Jump to content


Photo

Sony LiveView and Desire HD? Don't bother.


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
mcnob

mcnob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD, LiveView
  • Twitter:@andymcnob
The music controls don't work at all, the device keeps disconnecting randomly and if you try to reconnect it, the phone will sometimes hang/lock up and get very hot in the process.

I really hope Sony Ericsson are forthcoming with the source code soon so clever people (Paul, I'm looking at you here cos I know you've got both...lol) can sort the individual non-Sony handset issues out cos I'm damn sure Sony Ericsson aren't gonna.

There you have it, don't believe the hype...this device is NOT compatible with MOST android phones. SuperETrader themselves have on their amazon page that the Desire HD is supported so I'm sure a full refund will be in order but should I maybe hold out for an update by whatever means?

  • 0

#2
JNBarnes

JNBarnes

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

The music controls don't work at all, the device keeps disconnecting randomly and if you try to reconnect it, the phone will sometimes hang/lock up and get very hot in the process.

I really hope Sony Ericsson are forthcoming with the source code soon so clever people (Paul, I'm looking at you here cos I know you've got both...lol) can sort the individual non-Sony handset issues out cos I'm damn sure Sony Ericsson aren't gonna.

There you have it, don't believe the hype...this device is NOT compatible with MOST android phones. SuperETrader themselves have on their amazon page that the Desire HD is supported so I'm sure a full refund will be in order but should I maybe hold out for an update by whatever means?


Well as a very disgruntled owner of the xperia x10 i can only point to how utterly utterly useless SE have been with software. Biblically incompetent :/

I hope they get it sorted, but dont hold your breath, can you return it?

  • 0

#3
rovex

rovex

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@Rovex
Its the same with the Original Desire as well. Im trying it with the Dell streak now. If thats the same the issue is clearly with SE and their wonderful software dept.

  • 0

#4
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I'm using mine with a DHD and have had some disconnects, but not had it lock up?

I agree the software needs some tweaking tho!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#5
mwright

mwright

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Essex
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@mwright_tw

I'm using mine with a DHD and have had some disconnects, but not had it lock up?

I agree the software needs some tweaking tho!

P


In view of the above, and also this article http://forum.xda-dev...amp;postcount=8 I have cancelled my order for the time being!

Edited by mwright, 18 November 2010 - 10:36 AM.

  • 0

Posted Image
Support community cinema.
Visit the Electric Palace


#6
rovex

rovex

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Devices:Dell Streak
  • Twitter:@Rovex
Its not as bad with the streak, but its still bad. It seems like the liveview is also unstable. Sometimes pressing buttons will wake the screen (showing the clock), but it wont do anything else unless you turn it off and on again. You then have the issue that it needs to re-connect, which is a hit and miss affair.

So far looking at forums almost everyone is reporting the same issues. It loses connection to all phones, Sense devices lock-up and need their batteries pulled, and the liveview itself is unstable and flaky and BT range is 5 meters at best in clear air.

At the moment its a £50 clock that only shows the time half the time, and little else.

This has reminded me why i haven't had a SonyEricsson product for 7 years.

  • 0

#7
cdcuk

cdcuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts

Its the same with the Original Desire as well. Im trying it with the Dell streak now. If thats the same the issue is clearly with SE and their wonderful software dept.



I've had many lockups on a Galaxy S / Froyo.
I'd guess that the cause is similar on other phones -- if you can get to 'top' using adb or connectbot, see if /system/bin/btld is using all your cpu.

Since the only answer seems to be a reset, I've had to stop using it.

  • 0

#8
mcnob

mcnob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD, LiveView
  • Twitter:@andymcnob
I'm in 2 minds as to whether to send it back or hold out for an update by either official means or otherwise....... B)

So is it just Sense that's stopping it working properly on HTC devices? My main reason for getting this was the music controlling and reading texts while cycling.

  • 0

#9
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I love the idea, i'm determine to get it working 100%! B)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#10
mwright

mwright

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Essex
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@mwright_tw

I love the idea, i'm determine to get it working 100%! B)

P


If the problem is with the LiveView box itself, what can you do about that? Is that open source or what?

  • 0

Posted Image
Support community cinema.
Visit the Electric Palace


#11
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I don't see anything to suggest that's the case?

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#12
mwright

mwright

    Diehard

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 381 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North Essex
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S2
  • Twitter:@mwright_tw

I don't see anything to suggest that's the case?

P


Well if the thing keeps disconnecting and some of the controls don't work which seem to be the issues here, surely the fault could be at either end?

Is the source code for the phone end of the link available? If not you might have to start from scratch :-(

  • 0

Posted Image
Support community cinema.
Visit the Electric Palace


#13
mcnob

mcnob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD, LiveView
  • Twitter:@andymcnob
I really hope you can sort something out for this Paul cos, as you say, it DOES have potential.

I really need to get into google/android development. Seems to be the way to go if you're a bit techy at the moment.

  • 0

#14
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,345 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I'm opening up a liveview forum area tomorrow where we can talk about this further.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#15
hpsgfx

hpsgfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
I've uninstalled liveware manager because it was the cause of my hd freeze and it work way better now! no more freeze and less disconnect.

install google stock music app to make music controls work.

  • 0

#16
mcnob

mcnob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD, LiveView
  • Twitter:@andymcnob

I've uninstalled liveware manager because it was the cause of my hd freeze and it work way better now! no more freeze and less disconnect.

install google stock music app to make music controls work.



That'll be the stock music app that everyone's having issues with....surely?!?!?!

Liveware manager is only any use if you have plugins for it. Of which there are none yet anyway.

Out of interest, what handset and ROM have you got dude?

Edited by mcnob, 19 November 2010 - 09:49 PM.

  • 0

#17
hpsgfx

hpsgfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

That'll be the stock music app that everyone's having issues with....surely?!?!?!

Liveware manager is only any use if you have plugins for it. Of which there are none yet anyway.

Out of interest, what handset and ROM have you got dude?



it's stock android music app not the one htc use.

In the user guide of the liveview it says to install liveware manager, when you first open liveware manager it will ask you to download liveview. after 2 days I unistalled liveware manager and now I more than happy.

desire hd official rom.

  • 0

#18
mcnob

mcnob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD, LiveView
  • Twitter:@andymcnob

it's stock android music app not the one htc use.


Where'd ya get it for 2.2 ?

Hook me up dude..... B)

Edited by mcnob, 19 November 2010 - 10:12 PM.

  • 0

#19
hpsgfx

hpsgfx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Where'd ya get it for 2.2 ?

Hook me up dude..... B)



http://www.megaupload.com/?d=AHEQK1IK

  • 0

#20
mcnob

mcnob

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Suffolk
  • Devices:HTC Desire HD, LiveView
  • Twitter:@andymcnob

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=AHEQK1IK


Noice, hope this works......cheers. B)


Edit: yeh, music controls work with stock app but the constant disconnecting just makes it pointless still. What must be running on the phone to get Twitter and Facebook updates too? Do you need the stock apps running or just syncing?

I only ask for when this thing finally gets sorted.

Edited by mcnob, 20 November 2010 - 01:13 AM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users