Jump to content


Photo

Apps2SD on Froyo + Superboot

* * * * * 2 votes

  • Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

#1
noxwell

noxwell

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
BE SURE, that you have created ext2 partition on your SD card using malez recovery!!!
Hi all! This is manual, helps you to move all your apps to sd. This is not official method (official doesn't support all apps and a bit slower) and USE IT ON YOUR OWN RISK!!!
1. Partition your SD card using Makes recovery.
2. Install busydox
3. Run installer
4. Follow instructions
5. Be happy!

UPDATE v 0.2:
-Fixed "read-only" error
This is easy installer of Apps2SD, includes superboot (you don't need to root your phone)
P.S. Only for froyo leak v 4.002.02

Attached Files


Edited by noxwell, 04 October 2010 - 07:16 AM.

  • 0

#2
zehunter

zehunter

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid A1
Did i miss something?

i was read that Froyo include some kind of "apps2sd" directly inside the system? that apps can be store on SD card "naturally" ?

regards,

  • 0

#3
Elisha82

Elisha82

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid E
Yeah Froyo uses the existing FAT32 partition to move the apps to. Apps2SD uses EX2 or EX3.
No need for Apps2SD for Froyo as far as I know.
The only limitation is that the apps itself need to have the ability to be moved to SD within Froyo.

  • 0

#4
Rufy93

Rufy93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S II, Huawei U8150
Hi

Trying to activate this but how do i mount the ext partition to /system/sd?

I mean, if i copy all the apps to /system/sd as it is now i'm just moving them to the sd partition, not the external.

  • 0

#5
noxwell

noxwell

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 81 posts
zehunter, yes, froyo have built-in apps2sd, but it is a bit slower, then my apps2sd and not all apps support it. In our country only a few programmers adding support of froyo. I've made alternate method, and i just wanted other people to know this.

Rufy93, you must have ext2 (not ext or ext3) partition on your card. After installing mboot.zip it will mounts automatically. If it doesn't, you must re-partition your sd, using malez menu.

UPD: OHHH. I've missed some part, you must create /system/sd folder to mount ext2 to it!))))))) When you create folder, after reboot it'll automatically mount it.)

  • 0

#6
navygino

navygino

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Meizu MX 4-core, Lenovo K860
What is the difference to use Titanium Backup to move all apps to SD??

Seems Titanium Backup can move all apps to SD, even "not support apps".

  • 0
Acer Liquid, LG P990, Samsung i9003, Meizu MX 4-core, Lenovo K860

#7
natostanco

natostanco

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts
  • Devices:Acer liquid
  • Twitter:@ntstnc

What is the difference to use Titanium Backup to move all apps to SD??

Seems Titanium Backup can move all apps to SD, even "not support apps".

yes, but if you try to move with titanium apps that doesn't support the option the phone reboots, so moving with titanium is risky and annoying... and the option to move apps of froyo is very limited...and u can't move widgets...so an external apps2sd workaround is better imho

  • 0

#8
navygino

navygino

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 245 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Meizu MX 4-core, Lenovo K860

yes, but if you try to move with titanium apps that doesn't support the option the phone reboots, so moving with titanium is risky and annoying... and the option to move apps of froyo is very limited...and u can't move widgets...so an external apps2sd workaround is better imho

So far I don't have reboot issue and works well....

  • 0
Acer Liquid, LG P990, Samsung i9003, Meizu MX 4-core, Lenovo K860

#9
AK4774

AK4774

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
Thank you for your sharing. I success installed. The performance is very good.
I tried the Froyo built-in apps2sd before, it really slow down the system and have problem with widget.

  • 0

#10
Rufy93

Rufy93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Galaxy S II, Huawei U8150
Does anyone know how you see which version the ext partition is using?

Edit: Apparantly I was using ext2. So I created the /system/sd directory, but how do I check the ext2 partition is mounted?

Edited by Rufy93, 11 September 2010 - 02:56 PM.

  • 0

#11
joos

joos

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid

Does anyone know how you see which version the ext partition is using?

Edit: Apparantly I was using ext2. So I created the /system/sd directory, but how do I check the ext2 partition is mounted?

Must be something in the system sd directory, like lost+found directory that was not there before.

  • 0

#12
peanut67

peanut67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid S 100
Hi,

I don't get beyond step 5. If I type "busybox chown 1000:1000 /system/sd" in adb shell (phone booted) I get the message "busybox not found" or similar- busybox is installed though. If I do the same while the phone is in recovery mode I get the message "/system/sd not found" and I'm not able to mount /system/sd in recovery mode (if I try I always get the message "/system/sd not mounted")

Please help!

EDIT: ok, it worked after I installed busybox following the tutorial. Busybox that I installed from Malez recovery didn't work.

One problem though - after I finished the workaround all apps worked fine, but then I tried to restore some more apps from Titanium, which made my phone reboot but the boot process stuck in a loop, so I had to reinstall. Apparently Titanium doesn't work with symlinks (?)

EDIT 2: ok, it wasn't Titanium's fault, it just doesn't reboot after the workaround (gets stuck at the boot logo) - the first time I han't rebooted right away before playing around with Titanium

I did everything as written above, I have the Leak Rom, Recovery 0.5.4 and Busybox 1.1 from the Tutorial installed . Any ideas?

Edited by peanut67, 13 September 2010 - 12:26 PM.

