Jump to content


Photo

15/Jan [GUIDE] Installing the MoDaCo Custom Froyo ROM from scratch (and other ROMS)

* * * * * 18 votes

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
673 replies to this topic

#41
jonesian

jonesian

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stourbridge
  • Interests:Wolves FC, Surfing, The Clash.
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Managed to do it using a combo of this and Paul's gude - thanks!

  • 0
Oh bloody hell, I wish I hadn't pressed that

#42
bignred84

bignred84

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male
bit of advice please folks, quite new to all this android phone stuff etc

I eventually rooted my SF with the Rom3

however since then this clockwork malarkey thing has come out

my query is do I still need to do it, & what are the benefits of this clockwork

thanks

  • 0

#43
ukjeff27

ukjeff27

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

I myself am a SUPER noob! anyone on this forum know a shop or private individual who can root the phone for me and install the custom rom (for a small fee!)

[email protected] any help appreciated!



In or near Southampton by the way!

  • 0

#44
dwattsy21

dwattsy21

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts

In or near Southampton by the way!


I'll second that, I'm doing my nut trying to get this done. Tried everythign with windows, installed all drivers etc, still says device waiting. So finally decided to create a Ubuntu live cd, tried it in that, but when i went to flash the superboot image (from the fastboot folder i have on the desktop) it wouldnt recognise that the "fastboot-linux" file was in the fastboot folder!

I live near southampton, so I too would love to get somebody to do it for me (for a small fee)

  • 0

#45
dwattsy21

dwattsy21

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 212 posts
Wahooooooooooo finally did it today using my workmates linux ubuntu netbook. Did exactly what I did when i tried the Ubuntu live cd but it could actually see the fastboot-linux file on his for some reason. Anyways this may be a dum question, but i downloaded and installed the custom rom which has a download link in the first post. I notice it doesnt have wavesecure or anything on it.

I have baked a custom rom in the kitchen, do I just install this by doing the exact same process but with my own rom instead of the one linked to??


Cheers,

Dave

  • 0

#46
Spooke

Spooke

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 397 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Tegra Note 7, Nexus 4
Did it just now, great guide, nice and simple and very easy to follow :)

Thanks !

  • 0

#47
yee_har

yee_har

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Orange S.F., Nexus 5
First off - thank you so much Steven for putting this together...and Paul and others for the underlying work.
Had success using Ubuntu 10.10 (on a dual boot) laptop.

Some thoughts:

Stage 1: Rooting the Device
.......

Open a Terminal

cd Desktop/fastboot
md5sum boot.blade.superboot.mcri.r3.img
Check that the outputted MD5 is: 03105bbbf5120535c8921075822a1b67

Might be an idea (for Ubuntu/Linux super-noobs) to make it clear this is two separate commands (and not to do a two line scrape and paste.....no need to guess what this is based on! :) )

Stage 3: Unzip/Install the Rom

Download via ClockworkMod Recovery: r3 - DOWNLOAD (ROMraid Load Balancing)
http://loadbalancing...lade-signed.zip
(Check the Stage 3 link to make sure this is the latest version)

I downloaded the file by clicking on the link but as a super-noob did initially wonder whether I really needed to "Download via ClockworkMod Recovery". Worth rewording?

In case anybody is shaking their heads at the comments it's only meant to help first-timers.

Again, many thanks.

Edited by yee_har, 12 October 2010 - 03:59 PM.

  • 0

#48
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Some thoughts:
Might be an idea (for Ubuntu/Linux super-noobs) to make it clear this is two separate commands (and not to do a two line scrape and paste.....no need to

I downloaded the file by clicking on the link but as a super-noob did initially wonder whether I really needed to "Download via ClockworkMod Recovery". Worth rewording?


Noted : Both will be merged in to the guide

  • 0

#49
Jozzo68

Jozzo68

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade "San Francisco"
Thank you!

After 2 days of owning my first Android I have managed to Root and Flash my Blade thanks to all you fine people posting here.

Big thanks to Paul for his excelent work with the ROMS, tools and all other good stuff I just have started to read about!
Big thanks to Steven for this excelent guide of understandable "1-2-3" steps, and above all-->feeling secure while doing them.

Again, many thanks.

  • 0

#50
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Thank you!

After 2 days of owning my first Android I have managed to Root and Flash my Blade thanks to all you fine people posting here.

