Jump to content


Photo

Re-installing / enabling Flash on the Vega


  • Please log in to reply
106 replies to this topic

#61
jbplacebo

jbplacebo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega Tablet PC

See reply in thread

http://android.modac...s/#entry1592612




WHERE is the file ?

  • 0

#62
jbplacebo

jbplacebo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega Tablet PC

  • 0

#63
Dav0

Dav0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

WHERE

You may want to tone it down a bit

Shouting won't endear you to anyone not least myself when trying to help you

However Link was broken and I will try again, carry on like that though and no one will bother

http://android.modac...guides-how-tos/

Try this this one

Edited by Dav0, 01 March 2011 - 09:07 PM.

  • 0

#64
jbplacebo

jbplacebo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega Tablet PC

You may want to tone it down a bit

Shouting won't endear you to anyone not least myself when trying to help you

However Link was broken and I will try again, carry on like that though and no one will bother

http://android.modac...guides-how-tos/

Try this this one


  • 0

#65
jbplacebo

jbplacebo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega Tablet PC
Sorry Davo ........

I was'nt meaning to Shout .......... im just not very used to this kind of thing .


Im still finding it hard to get that links website to download for me

and then once ive downloaded it to my pc I dont know the proceedure of getting it onto my vega .

Im very new to this type of thing.



Cheers and thanks

  • 0

#66
Dav0

Dav0

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Devices:Advent Vega

Sorry Davo ........

I was'nt meaning to Shout .......... im just not very used to this kind of thing .
Im still finding it hard to get that links website to download for me

and then once ive downloaded it to my pc I dont know the proceedure of getting it onto my vega .

Im very new to this type of thing.
Cheers and thanks


once you have it downloaded apk file device, find it iplayer, click on it and it will install

  • 0

#67
Alex foster

Alex foster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:vega
Can somebody please help me?

I click system and then etc but do not have shuttle_priv all i have is shuttle.sh and shuttle_ins.sh, also downloaded flash from market but still no luck, any ideas what is wrong. I have checked again and again but still cannot find it, what can I do?

Regards
Alex

  • 0

#68
wriggs

wriggs

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Can somebody please help me?

I click system and then etc but do not have shuttle_priv all i have is shuttle.sh and shuttle_ins.sh, also downloaded flash from market but still no luck, any ideas what is wrong. I have checked again and again but still cannot find it, what can I do?

Regards
Alex


Had the same problem after buying my Vega last week with Flash already installed and flashing the ROM. Did the following and it now works.

1. Downloaded latest flash APK file to my PC using Dav0's link above (Adobe Flash Player 10.1.120.1)
2. Connected Vega to PC and copied APK file to SD card (need to turn off USB debugging mode to allow PC to see Vega)
3. Uninstalled existing Flash application from Vega via Settings > Manage Applications (not sure if this step is necessary)
4. Used iFileManager to navigate to the APK on SD card and installed it.

Can now watch video on most sites. BBC iPlayer site says my phone is not supported but downloaded the iPlayer application from Market and it works fine.

Thanks
John

  • 0

#69
Alex foster

Alex foster

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:vega

Had the same problem after buying my Vega last week with Flash already installed and flashing the ROM. Did the following and it now works.

1. Downloaded latest flash APK file to my PC using Dav0's link above (Adobe Flash Player 10.1.120.1)
2. Connected Vega to PC and copied APK file to SD card (need to turn off USB debugging mode to allow PC to see Vega)
3. Uninstalled existing Flash application from Vega via Settings > Manage Applications (not sure if this step is necessary)
4. Used iFileManager to navigate to the APK on SD card and installed it.

Can now watch video on most sites. BBC iPlayer site says my phone is not supported but downloaded the iPlayer application from Market and it works fine.

Thanks
John


Legend Thanks A Million :(

  • 0

#70
Sillothian

Sillothian

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
So I flashed my new Vega to r8 MCR over stock 1.09 and obviously the version of Flash I have (10.1.120.1) will not work.

