think about passion/nexus, obviously makes much more sense..


sorry for posting on this thread but how do I change this ??. I have market enabler installed ??

and yes I am a newbie just learning the ropes.. :D

Cheers

  • 0

#26
BigHeadDog

BigHeadDog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

managed to solve the android problem in pc. now doing the upgrading. pls bless me lol...

finally managed to upgrade to 2.1. thanks paul and i love ya lol...

  • 0

#27
andycqos

andycqos

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
Does this turn a Dell 00 model into a 21 model? In other words, when Dell release the 2.2 update will I be able to do it OTA?

  • 0

#28
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
It effectively does, yeah.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#29
BigHeadDog

BigHeadDog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Does this turn a Dell 00 model into a 21 model? In other words, when Dell release the 2.2 update will I be able to do it OTA?

im also having the 00 model and finally upgraded it to 21 model...

  • 0

#30
andycqos

andycqos

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 105 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

It effectively does, yeah.

P

Which bit? :D

Presumably, you mean it turns it into a 21 model.

So I would have to wait for an O2 release of 2.2? Is there a Dell stock recovery version out there to, effectively, switch it back to 00?

  • 0

#31
fards

fards

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,434 posts
  • Location:staffordshire
  • Interests:Human powered vehicles
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@fardsmobile

sorry for posting on this thread but how do I change this ??. I have market enabler installed ??

and yes I am a newbie just learning the ropes.. :D

Cheers


You can change the text by grabbing build.prop from your /system folder using adb pull edit it on your PC. Then use adb push to put it back again
Personally I use rootexplorer (paid app), obviously need to be rooted, and can mount system folder as r/w then edit it internally as a text file, using rootexplorer. afterwards mount r/o
Rootexplorer automatically creates a backup file which I tend to move to the sdcard..

  • 0

#32
payneardo

payneardo

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 84 posts
  • Location:cleethorpes
  • Interests:gadgets, football and music
  • Devices:dell streak
  • Twitter:@payneardo

You can change the text by grabbing build.prop from your /system folder using adb pull edit it on your PC. Then use adb push to put it back again
Personally I use rootexplorer (paid app), obviously need to be rooted, and can mount system folder as r/w then edit it internally as a text file, using rootexplorer. afterwards mount r/o
Rootexplorer automatically creates a backup file which I tend to move to the sdcard..


Cheers just gave at go with root explorer much appreciated for the help :D

Will have to have another look as still missing apps from market :D such as google earth.. ??

I just edited the one (fingerprint) line saved and mounted back as RO. Cleared the cache for the market & gave a reboot.

Edited by payneardo, 19 August 2010 - 06:06 PM.

  • 0

#33
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10

I've renamed and moved the install-recovery.sh to a folder on the sdcard,
that way I've got a dead-easy way return to stock recovery, in case a new update.pkg appears when I'm nowhere near a computer :D


Hi fards,
Have you renamed the file extension or the actual file? Just wondering as I want to do the same, I still have a stock recovery for the exact same reason.
I have just put the 'install-recovery.sh' file into a folder on my sd card.
Thanks.

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#34
STILLSPRINTIN

STILLSPRINTIN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Update: The stock 2.1 build has a built in mechanism that is overwriting the stock recovery image. To disable this, with your device booted and rooted, enter the following at a command prompt (in the directory where you extracted the zip above) before re-flashing the recovery image using the instructions above:

adb-windows shell (or adb-linux shell or adb-mac shell)
su
mount -o remount,rw /dev/block/mtdblock6 /system && rm /system/etc/install-recovery.sh && mount -o remount,ro /dev/block/mtdblock6 /system
exit
exit


Paul, or anyone who has successfully completed this, when you mention: enter the following at a command prompt (in the directory where you extracted the zip above). If I save the 2.0.5.1 repack for 2.1 to my c drive, do I just run cmd and enter: cd c:\2.5.0.1-streak-clockworkrecovery\ and then enter the update commands you posted to get this to work?

Edited by Paul, 20 August 2010 - 07:09 AM.

  • 0

#35
fards

fards

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,434 posts
  • Location:staffordshire
  • Interests:Human powered vehicles
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@fardsmobile

Hi fards,
Have you renamed the file extension or the actual file? Just wondering as I want to do the same, I still have a stock recovery for the exact same reason.
I have just put the 'install-recovery.sh' file into a folder on my sd card.
Thanks.

I just called it stock_21_install-recovery.sh so I'd know what it was..

Edited by fards, 20 August 2010 - 06:48 AM.

  • 0

#36
spences10

spences10

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 347 posts
  • Location:London UK
  • Devices:DELL Streak, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@spences10

I just called it stock_21_install-recovery.sh so I'd know what it was..


Ok, thanks. So now I can flash Clockwork Mod recovery via the flash_image command in terminal emulator right?

Also vibration has stopped working on my streak now, if I reflash 2.1 do you think it will clear it up?

[EDIT] Q: If I want to re-flash 2.1 can I just do it via the conventional .pkg file on the sdcard using the stock recovery that came with the 2.1 update?

Edited by spences10, 20 August 2010 - 09:32 AM.

  • 0
I have ORD

Samsung Galaxy Nexus
ROM: CM9 Skankwich
ClockworkMod recovery [of course]

Circle Me
Follow Me

#37
smokku

smokku

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Location:Madrid
  • Devices:Dell Streak, Nokia N900
  • Twitter:@smokku
There is something wrong with this leaked 2.1 system.
With 1.6 I was way over 60% battery after one day of use. Yesterday I installed 2.1 and with full battery my Streak died over night.

Could it be the animated wallpaper fault?

  • 0
smk

If you want to reach me - go XDA!

#38
miker71

miker71

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak (factory unlocked)
  • Twitter:@britmic
I can confirm I got my 00 (SIM unlocked) model upgraded to the "O2" 2.1 version thanks to the tutorial (thanks Paul!)

I am liking this device a lot so far (even 1.6 seemed ok, but y'know how it is), and apart from Dell's status bar overlay (which isn't particularly objectionable or anything) I don't think they've dicked around too much with the standard AOSP (which I like!)

For a moment I did think Google Mail was missing when I pressed the icon on the homescreen and it said app not installed - turns out there seems to be two gmail icons listed in the apps list, and the second works ok. I'm guessing this might clear up after a reboot.

I also had the issue where I couldn't sign in with my googlemail account until I turned off WiFi and used carrier data only (which it accurately got as Vodafone internet/web rather than Vodafone Live/WAP like every other phone).

Now for some rooting around ....

  • 0

#39
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
2 Gmail icons? That's odd!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#40
BigHeadDog

BigHeadDog

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

There is something wrong with this leaked 2.1 system.
With 1.6 I was way over 60% battery after one day of use. Yesterday I installed 2.1 and with full battery my Streak died over night.

Could it be the animated wallpaper fault?

Which animated wallpaper?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users