Big thanks to Paul for his excelent work with the ROMS, tools and all other good stuff I just have started to read about!
Big thanks to Steven for this excelent guide of understandable "1-2-3" steps, and above all-->feeling secure while doing them.

Again, many thanks.


That gives me a warm glow.

Glad to see you feel secure - it's the ClockworkMod that offers you the safety.

I will keep supporting the post and as soon as the R4 is out (prebaked) I will make the guide target r4 and also explain what Upgrading users need to do (i.e. Skip steps)

  • 0

#51
shifter101

shifter101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade
Hi can anyone help me please when I try to use the Volume Down button (when powering on the phone) to get to the ClockworkMod menu it just comes up with FTM and I cannot do anything but remove the battery??

How do I enter the ClockworkMod menu what am I doing wrong ?

Thanks for any help

Matt

  • 0

#52
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Hi can anyone help me please when I try to use the Volume Down button (when powering on the phone) to get to the ClockworkMod menu it just comes up with FTM and I cannot do anything but remove the battery??

How do I enter the ClockworkMod menu what am I doing wrong ?

Thanks for any help

Matt


The Clockwork Mod has not been installed - repeat Step 2 again.

  • 0

#53
shifter101

shifter101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade

The Clockwork Mod has not been installed - repeat Step 2 again.


Hi thanks for the reply. Just tried again and it seems to be installing ok but I am getting the same FTM. Below is a screen shot of the command prompt. Can you see any errors?

Posted Image

http://img266.images...lockworknew.jpg

Thanks

Matt

Edited by shifter101, 12 October 2010 - 11:23 PM.

  • 0

#54
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Hi thanks for the reply. Just tried again and it seems to be installing ok but I am getting the same FTM. Below is a screen shot of the command prompt. Can you see any errors?

Posted Image

Thanks

Matt


Did you CRC check the File before you ran the command?

And just a sanity check, you did step 1 and checked that the superuser command appeared in your menu?

  • 0

#55
shifter101

shifter101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade

Did you CRC check the File before you ran the command?

And just a sanity check, you did step 1 and checked that the superuser command appeared in your menu?


Hi no I didn't CRC check the file how to I do that in windows? Is this what you are talking about? http://www.md5summer.org/md5sum.zip. ANd what command should I use under a windows command prompt for it to checksum the file?

And yes step 1 is complete I have the superuser command in my menu that bit went fine.

Sorry for my newbness its my first android phone. Loving it so far great little hand set.

Thanks for your help.

Matt

Edited by shifter101, 13 October 2010 - 06:39 AM.

  • 0

#56
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

Hi no I didn't CRC check the file how to I do that in windows? Is this what you are talking about? http://www.md5summer.org/md5sum.zip. ANd what command should I use under a windows command prompt for it to checksum the file?

And yes step 1 is complete I have the superuser command in my menu that bit went fine.

Sorry for my newbness its my first android phone. Loving it so far great little hand set.

Thanks for your help.

Matt


The files in that md5sum.zip have to be extracted an put along side the clockwork mod files (in the fastboot folder)

Then the md5sum commands in the guide work

Md5 checks that file you downloaded is exactly the same as expected and has not broken during downloading

Edited by StevenHarperUK, 13 October 2010 - 07:24 AM.

  • 0

#57
shifter101

shifter101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade

The files in that md5sum.zip have to be extracted an put along side the clockwork mod files (in the fastboot folder)

Then the md5sum commands in the guide work

Md5 checks that file you downloaded is exactly the same as expected and has not broken during downloading


ok cheers ill give it a go when I get back from work.

  • 0

#58
shifter101

shifter101

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade

ok cheers ill give it a go when I get back from work.


Got it sorted I used ubuntu boot cd in the end and it worked first time thanks for your help and posting the guide.

Cheers

Matt

  • 0

#59
bignred84

bignred84

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
  • Gender:Male

bit of advice please folks, quite new to all this android phone stuff etc

I eventually rooted my SF with the Rom3

however since then this clockwork malarkey thing has come out

my query is do I still need to do it, & what are the benefits of this clockwork

thanks


any chance someone could advise on this

thanks

  • 0

#60
StevenHarperUK

StevenHarperUK

    Hardcore

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco

any chance someone could advise on this

thanks


Clockwork mod. Gives you a safety net when you are doing future updates. The recovery boot part of the phone's Rom is separate from the normal boot part. When you install clockwork mod you replace the recovery boot with a much more usefull tool.

Edited by StevenHarperUK, 13 October 2010 - 09:15 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users