Jump to content


Photo

app2sd was here... :D

* * * * * 1 votes

  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#41
max-greece

max-greece

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus

lol, I wonder if that script works in 1.6 successfully, I will not upgrade to 2.1 since you reported 3G data is dead on Vodafone GR, I have the same carrier as you!


Yeah I would say hold on a little while longer as I imagine the Greek version must be released soon.

As of now I think 3g is the only issue I have left.

2.1 is really growing on me - the addition of apps2sd has made a huge difference.

  • 0

#42
zippo876

zippo876

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540

2.1 is really growing on me - the addition of apps2sd has made a huge difference.


Hi Max-Greece, Can you please guide me how did you do the APP2SD on your Optimus (I am on 2.1 Android version), I am new to Android, I have tried severaaaaaal ways to do this on my Optimus but couldn't succeed, seems everything fine with me but now once I tried to download ANYTHING from app-store all the time it says ""Download unsuccessful"".
According to my judgment APP2SD installation process has moved the download cache folder to the SD-card as well that is why phone can not download because there is no cache folder on the phone memory.
I am confused please please help me.
Much appreciated.
Sid

Edited by zippo876, 05 October 2010 - 12:26 AM.

  • 0

#43
max-greece

max-greece

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus

Hi Max-Greece, Can you please guide me how did you do the APP2SD on your Optimus (I am on 2.1 Android version), I am new to Android, I have tried severaaaaaal ways to do this on my Optimus but couldn't succeed, seems everything fine with me but now once I tried to download ANYTHING from app-store all the time it says ""Download unsuccessful"".
According to my judgment APP2SD installation process has moved the download cache folder to the SD-card as well that is why phone can not download because there is no cache folder on the phone memory.
I am confused please please help me.
Much appreciated.
Sid


Right - first off I have little to no idea what I am doing and I just follow instructions.

Having said that when I first tried the installation of Apps2sd the thing failed and I ended up reinstalling the operating system which replaced the apps2sd and reset everything to use the internal memory. Obviously I lost all my data doing this but restoring contacts from google is easy and I had taken a backup of all my apps using Astro.

For me the problem appears to have been that I did not set Ext 2 partition to be primary as well as the main partition. When I reconfigured the card I removed the cache partition completely and formatted the card with just 2 partitions - the main one and the Ext 2 partition which I set at 1 Gb. Again - both partitions have to be set to be primary it seems.

I then rooted the phone according to the instructions in the "root your phone with one click" thread and reinstalled the apps2sd application.

Reinstalling the apps from that point on worked. Sadly if your problem is something else I can't help. What I know about Linux you can write on the back of a postage stamp.

Second time around it worked like a charm for me. No my biggest problem is where to store all the program icons so I can find them again.

Edited by max-greece, 05 October 2010 - 04:37 AM.

  • 0

#44
saeba_ryo

saeba_ryo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Motorola DEFY
I attempted to use app2sd today. Since I'm well versed with linux shells and basic commands, I choose to do it manually. I first created the necessary partitions on the card using the phone itself as the card reader. Initially the phone claimed I had an empty SD card, but after a reboot it successfully recognized the FAT32 partition. After that, I started adb shell giving every command one at the time, to be sure I know if it's successful or not. I had no problems, only after I rebooted my widgets were not working anymore. I removed ADW launcher (I prefer ADW over LG Home) and reinstalled, put everything back and now it's working properly and it's even snappier than before. I'm very pleased!

Using the V10d greek rom, Android 1.6 Donut.

Edited by saeba_ryo, 05 October 2010 - 02:32 PM.

  • 0

#45
2quark

2quark

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I attempted to use app2sd today. ...-SNIP-...Using the V10d greek rom, Android 1.6 Donut.


Well, that is precise what I´m looking for... ´app2sd working on V10d´ (mine is the german) Android 1.6 Donut, because 2.1 baltic is at this time no option for me.

Please can u give some more info?
- do i have to root gt540 first?
- and if, what method u used?

Thanks in advance

  • 0

#46
acac99

acac99

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:gt 540
Can someone put up a more simplified way of installing apps2sd. I mean i managed to partion the sd card and extract the files, but i am totally lost on how to type the code and get the phone to reboot with it working. Any help will be much appreciated :) . P.S go easy im a noob lol

  • 0

#47
arekl1988r

arekl1988r

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:gt540
  • Twitter:@dsaa
Added automatic installation app2sd. Just run APP2SD.bat
Unnecessary SDK TOOLS

LINK

Edited by arekl1988r, 09 October 2010 - 06:38 PM.

