Calendar and Contacts

Guest jonesian

Guest jonesian

Ok, I am completely new to this...

I have my sparkling new Orange SF and I'm trying it out for 7 days, if I can get used to it and make it do what I want, then obviously for £71 I'm keeping it, but I'll attempt to unlock it and get rid of all the Orange crap and use my Virgin account.

I have searched the forums for the answers (honest!), but I either can't find them, or didn't know I'd found them, and so ignored them (if you get what I mean), so if any kind soul could point me in the right direction for help on the following basics, I'd be really grateful!

I need a calenadar that I can synch with my desktop (XP), that I could maybe share with the wife and add football fixtures etc to, without it being a total ballache.

The handset keeps on about something called google calendar, I've had a look at this, but I'm not keen on it being online - I'd rather just have something on my handset (and the wife's) and my desktop that can be easily updated and synched - any recommendations?

Is goole calendar safe?

Contacts: currently I use windows live mail, which I don't particularly like, anyone suggest anything better for managing my multiple email accounts?

Contacts: can I get my contact numbers from a Samsung Jet (don't ask...) or have I got to painstakingly type out everything again?

Can all three of the above be managed together?

Is it possible to use basic excel spreadsheets on the handset - or is there another way?

GPS: anything that doesn't require permanent connection (only got 100mb/month)?

Is it possible to set up the handset so it automatically opts for wi-fi (if available), rather than using my allowance?

I think that's enough for now - thank you in advance :)

Ok, I am completely new to this...