Jump to content


Photo

1click app2sd now includes 1 click root

* * * * * 6 votes

  • Please log in to reply
139 replies to this topic

#61
elkay62

elkay62

    Newbie

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Devices:LG Optimus GT540
Hi folks,

I initially posted this on a thread of it's own, but maybe peeps monitoring this thread will have an idea?


This is what I did....
  • waited patiently for the CPW 2.1 ROM to appear, and installed using the official tool after using Titanium Backup to ...backup
  • After 2.1 installation, I installed Titanium backup and restored various apps & data. Hindsight - maybe should have waited until Apps2SD installed before doing this...
  • Installed Apps2SD following the joestone route.
  • Phone was then very flakey, with freezing, force closures, reboots.
  • I don't know wheter it was the APps2SD was the problem, or my restoring of apps that I should have just reinstalled from the Market.
  • Tried to remove Apps2SD using the options in the joestone bat, but phone hung.
  • Restarted phone and did a factory reset.
  • Removed applications that were still present that I had expected to be removed by the factory reset (e.g. Kindle, SlideIT etc.)
  • Phone is now stable.
However...When I used Advanced Task Killer, it tells me I have in the region of 35K - 55K for available.
When I run the "Check Apps2SD" option from I get these results:

/dev: 86488K total, 12K used, 86476K available (block size 4096)
/data: 142848K total, 36520K used, 106328K available (block size 4096)
/cache: 404378K total, 38587K used, 365791K available (block size 1024)
/sqlite_stmt_journals: 4096K total, 0K used, 4096K available (block size 4096)
/system: 250880K total, 232340K used, 18540K available (block size 4096)
/lgdrm: 2816K total, 1180K used, 1636K available (block size 4096)
/system/sdcard: 404378K total, 38587K used, 365791K available (block size 1024)
/data/app: 404378K total, 38587K used, 365791K available (block size 1024)
/data/dalvik-cache: 404378K total, 38587K used, 365791K available (block size 10
24)
/cache: 404378K total, 38587K used, 365791K available (block size 1024)
/sdcard: 7351840K total, 156608K used, 7195232K available (block size 32768)


So the question is....is Apps2SD running (and is it working!)

regards
elkay

  • 0

#62
libyali

libyali

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:GT540
1,2,3,4'll explain which of the 8 for control

  • 0

#63
BK2FUT

BK2FUT

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
Will a factory reset get rid of Apps2SD then?

What does Apps2SD do to the phone; just it just run as a program in the bckgroud, or does it fundamentally alter the operating system?

  • 0

#64
marinop

marinop

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
This sounds very tempting as this would eliminate the biggest proglem I have with the GT540. But just because Im curious, if I apply App2SD, how hard is it to undo?

Would I have to do a factory reset or is there another simpler way?

  • 0

#65
BK2FUT

BK2FUT

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
What's the proper option to use, 1 2 3 or 4?

Do I need to root first?

EDIT:

I used option 1, didn't root first, and it seems to be working.
After uninstalling all my apps (I did this before installing apps2s) I have about 80mb left on internal memory, is that about right?

Thanks!

OT

Edited by BK2FUT, 11 November 2010 - 12:15 AM.

  • 0

#66
r3dsm0k3

r3dsm0k3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
I have upgraded my LG GT540 with official LG update for my country(india).and now it seems that rooting and installing apps2sd not working.
Is your tutorial for a specific upgrade or is it universal..?
Or do i need Android SDK installed on my computer.?
Im on a mac,i have android SDK installed on my Mac,and now im doing this from my friend's windows 7 PC which does not have android sdk installed,is this the reason.?
Partitioning went well..and now im stuck with installing apps2sd..

can the Gurus show me the way..?

Edited by r3dsm0k3, 12 November 2010 - 07:02 AM.

  • 0

#67
libyali

libyali

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Devices:GT540

What's the proper option to use, 1 2 3 or 4?

Do I need to root first?

EDIT:

I used option 1, didn't root first, and it seems to be working.
After uninstalling all my apps (I did this before installing apps2s) I have about 80mb left on internal memory, is that about right?

Thanks!

