Jump to content


Photo

Custom U8100 ROM RLS6 [2010-09-29]


  • Please log in to reply
107 replies to this topic

#21
Lutin malin

Lutin malin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:u8100

maybe, but I need to know exactly what U8100 model you have which firmware is your original one. I'm talking about the firmwares and models you can choose from on this page: http://www.huaweidev...n...20&treeId=0

This should be the one: U8100 V100R001C109B220(France Orange)
It's the only one for Orange.
However, the build version stated on my phone is a bit different: U8100 V100R001C158B221SP01
The firmware stated on the phone is 2.1 update 1.
baseband is 2210
Kernel version is 2.6.29-perf

Many thanks

I'll have a look at the zip file available on Huawei but I doubt I'll find anything, being quite new to all of this. :lol:

  • 0

#22
Lutin malin

Lutin malin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:u8100
quick late update:
I managed to see the logcat of the phone.
In the middle of a lot of gibberish, it said there is a missing wpa_supplicant.conf file missing.
I tried to put the file (found it online), but then it asks for another file from a "wpa_supplicant" folder.
Maybe this 'wpa supplicant' is not installed and should be? I got the source file...don't know if I'll manage to install it...we'll see tomorrow!
Do you think it might be the problem?

  • 0

#23
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad
I think we're on the right track... What does this command output on your phone:

$ su
# cat data/custom.bin

I think I'm starting to understand how the custcopy stuff in init.rc works the meaning of the /system/cust folder.

Edited by kallt_kaffe, 16 September 2010 - 08:22 AM.

  • 0
Blog - App

#24
Lutin malin

Lutin malin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:u8100
great then :lol:

The command returns: "orange/fr"

  • 0

#25
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

great then :lol:

The command returns: "orange/fr"


Great... I have an idea on how to proceed from here.

  • 0
Blog - App

#26
Lutin malin

Lutin malin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:u8100

Great... I have an idea on how to proceed from here.


Cool!
On my side, I tried to perform some minor tweakings...with partial success.
Before, the wifi would not enable at all, and now I can enable it for some seconds (even though it is unable to search for networks)
As far as wpa_supplicant goes, I tried to see if I could install it..but the usual ./configure ./make don't seem to work, so I'm stuck.

Cheers,

  • 0

#27
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

Cool!
On my side, I tried to perform some minor tweakings...with partial success.
Before, the wifi would not enable at all, and now I can enable it for some seconds (even though it is unable to search for networks)
As far as wpa_supplicant goes, I tried to see if I could install it..but the usual ./configure ./make don't seem to work, so I'm stuck.

Cheers,


In fact if you just rename /system/cust/expert/se to /system/cust/orange/fr it may work, but I'm building a new release where I've removed the /system/cust depenency completely. I'll let you know how it goes.

  • 0
Blog - App

#28
Lutin malin

Lutin malin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:u8100

In fact if you just rename /system/cust/expert/se to /system/cust/orange/fr it may work, but I'm building a new release where I've removed the /system/cust depenency completely. I'll let you know how it goes.


I tried renaming thru a file manager on the phone but I don't see any difference.
The message that repeats the most is: "the value returned from dun_getusbmodemstate_fromsys is 2"
And it's still talking about a missing "data/misc/wpa_supplicant/eth0"
and "failed to initialize control interface '/var/run/wpa_supplicant"

  • 0

#29
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad
Almost done now... Going to test some last minute changes. One surprise was that when I built my way around the cust thingy I suddenly have a full range of languages to select from. Not just English, German, French, Spanish and Swedish as I had before. Now there are all kinds of languages available so it seems the Android build is compiled with a full range of languages but something filtered out most of them.

Edited by kallt_kaffe, 17 September 2010 - 10:07 AM.

  • 0
Blog - App

#30
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

rild.libargs=-d /dev/smd0 is there too, idk how i missed it in last post :)
ok so, updata flahsed. U8110 V100R001C85B215SP06. all is ok again network is there, keeping it on card for emergency :lol:

then flashed ur rls4, all back to old situation (everything works but network). reflashed my own rom (restored nandroid to assure network working) same crap. no network.
tryed ur boot.img with my rom, same. tryed r3b from gforums, same. i guess there is something else here but im not that skilled troubeshooter for androids to figure it out.

strange is, my very first gmod_0.1 works. even more strange is .. its givi italy rom (extracted system.img deodexed superuser) and its fine.


Now I've actually compared the Telenor U8110 ROM and the Expert U8100 ROM (both swedish ROMs) and boot.img is as far as I can see identical. The kernels are not binary identical but the sizes match so I believe they are compiled with the same settings but just compiled at different occasions. /system/framework and /system/app differs but that is likely due to different theme:ing. What is more interesting is that all the libs are binary identical. A handful of binaries in /system/bin differs but I don't believe it matters.

What I believe matters are diifferences in build.prop and in the /system/cust folder. There is something in the UPDATA.APP that results in /data/custom.bin. And the information in custom.bin must match folders in /system/cust. My custom.bin contains expert/se and my ROM has files in /system/cust/expert/se/. This is the number one reason why Wifi usually stops working when a custom ROM based on a phone from one operator is flashed to a phone from another operator. There may be things in local.prop that is responsible for the network problems you get, but I found in my build.prop that is more likely the cause.

You should have a line looking something like this:
ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=460012345678901
try changing it to:
ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=

Or wait for me to upload my new release of my custom ROM where I've done this allready and also built my way around the cust thing so it propably will have working wifi even on U8110 phones.

