Jump to content


Photo

1click app2sd now includes 1 click root

* * * * * 6 votes

  • Please log in to reply
139 replies to this topic

#41
fjsferreira

fjsferreira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

too big a partition size, try making a smaller one, maybe around 400 meg., or the card is dying(Ext will use up the finite writes on a card, so can kill a card quicker, with all the journaling it does), faulty phone..you name it, roll a dice, for a problem, it could be a couple of things.


I've tried with another card, a new one, and after a day or two, force closings all around! :P I guess it's the phone then. Very sad i can't use app2sd because internal memory is just too little.

  • 0

#42
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

I've tried with another card, a new one, and after a day or two, force closings all around! :P I guess it's the phone then. Very sad i can't use app2sd because internal memory is just too little.

I have noticed some sd mount errors if the partiton was ext3 not ext2. With ext2 i did not notice any problems.

  • 0

#43
fjsferreira

fjsferreira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
I've tried ext2 and ext3, errors in both. I gave up :P

  • 0

#44
CuteControl

CuteControl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I've tried ext2 and ext3, errors in both. I gave up :D



same ! :P

  • 0

#45
fjsferreira

fjsferreira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
People who aren't getting force closings with app2sd, please post:

App used to partition SD card (I used both gparted and minitool partition wizard)
Sd card capacity and brand (I've used a 2GB kingston and a Sandisk 4GB)
Partition scheme (I've used fat32 - ext2; fat - ext2; fat32 - ext3; fat-ext2, and all combinations with a swap area, and I've tried with different partition sizes)
Rom (I've used 2.1 baltic and 2.1 greek, with fresh installs (hard resets and all that))
Tutorial used (I've used all of them :S)
Any other info you consider relevant.


I'de be very much grateful, maybe I can finally see if I'm doing something wrong.

  • 0

#46
m1st3r1

m1st3r1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
ok. since i've got much errors too from this 1 click app2sd.

this is my setup:

partition sdcard: paragon partition manager.
sdcard capacity: team 8 gb (supposedly class 6, but i dont think it is :D )
partition scheme: 6.69 gb fat32, 501 mb ext2
rom: 2.1 black edition by Quarx, with firmwire that has fastboot and recovery (clockwork), updated kernel too
tutorial used: 1 click root app2sd. when very first time i use the other app2sd (the one with copying the .sh) it worked, but it bricked my sdcard, thankfully the warranty've covered it

so either the partition to large, or my sdcard is not good for app2sd (i'm afraid it'll brick to if i try the app2sd, but if u never try u will never know right :P )

thankfully the remove app2sd from the 1 click app2sd can solve all the force close

Edited by m1st3r1, 27 October 2010 - 06:48 PM.

  • 0

#47
fjsferreira

fjsferreira

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

ok. since i've got much errors too from this 1 click app2sd.

this is my setup:

partition sdcard: paragon partition manager.
sdcard capacity: team 8 gb (supposedly class 6, but i dont think it is :D )
partition scheme: 6.69 gb fat32, 501 mb ext2
rom: 2.1 black edition by Quarx, with firmwire that has fastboot and recovery (clockwork), updated kernel too
tutorial used: 1 click root app2sd. when very first time i use the other app2sd (the one with copying the .sh) it worked, but it bricked my sdcard, thankfully the warranty've covered it

so either the partition to large, or my sdcard is not good for app2sd (i'm afraid it'll brick to if i try the app2sd, but if u never try u will never know right :P )

thankfully the remove app2sd from the 1 click app2sd can solve all the force close


Yes, removing fixes it, but living without app2sd is just shitty with our low memory capacity phone :D I have 14 apps and already only 12mb available.

  • 0

#48
boru6

boru6

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Location:co.down
thanks joe,
your update worked a treat!!
now got a rooted GT540 :)
already got your apps 2 sd working.

  • 0

#49
ohoosong

ohoosong

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Devices:LG GT540
Guys...
finally, I got app2sd now and working no problem but just little working slowly.
anyway I have a problem I turn off my phone and turn on. however, my phone is not booting but after removed Memory card it's working.
What happen? after app2sd I can't turn off? Please give me solution.

Rom : Vodafone 2.1
Memory: Transcend 8gb class6
partition scheme: 6.69 gb fat32, 501 mb ext2(around like that)
tutorial used: 1 click root app2sd.

Edited by ohoosong, 31 October 2010 - 05:33 PM.

  • 0

#50
hacker_didko

hacker_didko

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540 Optimus /Swift/
Removed apps to sd . It worked 2 days , reinstalled , it worked more couple of days , reinstalled , yesterday same thing with force closes and unisnalled it . Now Im without apps to sd ...