This is probably a bit of a stupid question, but which of the 3 Flash downloads (http://android.modac...guides-how-tos/) is the best to use? I would have thought 10.1.95.22, unless the 10.1.120.1 posted in that thread is different to version supplied with 1.09.

One last question!. I assume which ever .apk file I use I just need to copy it onto the SD card and install it using the file manager? I'm still new to Android having just got the Vega and switching to an Android phone from a Symbian powered Nokia ;-)

Edited by Sillothian, 04 March 2011 - 02:55 PM.

  • 0

#71
Sillothian

Sillothian

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

So I flashed my new Vega to r8 MCR over stock 1.09 and obviously the version of Flash I have (10.1.120.1) will not work.

This is probably a bit of a stupid question, but which of the 3 Flash downloads (http://android.modac...guides-how-tos/) is the best to use? I would have thought 10.1.95.22, unless the 10.1.120.1 posted in that thread is different to version supplied with 1.09.

One last question!. I assume which ever .apk file I use I just need to copy it onto the SD card and install it using the file manager? I'm still new to Android having just got the Vega and switching to an Android phone from a Symbian powered Nokia ;-)


To answer my own question the 10.1.120.1 from the other thread worked fine. I just copied the file via usb to the SD card and installed it using ifilemanager :(

  • 0

#72
NoEyedDear

NoEyedDear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi, totally new to android.
I have been following the Vega threads on Modaco for some time and jumped in and purchased a Vega last week.
I loaded the latest pre-baked Modaco ROM with no problems thanks to great instructions here.
I loaded flash from the Market and all seemed OK.
However, when I accessed certain BBC web pages, especially the football match reports with the embedded video clips of Arsene Venger moaning about the ref, the browser crashed and return to the homescreen.
So, after little research, I installed the modified .apk found by following links in certain threads. (v10.1.120)
Still no joy, certain pages still crash, iPlayer OK, flash games OK, just certain BBC sites. I have to turn off plugins and load the flash content by clicking the down arrow. This arrow does not appear for the small embedded videos causing the error, but the page does load.
I have even tried Dolphin HD browser and it still crashes.

Am I missing a trick? I have searched all the threads and it seems the modified .apk solves the problem, but not for me.

I loaded the Modaco ROM to get the market and some performance increase. I have now found an addon which adds Market to the original ROM. So, I am in two minds, whether to go back to the original standard ROM with the addon or stick to the Modaco ROM, I do not have enough knowledge to make an informed decision. All I use the Vega for is as living room gadget to access the internet, play games and answer email.

Your thoughts are appreciated

  • 0

#73
Nemes1s

Nemes1s

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Berkshire, UK
  • Devices:Vega (1.09 + mcr8)
  • Twitter:@FredTrigg

However, when I accessed certain BBC web pages, especially the football match reports with the embedded video clips of Arsene Venger moaning about the ref, the browser crashed and return to the homescreen.
So, after little research, I installed the modified .apk found by following links in certain threads. (v10.1.120)
Still no joy, certain pages still crash, iPlayer OK, flash games OK, just certain BBC sites. I have to turn off plugins and load the flash content by clicking the down arrow. This arrow does not appear for the small embedded videos causing the error, but the page does load.

Am I missing a trick? I have searched all the threads and it seems the modified .apk solves the problem, but not for me.

I loaded the Modaco ROM to get the market and some performance increase. I have now found an addon which adds Market to the original ROM. So, I am in two minds, whether to go back to the original standard ROM with the addon or stick to the Modaco ROM, I do not have enough knowledge to make an informed decision. All I use the Vega for is as living room gadget to access the internet, play games and answer email.

Your thoughts are appreciated


Did you uninstall the Market version of Flash first? Also, several have reported that a reboot of the Vega was required to get either version to function correctly so may be worth trying. I would say that reverting to the stock ROM with just the market app is unlikely to fix the problem for you and I think you would be much better off remaining with Pauls MCR as it provides a host of functionality and performance tweaks that are certainly worth having.