EDIT: If the kernels are identical between U8110 and U8100 it also means I can use the pulse mini kernel source and add nice things like swap and compcache support.

Edited by kallt_kaffe, 17 September 2010 - 10:26 AM.

  • 0
Blog - App

#31
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

  • 0
Blog - App

#32
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

Here, try this one: http://www.mediafire...ub3e988a9iia0vq


I've now updated the first post with this link.

  • 0
Blog - App

#33
Gjole86

Gjole86

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Devices:Pulse Mini with GM0d
flashed on u8110 and guess what? :lol: everything as i told before, all working but damn network. (it isnt hardware problem coz when flashed t-mo updata.app it works. just in case someone wonders)

also noticed that wifi starts up much faster, before it took 2-3 seconds to activate and scan, now it feels like its 0.5 seconds and it showed 3 networks arround, and autoconnected to the open one. cool.

starting to look after logcat things (and learn them) time to put this 2.1 modding aside and get froyo up and running :)

EDIT: attached some logcat outputs. as i see it, there is some RIL crap repeating like crazy.

Attached Files


Edited by Gjole86, 17 September 2010 - 04:49 PM.

  • 0

#34
kytyz

kytyz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
8110 flight excellent, an insertion Belarus MTS-android.

  • 0

#35
lixi1048

lixi1048

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HUAWEI U8100
Beautiful!! It worked on my U8100 from Wind mobile Canada!! Thanks so Much!! One question though: how do I install apps to SD?


A custom ROM based on the official swedish U8100 ROM. It may default to swedish but it supports a long list of languages.

Download: u8100_expert_customized_rls5.zip

Although RLS5 should work on both U8100 and U8110 phones it has still not been confirmed.

Instructions
1. Flash a recovery image (tested with AmonRA.)

2. Copy the .zip file to your MicroSD card and boot the phone into recovery mode (call+volume-up+power)

3. Choose "Flash zip from sdcard" and choose the zip you just copied. A guide in pictures

4. (optional) Wipe data+cache before rebooting. It may or may not work OK to not wipe data but it's propably best to wipe.A guide in pictures

Description
- Removed Launcher2
- Removed MyWeather widget.
- Removed TouchPal and AndroidKeyboard
- Removed ServoSearch

- Added Launcher Pro
- Added Home Switcher
- Added MarketAccess
- Added the last flip-clock versionen of Weather widgets (yr.no).
- Added Googles News & Weather app/widget.
- Added HTC_IME & an AndroidKeyboard with Voice input support (also adds VoiceSearch).
- Added busybox with symlinks
- Added nano (texteditor)
- Added bash
- Added my own relocate_apps.sh script that allows moving /data/apps to the SD-card (but breaks USB-mounting).

- Replaced bootanimationen with a Nexus animation I resized for QVGA for another project.
- Replaced Market with a version that fakes HVGA (=more apps)
- Replaced Google Maps with the latest brut.all modded version (= international navigation)
- Replaced RoadSync with the offical upgrade you are allowed to download.
- Adjusted wallpapers in the original launcher to correct sizes and ascpect ratio for a QVGA device. May make them look a bit weird in the original launcher.

- Rooted with Superuser permissions (2.3.6.1)
- Fakes autofocus and more for more apps in the market

- Moved the 25Mb autorun.iso from /data to /system which frees up another 25Mb for apps on /data. This also makes sure USB-mounting doesn't break when you wipe data.

- Bypassed the /system/cust system so wifi should now work on other phones than the Expert Sweden ones.

- Disabled the mobile data warning
- Disabled the forced camera sound when phone is set to "silent".


Edited by lixi1048, 19 September 2010 - 01:00 AM.

  • 0

#36
lixi1048

lixi1048

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HUAWEI U8100

Here, try this one: http://www.mediafire...ub3e988a9iia0vq



Kallt: What's the differencec between tis one and your first post?

  • 0

#37
lixi1048

lixi1048

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:HUAWEI U8100

I've now updated the first post with this link.


Did the new one have language choice? The first post only has English and French.

Edited by lixi1048, 19 September 2010 - 01:18 AM.

  • 0

#38
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

Did the new one have language choice? The first post only has English and French.

Really? On my phone I get a long list of different languages with the build in the first post (RLS5). I haven't really figured out what controls this. All languages seems to be compiled in but previuosly I could only choose between french, english, german, spanish and swedish but when I re-arranged the stuff that made Wifi break on other phones I suddenly could choose from all languages.

  • 0
Blog - App

#39
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

Kallt: What's the differencec between tis one and your first post?


Nothing, same link.

  • 0
Blog - App

#40
kallt_kaffe

kallt_kaffe

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Nexus 4 + 10 + Asus Fonepad

Beautiful!! It worked on my U8100 from Wind mobile Canada!! Thanks so Much!! One question though: how do I install apps to SD?


Install a terminal emulator (or use adb if you are familiar with it).

Then do this:
$ su
# relocate_apps.sh create 256

That will create a 256Mb diskimage on your SD-card where it will move all your apps. Upon the next restart of the phone it will clear out the old files in /data.

It will still store the dalvik-cache on NAND so there is no point in creating an image larger than 512Mb (256 in the example above is of course just an example) because you will still be limited by the dalvik-cache.

This is highly experiemental and it will for sure break USB-mounting so you'll have to poweroff the phone and use a card reader if you want to transfer files between your phone and your computer.

Edited by kallt_kaffe, 20 September 2010 - 07:43 AM.

  • 0
Blog - App




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users