Jump to content


Photo

Rogers/Fido? Froyo Malez Recovery Fix!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
76 replies to this topic

#21
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
If you have Windows, use the Windows script, same goes for Linux/Mac. They're all in the .zip provided in my first post.

Harness.

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#22
et3rn1ty

et3rn1ty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid e
*sorry about my double post* don't know how to delete it

Edited by et3rn1ty, 03 January 2011 - 11:15 PM.

  • 0

#23
et3rn1ty

et3rn1ty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid e
Sorry, so do I run the script from my phone or from my pc?
If I need to run it from my phone, how do I do that? by pressing vol up + camera + power?
I am just worried about experimenting with my phone in case I brick it
Thanks in advance

  • 0

#24
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
PC.

Harness.

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#25
darksoul7

darksoul7

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
I am getting the same error as Xav. After I flash, I get a constant reboot loop.

Checksum error with the actual boot.

Any ideas?

  • 0

#26
darksoul7

darksoul7

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Oops. Double posted.

Edited by darksoul7, 06 January 2011 - 06:12 PM.

  • 0

#27
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus

I am getting the same error as Xav. After I flash, I get a constant reboot loop.

Checksum error with the actual boot.

Any ideas?

Checksum will fail, always.

If you can provide me a log, I might be able to fix it.

Harness.

Edited by Harness, 06 January 2011 - 10:31 PM.

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#28
darksoul7

darksoul7

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Checksum will fail, always.

If you can provide me a log, I might be able to fix it.

Harness.


Sure. I'll have to try flashing it again though. I was thinking of reverting back to stock, but I can't figure out how to get rid of Malez.

I'll tear a Linux box apart, but smartphones, even ones based (although loosely) on Linux confuse the crap out of me.

  • 0

#29
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
Reflash a bin to get back to stock.

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#30
darksoul7

darksoul7

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Reflash a bin to get back to stock.


I'm going to show my stupidity here. How? :D

I checked http://android.modac...quid-e/page/20/ but I don't see a bin to use.

I've downloaded the official froyo, but no luck installing it.

  • 0

#31
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#32
darksoul7

darksoul7

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

That guide, http://android.modac...act-collection/ for bins :D



Awesome! Thanks!

Last questions before I finally get out of your hair. Which one should I use?

Here's my device info:

Acer APN Version - 1.96-3
Product SKU - PA-FIDO
Device info version - 2.1
Firmware Version - 2.1-update1
Baseband - A1-04.01.03
Kernel version - 2.6.29
Build number - Acer_LiquidE_1.100.79_PA_FIDO

  • 0

#33
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
Do you want to stay with 2.1 eclair or 2.2 froyo?

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#34
darksoul7

darksoul7

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Do you want to stay with 2.1 eclair or 2.2 froyo?


I was thinking of moving to the Official 2.2 froyo but...

I am also wanting to eventually Root my phone so I can drop a terminal on there as well as something like the Metasploit framework. I'm not exactly sure how far they've gotten on getting something like that working on an android, but I know they have been making progress. But I digress.

For now, 2.2 Froyo - official FIDO.

  • 0

#35
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
flash 4.002.14, then the Fido official ROM, if you wanna Malez it you gotta hope that my boot.img works lol. If it doesn't I'll recompile it and you can try something new

Not entirely sure what metasploit is though.

Edited by Harness, 10 January 2011 - 06:00 PM.

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#36
darksoul7

darksoul7

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

flash 4.002.14, then the Fido official ROM, if you wanna Malez it you gotta hope that my boot.img works lol. If it doesn't I'll recompile it and you can try something new

Not entirely sure what metasploit is though.



Awesome. I'll try that tonight. Metasploit is an exploitation framework for Penetration Testing. It's a work thing :D

  • 0

#37
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
One of those things I really don't have to worry about. 10-4.

Harness.

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#38
et3rn1ty

et3rn1ty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid e
I just installed the malez recovery, however, like the previous poster, I got an infinite boot loop after i flash the update.zip.
How do I fix this?
Can I just use any custom rom out there and flash it rather than using the update.zip?
Sorry for the noob question :D

  • 0

#39
Harness

Harness

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus
Okay, I'm going to try to fix this for you guys tomorrow. I think I know what needs to change. Also, this is NOT required for other custom roms, only Rogers 2.2 Official.

Harness.

  • 0
Currently working my way back into the dev scene.

#40
et3rn1ty

et3rn1ty

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Devices:acer liquid e
After I install malez recovery, can I just install any custom rom? What is the update.zip for?
Also, can I flash the stock Rogers 2.2 using malez? Where can I get the file?
Sorry for my endless questions

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users