Jump to content


Photo

03/Sep r2 (8105) WIP - MoDaCo Custom ROM for the Dell Streak (Android 2.1) Online Kitchen


  • Please log in to reply
190 replies to this topic

#81
geek78

geek78

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 155 posts
In the 2.1 build there is still k9 and not the android email app with exchange support ?

Paul,

Question, is it possible to propose in your mcr to replace (or to deefinitively remove this one to add another email client) the old version of the k9 mail client by the one in the google market which is newer, supports text selection, and and and Openpgp...

So could you also propose the Apg android openpgp client in the menu also of your kitchen rom tool ?

Thx in advance regards


  • 0
Mac Book / Ipad 3G 16 go / HTC Desire

#82
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Paul,

Question, is it possible to propose in your mcr to replace (or to deefinitively remove this one to add another email client) the old version of the k9 mail client by the one in the google market which is newer, supports text selection, and and and Openpgp...

So could you also propose the Apg android openpgp client in the menu also of your kitchen rom tool ?

Thx in advance regards

It's not K9 in the 2.1 build is it?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#83
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Updated version display to indicate r2 in 'about' screen...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#84
llecaroz

llecaroz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

It's not K9 in the 2.1 build is it?

P

You are correct ! it was 1.6, & some of features were merged in 2.1but it appears not to be the full K9 mail full client.
Thx for your correction :P

Regarding the K9 mail client, from your point of view, is it possible to only remove the 2.1 Eclair POP/IMAP/Exchange mail client (not the GMail client) & to replace with the last K9 Mail software (played with it & it is impressive, look at the changelog: http://code.google.c...ki/ReleaseNotes )

& I just saw that we can ask not to have the email client in the rom... does it remove only the pop/imap/exchange client or also these+Google Mail ?
If it only remove the pop/imap/exchange, by the way, I will be able to install myself the K9 email client....

Edited by llecaroz, 07 September 2010 - 12:23 PM.

  • 0

#85
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,220 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Yes, Gmail and 'email' are seperate APKs, so they are completely independent.

K9 can also coexist with the stock Android email client...

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#86
llecaroz

llecaroz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Yes, Gmail and 'email' are seperate APKs, so they are completely independent.

K9 can also coexist with the stock Android email client...

P

So if in the kitchen rom on page 1, I unselect email, it will only remove the email,not gmail, right ?
For the coexistance, yes, you are right, I installed K9 yesturday, forgot to disable the std email accounts & so received double notifications :P!

  • 0

#87
llecaroz

llecaroz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
Another need... lot of us uses ADW & so don't need the default launcher, should it be possible to have a check/uncheck box for the default launcher & another for ADW (because if we unselect the default launcher & don't have ADW, we will have to use the adb install later to install another launcher :P !)

thx in advance
Louis

  • 0

#88
vinokirk

vinokirk

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 670 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:DHD, DZ, SF

You say it is fast but I disagree. Could you please post a video of your widget menu scrolling? There may be a reason that some are slow and some are not. Can we also post a screen shot of the about menu?

After updating to the 2.1 MCR after using this method:
http://android.modac...-flashing-leds/
I am now getting lag when scrolling menus, or having windows open or close.

  • 0

#89
gingernator

gingernator

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Location:North West, UK
  • Devices:HTC Hero, Dell Streak

After updating to the 2.1 MCR after using this method:
http://android.modac...-flashing-leds/
I am now getting lag when scrolling menus, or having windows open or close.


I am having the same issue, at the moment my HTC Hero is outperforming this easily!

  • 0

#90
jutley

jutley

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 501 posts
  • Location:uk
  • Devices:Dell streak baby oh yea
mine is blistering fast with mcr2

  • 0

#91
vinokirk

vinokirk

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 670 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:DHD, DZ, SF

mine is blistering fast with mcr2

Mine was when i just over wrote the existing ROM i had on, but i got flashing leds. So i did the procedue mentioned about and now, altho i have no flashing lights, it seems a bit laggy when scroling etc.

  • 0

#92
jutley

jutley

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 501 posts
  • Location:uk
  • Devices:Dell streak baby oh yea

Mine was when i just over wrote the existing ROM i had on, but i got flashing leds. So i did the procedue mentioned about and now, altho i have no flashing lights, it seems a bit laggy when scroling etc.

i would go back to stock and go through the update to 2.1 and then the whole recovery process again.

