Jump to content


Photo

app2sd was here... :D

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#21
max-greece

max-greece

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus
RE-installing 2.1 appears to have worked- my phone now sees the card.

Oh praise ye the lord and all that.....

  • 0

#22
max-greece

max-greece

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus
All good now.

After getting the card back I re-rooted the phone and fixed the SD card into 2 partitions and then reinstalled the App2sd.

I then reinstalled a bunch of apps from the marketplace and a bunch more from the backups from Astro.

Thus far the only app that has a problem is the PubMed application which causes the LG Home to crash out and restart.

Anyway I am showing 124 Mb free for internal storage with 34 apps installed so far. Seems to be working.....

  • 0

#23
droidpereira

droidpereira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:u8230
don't work, this only move the apps to sd don't install

  • 0

#24
RottenFoxBreath

RottenFoxBreath

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts

don't work, this only move the apps to sd don't install

What???...

Course it works..the clue's in the title App2SD..it will allow you to install apps to the Ext2 partition on the SD card, rather than installing apps to the systems 120 or so meg..so you can have gigs worth of extra app space, if you ever need it.

This in conjunction with something like Root Explorer, Titanium, or Astro, allows you to back up your apps/system, and install new or existing apps to the SD card.

Maybe try reading first please... :)

Edited by RottenFoxBreath, 03 October 2010 - 12:01 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#25
Satans_Hell

Satans_Hell

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
Thanks for this, my memory is sitting at 97.13MB and has not changed after instlling all my apps :) ;)

  • 0

#26
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540

Thanks for this, my memory is sitting at 97.13MB and has not changed after instlling all my apps :) ;)


any body success ?

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#27
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540

an improvement in the link took place to app2sd

Sorry for my english


in this source have many notice.
example :

after cp * /system/sd/dalvik-cache
echo Moving files Dalvik-cache to the memory card

after cp * /system/sd/app
echo Transferring applications to the memory card

etc....

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#28
droidpereira

droidpereira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:u8230

This in conjunction with something like Root Explorer, Titanium, or Astro, allows you to back up your apps/system, and install new or existing apps to the SD card.


Can you explain it better

  • 0

#29
RottenFoxBreath

RottenFoxBreath

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts

Can you explain it better

Not really...it's pretty clear ;)

you install app2sd, you can then use your SD card to install apps to, instead of the phone memory, increasing the size of available space, thus gaining more space for apps, so if you use 1gig of your SD card for apps, compare that to 120meg for apps on the phones memory!! :)

Edited by RottenFoxBreath, 03 October 2010 - 08:46 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#30
droidpereira

droidpereira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:u8230

Not really...it's pretty clear ;)

you install app2sd, you can then use your SD card to install apps to, instead of the phone memory, increasing the size of available space, thus gaining more space for apps, so if you use 1gig of your SD card for apps, compare that to 120meg for apps on the phones memory!! :)


that i know. i install apps and my memory phone decrease, it's normal?

  • 0

#31
RottenFoxBreath

RottenFoxBreath

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts

that i know. i install apps and my memory phone decrease, it's normal?

Yeah, its the dalvik-cache that does it..it's what keeps your phone sort of fast..moving it to SD or getting rid of it is a bad idea, and can cause force closes, or crashes..
you can clear it, but it will refill on reboot, but clearing it can get rid of old ones, and also use cachemate, from the market to clear out net or market caches..that helps too.
It should only go down a couple of meg for every handful of apps you install..

I've got well over 30 apps, and its at 112 meg at the moment..

Edited by RottenFoxBreath, 03 October 2010 - 09:27 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#32
droidpereira

droidpereira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Devices:u8230

Yeah, its the dalvik-cache that does it..it's what keeps your phone sort of fast..moving it to SD or getting rid of it is a bad idea, and can cause force closes, or crashes..
you can clear it, but it will refill on reboot, but clearing it can get rid of old ones, and also use cachemate, from the market to clear out net or market caches..that helps too.
It should only go down a couple of meg for every handful of apps you install..

I've got well over 30 apps, and its at 112 meg at the moment..


Ok thanks

  • 0

#33
saeba_ryo

saeba_ryo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola DEFY

Yeah, its the dalvik-cache that does it..it's what keeps your phone sort of fast..moving it to SD or getting rid of it is a bad idea, and can cause force closes, or crashes..
you can clear it, but it will refill on reboot, but clearing it can get rid of old ones, and also use cachemate, from the market to clear out net or market caches..that helps too.
It should only go down a couple of meg for every handful of apps you install..