  • 0

#74
NoEyedDear

NoEyedDear

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Did you uninstall the Market version of Flash first? Also, several have reported that a reboot of the Vega was required to get either version to function correctly so may be worth trying. I would say that reverting to the stock ROM with just the market app is unlikely to fix the problem for you and I think you would be much better off remaining with Pauls MCR as it provides a host of functionality and performance tweaks that are certainly worth having.


Thanks for the reply.
I did install the Market version first, then uninstalled and install the modded version. Am I right in thinking holding the power button down for 6 seconds then turning it back on is a reboot? Or is there a more technical routine I am missing? Is there a cache I need to clear? I am lost when it comes to Android.

  • 0

#75
Nemes1s

Nemes1s

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Berkshire, UK
  • Devices:Vega (1.09 + mcr8)
  • Twitter:@FredTrigg

Thanks for the reply.
I did install the Market version first, then uninstalled and install the modded version. Am I right in thinking holding the power button down for 6 seconds then turning it back on is a reboot? Or is there a more technical routine I am missing? Is there a cache I need to clear? I am lost when it comes to Android.


Holding the button down for 6 seconds will do a forced shutdown - only really do that when you have to. Holding the power button down for about two or so seconds should pop up a menu with several options including shutdown. This does a controlled shutdown which is preferable. Remember this is all Linux underneath!

  • 0

#76
joyadvent

joyadvent

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:advent vega

Flash support on the Vega seems a little strange. Strange in the way it's installed and strange in itself.

Upgrading or updating seems to occasionally break Flash support in the browser, as does installing an updated version from the Market (the Vega seems to have an accelerated version specifically for the Tegra hardware).

If Flash has stopped working on your machine, the fix is super easy!

Simply browse in iFileManager on the device to /system/etc/shuttle_priv and click on the APK file to install.

DONE! :(

P

Hi Paul, thank you for the R8 rom which I have installed over version 1.9. The only problem is Flash support. In my Vega through ifilemanager /system/etc there is no shuttle_priv.
When I check the file I downloaded from you there is no shuttle_priv included.

Can I just install a Froyo gles flash file and if so which version as there are a few to choose from? Your advice would be appreciated.

  • 0

#77
Nemes1s

Nemes1s

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Berkshire, UK
  • Devices:Vega (1.09 + mcr8)
  • Twitter:@FredTrigg

Hi Paul, thank you for the R8 rom which I have installed over version 1.9. The only problem is Flash support. In my Vega through ifilemanager /system/etc there is no shuttle_priv.
When I check the file I downloaded from you there is no shuttle_priv included.

Can I just install a Froyo gles flash file and if so which version as there are a few to choose from? Your advice would be appreciated.


Flash is not part of R8 any more. The one from the market will work but you are much better off using the Tigra optimised version you'll find links to elsewhere in this forum. Do a search for it. The performance is far better than the standard one. :(

  • 0

#78
joyadvent

joyadvent

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Devices:advent vega

Flash is not part of R8 any more. The one from the market will work but you are much better off using the Tigra optimised version you'll find links to elsewhere in this forum. Do a search for it. The performance is far better than the standard one. :(


Thank you for your reply. I have searched the forum but can not find any reference to a Tigra optimised version. Where could I find it please.


I think the problem was I should be searching for Tegra optimised not Tigra optimised.

Edited by joyadvent, 11 March 2011 - 11:03 AM.

  • 0

#79
Country Bumkin

Country Bumkin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quiet backwater in Dorset
  • Devices:Vega, Nokia 5800
Just a note for anyone with the new 1.09 firmware the flash apk file is in;

/system/etc/shuttle_data/

You might like to save it on the sd card before installing any mods.

  • 0

#80
Nemes1s

Nemes1s

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 83 posts
  • Location:Berkshire, UK
  • Devices:Vega (1.09 + mcr8)
  • Twitter:@FredTrigg

Thank you for your reply. I have searched the forum but can not find any reference to a Tigra optimised version. Where could I find it please.
I think the problem was I should be searching for Tegra optimised not Tigra optimised.


try this

Tigra! oops... :(

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users