  • 0

#48
doubletakeit

doubletakeit

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG GT540

Added automatic installation app2sd. Just run APP2SD.bat
Unnecessary SDK TOOLS

LINK


adb shell cd /data/sd/app && rm *

I think it should be adb shell cd /data/app && rm *

  • 0

#49
constantG

constantG

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:lg gt540
Hi, First post

I initially rooted and app2sd my 2gb sdcard that came with the phone without any problems. Now I've reset the phone to factory and put a 16gb sdhc card in and app2sd does not work.

The error is "can't open /sdcard/app2sd/app2sd.sh" when I use (method 1) and mount operation not permitted when I try to use the automatic method.

any ideas?


I forgot to unmount card before using the app2sd.sh command... all done now :)

Edited by constantG, 08 October 2010 - 11:18 PM.

  • 0

#50
yozogod

yozogod

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Hi, First post

I initially rooted and app2sd my 2gb sdcard that came with the phone without any problems. Now I've reset the phone to factory and put a 16gb sdhc card in and app2sd does not work.

The error is "can't open /sdcard/app2sd/app2sd.sh" when I use (method 1) and mount operation not permitted when I try to use the automatic method.

any ideas?

I forgot to unmount card before using the app2sd.sh command... all done now :)



How do u type adb command??
Sorry im noob ;)

  • 0

#51
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
i already edit app2sd.
please check 1st page in this trit. thank you

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#52
brqueiros

brqueiros

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:LG GT540
Sorry, i have a doubt, i have to format the sd card in FAT or FAT32?

  • 0
::LG GT540::ANDROID 2.1::ROOTED::APP2SD::

#53
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540

Sorry, i have a doubt, i have to format the sd card in FAT or FAT32?


yes, you must format to FAT32.

Edited by RAT-BoyZ, 10 October 2010 - 04:39 PM.

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#54
brqueiros

brqueiros

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:LG GT540
One more, sorry, on a 8GB microSD what shold be the partitions and size? Is the Swap needed? Sorry for asking but i have read a lot of information and i'm confused. Thanks for the help

  • 0
::LG GT540::ANDROID 2.1::ROOTED::APP2SD::

#55
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540

One more, sorry, on a 8GB microSD what shold be the partitions and size? Is the Swap needed? Sorry for asking but i have read a lot of information and i'm confused. Thanks for the help


may be partition 1 for FAT32
partition 2 for EXT2 = Maximum 1 GB better
perttion 3 for Swap = only 32 MB.

Edited by RAT-BoyZ, 10 October 2010 - 04:46 PM.

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#56
brqueiros

brqueiros

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:LG GT540
Thanks. I'm going to try apply APP2SD using your file and method RAT-BoyZ

  • 0
::LG GT540::ANDROID 2.1::ROOTED::APP2SD::

#57
brqueiros

brqueiros

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 71 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:LG GT540

yes, you must format to FAT32.


I have format to FAT32 and my phone is saying "Blank SD Card. SD card blank or has unsupported filesystem". I use minitool partition wizard to make the partitions

What is wrong. Please, help

Edited by brqueiros, 10 October 2010 - 08:10 PM.

  • 0
::LG GT540::ANDROID 2.1::ROOTED::APP2SD::

#58
Atheos

Atheos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
Guys i am having an issue,

I have a 2 GB card

I set up one partition as FAT32 (1374 MB)
The other partition as EXT 2 (500 MB)

The phone pops up a message saying:

"SD card blank or has unsupported filesystem"


Any help would be appreciated :P

Edited by Atheos, 20 October 2010 - 11:53 PM.

  • 0

#59
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
all,

when your SD Card is un-detect in your phone, because Your Partition is failed.
Please re-format again or you must read a tutorial "How to make parititon on your Disk"

thank's

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#60
Atheos

Atheos

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540

all,

when your SD Card is un-detect in your phone, because Your Partition is failed.
Please re-format again or you must read a tutorial "How to make partition on your Disk"

thank's


Thanks for your reply RAT.

I have read the tutorials a few times.

I am trying to do it by using the card in mass storage mode so maybe i need to get an SD reader.

It was late last night when i was running into problems (got the phone rooted last night though :P ).

I will give it another go today and if i run into problems i will post back.

Edited by Atheos, 21 October 2010 - 02:33 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users