OT

English is very bad :rolleyes:

My phone did root...
2GB SD card broke...
I ran autorootapp2sd.bat...
Posted Image
The table no matter which one I need to do to help 1,2,3,4

  • 0

#68
jinjon

jinjon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:gt540 optimus
Followed everything to the point, but unfournataly as it says use at your own risk, and well yes you guessed my phone is now bricked. tried factory reset but that has made it worse, just constantly force closing system and resetting, if any ideas how top sort this would be greatly appreciated, preff without sending it off.

  • 0

#69
bloodlust8

bloodlust8

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
tried this the first time and everything worked well..

  • 0

#70
gidum

gidum

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:LG GT540
  • Twitter:@gid
Working smooth. Thanks!

  • 0

#71
magiting

magiting

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
When I install app2sd in my GT540, I choose 4 then 6. after that it worked just fine. But i didn't used the 1 for rooting my phone, I followed the instruction here

http://android.modac...ference-thread/

  • 0

#72
sambaroonie

sambaroonie

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:gt540

for me, now it's working great too..

n i know the problem, when i chose to move the /data/data too.. cmd prompt said that cant copy the /data/data/com.android.phone/shared_prefs .. i dont know why this happened. the number one (only move the data/app n data/dalvik-cache works. though the internal phone will slowly decreasing, but i've about 70 apps in my phone, that's enough for me..

thanks joestone for the hard work :rolleyes:



I found my phone to be extremely slow when I moved all 3 dirs, Apps,Cache,Data.
Top showed 90% wait states and 80% cpu usage of Launcher2.

But If I turn off mounting sdcard Cache/Data and ONLY do apps (then reboot), its nice and fast again.

I will try again with data mapped aswell.

( I tried the /data/data mapped aswell, but no go, still dog slow , so leaving it as apps only )

Could be a slow microSD, but it was kingston, are there any sdcard speed test benchmark apps that run inside Android?

Anyone else have distinct speed issues with the dalvnik-cache being on sdcard ?

Edited by sambaroonie, 14 November 2010 - 08:24 AM.

  • 0

#73
sinto

sinto

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
When I press 8 to check app2sd, I don't see data/app but I see data/appbak. I installed app2sd by select 1. Option 2, 3, and 4 made com.android.phone crashed. I have 2GB microSD card in which 660MB is partitioned as ext2. No swap partition.

Can you help me? It drains internal memory quickly. It goes to SD card as back up. Try many times but still see like above.

Edit: I try to reinstall app2sd and then my phone cannot start. It is now at service centre for repairing. I do not know if they can repair it. This make me unhappy. I will not install app2sd gain. It worths to wait for froyo build.
:rolleyes:

Edited by sinto, 16 November 2010 - 03:18 AM.

  • 0

#74
badpunk

badpunk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:LG GT 540
Hello all,

I did the menu 8,

/dev: 86488K total, 12K used, 86476K available (block size 4096)
/data: 142848K total, 117776K used, 25072K available (block size 4096)
/cache: 65536K total, 40672K used, 24864K available (block size 4096)
/sqlite_stmt_journals: 4096K total, 0K used, 4096K available (block size 4096)
/system: 250880K total, 228488K used, 22392K available (block size 4096)
/lgdrm: 2816K total, 1160K used, 1656K available (block size 4096)
/system/sdcard: 396549K total, 29987K used, 366562K available (block size 1024)
/data/app: 396549K total, 29987K used, 366562K available (block size 1024)
/data/dalvik-cache: 396549K total, 29987K used, 366562K available (block size 10
24)
/sdcard: 1509792K total, 901408K used, 608384K available (block size 32768)
Press any key to continue . . .

How can i tell if app2sd is installed correctly? When i tried installing Pocket Legends (big file size), it says not enough space.
Btw, my SD card wasn't empty when i partitioned and the apps in my phone were not deleted before attempting to install app2sd.

Thanks.

  • 0

#75
DarkField

DarkField

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
the batchfile says

Invalid ....
unable to mount
---------
Restart Phone ....

what did i wrong?

edit:
it says

mount: Invalid argument
Unable to mount ext2
*********************app2sd finished**************************
"You need to restart your phone"


Edited by DarkField, 20 November 2010 - 09:50 PM.