  • 0

#51
onlinejobwork

onlinejobwork

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 94 posts
  • Interests:Mobiles, Intertnet, IT Technology, software
  • Devices:Orange SF, Motorola DEFY
  • Twitter:@onlinejobwork

How the script works :
It copies the contents of the selected folders to the sd ext2 partition . It does not removes the copied files from the phone , because in the case of sd failure or sd removal the phone will be able to bootup. The removal process removes the files and directories needed to app2sd operate normally , but leaves the ext2 untouched.
To use it you need to turn on the USB Debugging mode on the phone .Create the ext2 if not exists .The first partitition should be FAT if your card is smaller than 4GB and should be FAT32 if bigger than 4 GB. The second partition should be ext2. Both partition must be primary.
Dont forget to restart the phone and turn off mass storage mode after creation of the ext2.Download the zip file , extract it and run autorootapp2sd.bat on your pc.
You can use app2sd even if your phone is not rooted.
The attached pdf contains the guide how to create the ext2.
MOD:
The script has the possibilities to turn on root. The root and unroot function is the same as 1 click root .
MOD2:
There was abug in the root function , a bad version of superuser.apk was included . Now it is replaced.


Hi I been used LG gt540 but due to small screen, less memory space and annoying touch screen (not Capacitive) I sold it for £75 and now I am on Orange San francisco which is much better than LG gt540 but dispite of having capacitive 3.5' screen and many more feature still i can say that Orange SF's spped performance specially the graphics is not as good as my old LG GT540 which have better battery life and better speed and decent graphics performace than oSF

main question, Can I use this guide on my Orange San Francisco (app2sd) ? let me know

Thanks in advance

Urvish

  • 0

#52
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Hi I been used LG gt540 but due to small screen, less memory space and annoying touch screen (not Capacitive) I sold it for £75 and now I am on Orange San francisco which is much better than LG gt540 but dispite of having capacitive 3.5' screen and many more feature still i can say that Orange SF's spped performance specially the graphics is not as good as my old LG GT540 which have better battery life and better speed and decent graphics performace than oSF

main question, Can I use this guide on my Orange San Francisco (app2sd) ? let me know

Thanks in advance

Urvish

I am not sure , if the partition settings are the same (system should be mounted to ....mtdblock4) it can work. Give it a try .

  • 0

#53
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
joestone,

why if i use your method for app2sd. and after i running the batch file, i got a app2sd without error. but when i check a storage size in optimus setting. i got my internal memory not increase my internal. like old app2sd.

even if i install a new app, and i check my internal size, and my internal size not reduce.

hehehe. i confused.

sorry if my English is bad. :)

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#54
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

joestone,

why if i use your method for app2sd. and after i running the batch file, i got a app2sd without error. but when i check a storage size in optimus setting. i got my internal memory not increase my internal. like old app2sd.

even if i install a new app, and i check my internal size, and my internal size not reduce.

hehehe. i confused.

sorry if my English is bad. :)

Because I just copy the contents to let the phone working in case of sd error. The old app2sd made by arekl88r is moved the contents.
Your internal storage size is not reduced after installing an app because app2sd is working this the normal way it should work.

Edited by joestone, 02 November 2010 - 02:54 PM.

  • 0

#55
RAT-BoyZ

RAT-BoyZ

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 65 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540

Because I just copy the contents to let the phone working in case of sd error. The old app2sd made by arekl88r is moved the contents.
Your internal storage size is not reduced after installing an app because app2sd is working this the normal way it should work.


so when i unplug the sdcard then the phone already have all programs that exist in app2sd ?
because i have a new app2sd too from arekl88r and app2sd will be increase internal memory equal size the ext2.
but when i unplug the sdcard then the phone is back to zero again. except i have install program before running app2sd.

  • 0
========================
Optimus GT540
Firmware 2.1
ClockworkMod Recovery v2.5.0.5
Kernel 2.6.29 v0.2.2

#56
joestone

joestone

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

so when i unplug the sdcard then the phone already have all programs that exist in app2sd ?
because i have a new app2sd too from arekl88r and app2sd will be increase internal memory equal size the ext2.
but when i unplug the sdcard then the phone is back to zero again. except i have install program before running app2sd.

No , the script copies the files from the phone to the sd that exist at the time of running app2sd. If you install an app after app2sd you will not see it if you remove the sd.

Edited by joestone, 02 November 2010 - 03:08 PM.

  • 0

#57
iggy81

iggy81

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Thx m8 ... work greate ...

  • 0

#58
m1st3r1

m1st3r1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
for me, now it's working great too..

n i know the problem, when i chose to move the /data/data too.. cmd prompt said that cant copy the /data/data/com.android.phone/shared_prefs .. i dont know why this happened. the number one (only move the data/app n data/dalvik-cache works. though the internal phone will slowly decreasing, but i've about 70 apps in my phone, that's enough for me..

thanks joestone for the hard work :)

  • 0

#59
ohoosong

ohoosong

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Devices:LG GT540
Can I unplug sdcard after app2sd installed?
I unpluged then back to put in sdcard then that was not working.
Now reinstall and set up, working so good but i worry about before my experience.

  • 0

#60
jaypea1

jaypea1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:lg gt540
Which option 1,2,3 or 4 would you advise? This is probably a silly question, but I want to give this a go and want to know what the options stand for.
I have so far upgraded using europe open rom with KDZ_FW_UPD, rooted phone using Autoapp2sd, removed unwanted applications with root explorer.

Thanks

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users