Omnia i8000 revert to default ROM and settings

Guest RuuddieBoy

Guest RuuddieBoy

Hey,

I've been using a HTC Tytn II for two years now, and on this phone I've flashed many different ROMs, both WiMo and Android. So, I've got quite some experience flashing phones.

Today I got a new phone from my work, an Omnia II i8000. Of course I'm not completely satisfied with the stock ROM (no Manilla, speed) so I'd like to flash a custom ROM. However, since it's a business phone I don't want to damage anything or not be able to turn back my changes. So, after I flash a custom ROM to my phone, will I be able to flash the stock ROM back without them being able to see I flashed anything?

I've already seen that it's quite hard to just download a stock ROM for this phone, but is the Samsung Mobile Firmware program (which requires you to pay €5) really the only way? And if I use this, will I just be able to return everything to default if I have to give this phone back?

I tried browsing through this forum but I couldn't find any obvious topics stating how this works. From my experience with the HTC Tytn II I know that for example they do have a topic where they explain how to reset everything to stock.

Thanks,

Ruuddie

it's a different world here :)

if you read a bit more you will notice that there are only one way to flash your phone with 2 choices, one with .MTS file which is straight from samsung, two with .nb0 file which most likely will be a custom ROM.

yes, you can revert back to stock ROM anytime you want as long as you have a stock ROM's files handy. go to samsung settings then look for version, click on that then select device, you'll see the version of your phone. write it down then start searching the forum. i think you will find your stock ROM here. because we have almost everything here, even chinese ROMs B)

i8000's ROM files have 4 parts, 1.eboot 2.CSC 3.PDA 4.phone part, only the eboot part is invisible from your boss or even your carrier.