  • 0

#76
cicimaru

cicimaru

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
thank you

  • 0

#77
Techkingpin

Techkingpin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

How the script works :
It copies the contents of the selected folders to the sd ext2 partition . It does not removes the copied files from the phone , because in the case of sd failure or sd removal the phone will be able to bootup. The removal process removes the files and directories needed to app2sd operate normally , but leaves the ext2 untouched.
To use it you need to turn on the USB Debugging mode on the phone .Create the ext2 if not exists .The first partitition should be FAT if your card is smaller than 4GB and should be FAT32 if bigger than 4 GB. The second partition should be ext2. Both partition must be primary.
Dont forget to restart the phone and turn off mass storage mode after creation of the ext2.Download the zip file , extract it and run autorootapp2sd.bat on your pc.
You can use app2sd even if your phone is not rooted.
The attached pdf contains the guide how to create the ext2.
MOD:
The script has the possibilities to turn on root. The root and unroot function is the same as 1 click root .
MOD2:
There was abug in the root function , a bad version of superuser.apk was included . Now it is replaced.

Please help me, I do like you says all, but when i take 4 it says ADB conection reset wait until reset something like that and window just close and nothing then.I have the same problem with root but i root it with program Z4Mod root. I use windows 7 64bit. what i need to do. Please help

  • 0

#78
schnellvin

schnellvin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:GT540
Best Practices:
1) Make sure that you uninstall/ remove all the apps before you use this app2sd, this way your phone memory stays free. even better if you do a factory reset.
2) follow the instructions in the pdf file (the first post from joe). i recommed to use 500MB for the ext2 partition
3) connect your phone to usb
4) turn on the developing usb mode
5) run the autorootapp2sd.bat
6) choose option (2) for english
7) root your phone by choosing option ®. at the end of the process, it will ask you to reboot the phone, so wait for it.
8) reboot your phone and close autorootapp2sd.bat
9) wait until you phone is back on (the usb cable is still connected).
10) run autorootapp2sd.bat again and this time choose option (4) for a full app2sd install. it will copy all your installed APPS (if you did not do a factory reset) to the NEW ext2 partition and all the apps will run from there. At th end of the process it will ask you to reboot your phone.
11) reboot your phone and wait.
12) now you should unroot your phone. this time choose option (u) when running autorootapp2sd.bat. at the end of the process it will ask you to reboot your phone.
13) reboot your phone and wait. app2sd works in the background. if you install any apps (try big ones like 5MB), check your phone unused/used memory size. It will NOT change because the apps are installed in SD card NOW!

took me 2 hrs just to figure all this out. hope it helps!

  • 0

#79
IVAN REYES

IVAN REYES

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Best Practices:
1) Make sure that you uninstall/ remove all the apps before you use this app2sd, this way your phone memory stays free. even better if you do a factory reset.
2) follow the instructions in the pdf file (the first post from joe). i recommed to use 500MB for the ext2 partition
3) connect your phone to usb
4) turn on the developing usb mode
5) run the autorootapp2sd.bat
6) choose option (2) for english
7) root your phone by choosing option ®. at the end of the process, it will ask you to reboot the phone, so wait for it.
8) reboot your phone and close autorootapp2sd.bat
9) wait until you phone is back on (the usb cable is still connected).
10) run autorootapp2sd.bat again and this time choose option (4) for a full app2sd install. it will copy all your installed APPS (if you did not do a factory reset) to the NEW ext2 partition and all the apps will run from there. At th end of the process it will ask you to reboot your phone.
11) reboot your phone and wait.
12) now you should unroot your phone. this time choose option (u) when running autorootapp2sd.bat. at the end of the process it will ask you to reboot your phone.
13) reboot your phone and wait. app2sd works in the background. if you install any apps (try big ones like 5MB), check your phone unused/used memory size. It will NOT change because the apps are installed in SD card NOW!

took me 2 hrs just to figure all this out. hope it helps!

reboot the GT540 only with the power button.
please I can explain.


  • 0

#80
allanss

allanss

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Does app2sd install apps automatically to partition or does it give you a choice where to install?


It is a good question. But i can't see any option about it.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users