  • 0

#93
strvmarv

strvmarv

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas City, MO
  • Devices:Dell Streak 5, Logitech Revue
  • Twitter:@strvmarv
Anyone else having problems with SMS/MMS? I've tried all sorts of things...

APN:

Name: AT&T
APN: wap.cingular
Proxy: leave blank
Port: leave blank
Username:[email protected]
Password:CINGULAR1
Server: leave blank
MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
MMS Proxy: 66.209.11.32
MMS Port: 80
MCC:310
MNC:410

APN:

above + MMS Port: 8080

APN:

above with Username/Password blank

Nothing works...although my cellular data works just fine...only SMS/MMS is affected...any ideas?

Oh yeah, I'm using an originally US Dell Streak (31) recently flashed to UK (21), upgrade to 2.1 O2, then flashed and reset to this custom ROM (which rocks by the way).

Edited by strvmarv, 08 September 2010 - 03:08 AM.

  • 0
Dell Streak 5
StreakDroid/GingerStreak
---
Logitech Revue
---
Android @ MoDaCo

#94
rovex

rovex

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@Rovex
Clearly something odd is going on with the streak. Why is the 8105 and MCR r2 almost unusable to some, but fine for others? Is it due to the upgrade path? Is it best to go from 4399 to the official 2.1/r2, or from the betas? I went from 6941 to the official and it was terrible, i tried the MCR with a full wipe and cache clear, but it was still almost impossible to use.

  • 0

#95
fards

fards

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,434 posts
  • Location:staffordshire
  • Interests:Human powered vehicles
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@fardsmobile

Clearly something odd is going on with the streak. Why is the 8105 and MCR r2 almost unusable to some, but fine for others? Is it due to the upgrade path? Is it best to go from 4399 to the official 2.1/r2, or from the betas? I went from 6941 to the official and it was terrible, i tried the MCR with a full wipe and cache clear, but it was still almost impossible to use.


try factory wipe, install the 2.1 then the r2 ?

  • 0

#96
rovex

rovex

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@Rovex
No its still the same. Ive done it every way i can think of, sometimes resulting it a dead streak for many hours while i try to get any working ROM on it. Whatever i do it results in the menus taking 3 seconds to open and when they do they open in a stuttering fashion and scroll extremely slowly and stuttery. Even if that was fixed we still have the idiotic icon spacing the 8105 has.

Really i think the MCR should be based on the much better 6941 release, its faster and less problematic.

  • 0

#97
vinokirk

vinokirk

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 670 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:DHD, DZ, SF
In addition to the laggy menus etc, i turn my streak on this morning to find countless process errors and failed widgets everywhere, its pretty much unuseable.
Has anyone also noticed lots of signal dropouts? My phone will loose network connection for about 20 seconds. And also there is no H signal where there was before.

Edited by vinokirk, 08 September 2010 - 09:40 AM.

  • 0

#98
jutley

jutley

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 501 posts
  • Location:uk
  • Devices:Dell streak baby oh yea
I

In addition to the laggy menus etc, i turn my streak on this morning to find countless process errors and failed widgets everywhere, its pretty much unuseable.
Has anyone also noticed lots of signal dropouts? My phone will loose network connection for about 20 seconds. And also there is no H signal where there was before.

i have to say this again but my dell streak with mcr2 is mind blowingly fast. It is also very stable have had no crashes or problems even widgets scroll faster.

Edited by jutley, 08 September 2010 - 11:21 AM.

  • 0

#99
fards

fards

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,434 posts
  • Location:staffordshire
  • Interests:Human powered vehicles
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@fardsmobile

In addition to the laggy menus etc, i turn my streak on this morning to find countless process errors and failed widgets everywhere, its pretty much unuseable.
Has anyone also noticed lots of signal dropouts? My phone will loose network connection for about 20 seconds. And also there is no H signal where there was before.



I suspect something hasn't flashed properly... or there's a baseband conflict.

  • 0

#100
Green750one

Green750one

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak

In addition to the laggy menus etc, i turn my streak on this morning to find countless process errors and failed widgets everywhere, its pretty much unuseable.


I had this issue, but only after running a titanium backup restore. A factory reset fixed it. I loaded all my apps through the market & all ok now.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users