  • 0

#13
peanut67

peanut67

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid S 100
One more question - maybe I'm missing something here? The original post says:

"Install mboot.zip (not signed, superboot)"

What does that mean exactly? In Malez recovery I don't find a "superboot" option to install mboot, I just install it with the "unsigned" option.

Any help would be appreciated :P

  • 0

#14
Piti8576

Piti8576

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:HTC Desire SLCD
Works perfect thx for the solution.

  • 0
HTC Desire SLCD (Debranded) | Root | S-OFF | HBoot 0.93
Radio 32.49.00. 32U_5.11.05.27 | Stock 2.2 (2.29.405.2)

#15
joos

joos

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid

WARNING!!! IF YOU DON'T KNOW, WHAT IS ADB AND BUSYBOX - DON'T TRY TO USE THIS MANUAL!!!
Hi all! This is manual, helps you to move all your apps to sd. This is not official method (official doesn't support all apps and a bit slower) and USE IT ON YOUR OWN RISK!!!
1. Create /system/sd folder
2. Install mboot.zip (not signed, superboot) through malez recovery.
3. Check, if it mounts, you must have some files in /system/sd folder (if you had it on your ext2 partition).
4. Copy apps folder from /data to system/sd
5. Connect phone through usb to computer and run adb shell.
6. Write this commands:

busybox chown 1000:1000 /system/sd
busybox chmod 771 /system/sd
busybox mv /data/app /data/app.ori
busybox ln -s /system/sd/app /data/app;
7. If all apps open normally, you can delete /data/app.ori
Ready!
P.S. Only for froyo leak
P.P.S. I'm so lazy to put all in one update.zip, but if i'd have a time - i'll make it.


Noxwell,
If you can help me or not, then it's all OK and thanks. For now, this one is the only one that works on froyo, it's not yet working on Malez 0.6.
I would like to know how you have mounted the ext2, and how you have placed it in boot.img . On the web, I have seen a couple of tutorials in the web, but it would be really helpful, if its specific to Liquid e. Maybe, its asking too much but I have to ask because i'm so stuck.
BTW, if the malez's app2sd was applied, what happens to your modification in boot.img.
If nothing at all, what is the basic knowledge to start this things. I'm really so stuck, before all i have to do is start making apps, not linux kernel manipulations an sorts.
thanks again.

  • 0

#16
Temur

Temur

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid A1
  • Twitter:@temua
hmmm can you make pls a update.zip ? that was friendly

  • 0

#17
Piti8576

Piti8576

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Devices:HTC Desire SLCD
Work this on the new Leak or is there a problem?

edit:
OK it works on the new Froyo Leak.

Edited by Piti8576, 22 September 2010 - 08:49 PM.

  • 0
HTC Desire SLCD (Debranded) | Root | S-OFF | HBoot 0.93
Radio 32.49.00. 32U_5.11.05.27 | Stock 2.2 (2.29.405.2)

#18
joos

joos

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid
Hi again,
I am such a noob, on my last post, but necessity is the mother of invention. I was able to extrack ramdisk and flash back a my modified boot image with liquidbootimage. In short, your boot image does not work for my class 6 8G sd, but only works on my 16G class 2 sd. God knows why. So, I placed the mounting of the ext2 at the very end of init.rc and now recognize both my sds.
thanks.

  • 0

#19
Wendigogo

Wendigogo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid

Hi again,
I am such a noob, on my last post, but necessity is the mother of invention. I was able to extrack ramdisk and flash back a my modified boot image with liquidbootimage. In short, your boot image does not work for my class 6 8G sd, but only works on my 16G class 2 sd. God knows why. So, I placed the mounting of the ext2 at the very end of init.rc and now recognize both my sds.
thanks.

Seems to have the same behaviour here (second froyo leak on "basic" Liquid S100) : in malez recovery, "/system/sd" is mounted (some stuff on it) using the recovery mounting option; but nothing on /data ( O_o) so I couldn't copy apps to SD ext2 partition.
Flashing the zip (unsigned) and rebooting : some stuff in /data but nothing on "/system/sd"; Seems to be not mounted so I'm stuck on the third part ! Think my problem is the same as yours ... Could you please give me your modified init.rc (and how to add it in "/") ?

  • 0

#20
joos

joos

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 90 posts
  • Devices:Acer Liquid

Seems to have the same behaviour here (second froyo leak on "basic" Liquid S100) : in malez recovery, "/system/sd" is mounted (some stuff on it) using the recovery mounting option; but nothing on /data ( O_o) so I couldn't copy apps to SD ext2 partition.
Flashing the zip (unsigned) and rebooting : some stuff in /data but nothing on "/system/sd"; Seems to be not mounted so I'm stuck on the third part ! Think my problem is the same as yours ... Could you please give me your modified init.rc (and how to add it in "/") ?


mount yaffs2 mtd@system /system # before this line
mkdir /system/sd 0771 system system # I added this line
# mount yaffs2 mtd@system /system ro remount # removed this command

#and at the very end, and only at the very end of init.rc:
mount ext2 /dev/block/mmcblk0p2 /system/sd noatime nodiratime nosuid nodev
chown system system /system/sd
chmod 0771 /system/sd
******************

It's just i believe my 8G SD is just defective, or the phone is just incompatible with it.
/data has to be mounted properly. type 'mount' under normal boot and mount it there on recovery. Or go look at old LCR update-script.

later

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users