I've got well over 30 apps, and its at 112 meg at the moment..

But if you look at script provided in this thread, it moves both dalvik-cache and cache to the sdcard. Is this a good idea?

  • 0

#34
zippo876

zippo876

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
Hi Guys, Thanks for all the help, finally I have managed to install "App2sd" :( , but the problem now is, whatever application I try to install is not installing anywhere, not even on the phone memory, it is just keep saying Download Unsuccessful :) ;) .

Anyone's advice please what I am doing wrong.
Regards
Sid

  • 0

#35
RottenFoxBreath

RottenFoxBreath

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts

But if you look at script provided in this thread, it moves both dalvik-cache and cache to the sdcard. Is this a good idea?

I spoke to someone who has their phone with app2sd on it, and he suggested a programme that does use the system for cache-ing, so i picked Copilot as a test, so I've run that, and my space has gone down 9meg, after running the programme, so its data cache is stored to the phones memory, if all cache-ing was done on the SD, then i would imagine that it wouldnt have moved at all, and the size of the Ext partition would have had an extra 9 meg added to it's usage, which it hasn't, it still remains the same.

I think whats been said is some have thought that cache has also been moved to the SD card, but i've just checked and no extra space has been taken from the SD card, only from the phones memory, so that 9meg data cache from Copilot IS on the phone..

No force closes yet, and I've just about run every app i have.

Also, the apps i have installed, are around the same size as the space taken from the SD Ext2 partiition, give or take a few meg, for whatever else, and that hasnt changed even with the extra 9meg Copilot eat up on the phone for its extra data cache..

Edited by RottenFoxBreath, 03 October 2010 - 12:35 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#36
saeba_ryo

saeba_ryo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola DEFY

I spoke to someone who has their phone with app2sd on it, and he suggested a programme that does use the system for cache-ing, so i picked Copilot as a test, so I've run that, and my space has gone down 9meg, after running the programme, so its data cache is stored to the phones memory, if all cache-ing was done on the SD, then i would imagine that it wouldnt have moved at all, and the size of the Ext partition would have had an extra 9 meg added to it's usage, which it hasn't, it still remains the same.

I think whats been said is some have thought that cache has also been moved to the SD card, but i've just checked and no extra space has been taken from the SD card, only from the phones memory, so that 9meg data cache from Copilot IS on the phone..

No force closes yet, and I've just about run every app i have.

Also, the apps i have installed, are around the same size as the space taken from the SD Ext2 partiition, give or take a few meg, for whatever else, and that hasnt changed even with the extra 9meg Copilot eat up on the phone for its extra data cache..

Well, in apps2sd.sh included in the apps2sd.zip in first post, there is this:

echo Dalvik-cache, applications and the Cache were transferred to the memory card
echo the phone will reset oneself in 20 seconds

It certainly implies it transfers all cache to SDcard. Did you use the script, or entered the commands yourself?

  • 0

#37
RottenFoxBreath

RottenFoxBreath

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 323 posts

Well, in apps2sd.sh included in the apps2sd.zip in first post, there is this:

echo Dalvik-cache, applications and the Cache were transferred to the memory card
echo the phone will reset oneself in 20 seconds

It certainly implies it transfers all cache to SDcard. Did you use the script, or entered the commands yourself?

I never used that file from the first post..I got it from the original post on android.com.pl.
I'll download the two of them and check which one..3 links or so, and 2 different files?..they are two different sizes.

As far as it goes, at the moment..the phone is stable, and the card i use is a Transcend class 6 card.

Edited by RottenFoxBreath, 03 October 2010 - 02:58 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#38
doubletakeit

doubletakeit

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG GT540
/data/data/ was not transered to sdcard because it contains data of stock apps.
The applications and the cache were transfered but the data was not. The data decreases phone memory.

  • 0

#39
max-greece

max-greece

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus
42apps installed and I am down to 110 Mb of storage. l tell you I am starting to get worried. Another 200 apps or so and I might be down as low as 20meg!
:)

  • 0

#40
saeba_ryo

saeba_ryo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola DEFY

42apps installed and I am down to 110 Mb of storage. l tell you I am starting to get worried. Another 200 apps or so and I might be down as low as 20meg!
:)

lol, I wonder if that script works in 1.6 successfully, I will not upgrade to 2.1 since you reported 3G data is dead on Vodafone GR, I have the same carrier as you!

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users